Thanksgiving Preparation!

Whew…my first day on vacation was a busy one!  But that’s totally ok, because it’s a fun busy. 😉 

This morning I woke up naturally at 7:00, and whipped up my new favorite breakfast.  It was the same as yesterday’s, and I enjoyed it just as much.  I especially love how full this lovely mix keeps me.  I think the fact that I finished off the very last muffin this morning warrants another baking session very soon. 😀

As I was mmm’ing over my breakfast, I suddenly remembered that I had an appointment for my car to get an oil change this morning at 8:00!  Whoops!  I rushed to throw my hair up in a ponytail, guzzled some water, and rushed myself out the door to get there just in time. 

I couldn’t believe how fast the morning was already flying by, and I knew that if I didn’t take advantage of a late morning run–it just would never happen!  Thankfully I fit in a sweaty 4-miler.  I felt really good…probably the best I’ve felt in a long time.  I focused on just being thankful that I was healthy, happy, and able to run these miles.  There’s so much to be thankful for, and sometimes a good run is a nice way to remind myself of all of these things! 😀

Post-run, I showered and grabbed an apple for a snack.

By the time lunch rolled around, mom was busy baking bread for tomorrow’s Thanksgiving lunch and dad was in a meeting via phone.  I got myself busy with making some hummus veggie sandwiches for everyone’s lunch.

Love this spinach artichoke hummus!!!!

On top, I added some sliced tomotoes, lettuce, and 1/4 avocado for each of us.  Plus some carrots, cukes, and a glass of milk on the side.

…my dad found his way into the picture. 😉

After a short lunch break, and a short walk with mom, it was back to work with the Thanksgiving prep! 

Mom made the crescent rolls after they had a chance to rise…

…they came out nice and golden!  I wish I could take pictures of how they smelled, because it was simply mouthwatering!  My mom is an awesome bread maker, that’s all I have to say.  I look forward to these buttery rolls every year for Thanksgiving and Christmas. 😀

In the afternoon, in between baking, slicing, cutting, cleaning and ironing, I finally realized that I was getting hungry.  So I whipped up a quick snack that satisfied all the tastebuds in all the right ways. 😀

  • kashi crackers
  • American cheese
  • sliced green olives

…it was fun and tasty!

Can you believe that my family has never made a homemade stuffing?  I took one peak throughout all the stuffing mixes at the grocery store, and was disappointed in the ingredients.  Besides, homemade shouldn’t be too hard to make, right? 

We’re making a vegetarian version from Martha Stewart…right now the bread is just going through the drying process.  Once it’s done, it’s going to get assembled, popped in the fridge, and baked tomorrow.  I can’t wait to see how it turns out!!

After Dad finished up work and went for his run, he chopped up some turnips for tomorrow’s feast…

 

I headed out to the grocery store for a few last minute things, managed to escape alive (it was busy!) and came home to finish up some chopping, sweaping, and other Thanksgiving preparation duties.  Despite all the hard work and running around, my mom and I were still smiling. 😉  This is the first year my family is putting on the Thanksgiving meal, and I’m so excited about it!!!

For dinner tonight, I wanted to go all out with some FLAVE-AH!

I sauteed one onion in about 1 T. butter until they were all nice and caramelized.  Then I added some salt and pepper, and spread it on 1 lb. cod.  Bake at 350 for 20 minutes.

For the brussel sprouts, I heated 1 T. olive oil, and threw in a container of the sprouts that were sliced in half.  About 10 minutes later, they were nice and tender—ready for the salt and pepper!  I decided to go all out and browned a slice of bacon which I crumbled and divided among everyone’s plates.

…just goes to show you that a little bit of something really flavorful goes a very long way. 😀

Now that we’re finally all done the prep work, we can sit back and relax!  Most of the clean-up and prep work was finished today, which means the food just needs to be cooked tomorrow.

Once we finished, dad pulled out the last of my “birthday ale.”  I love this Punkin Ale, so it was a special treat to get it on my birthday and tonight!

I split one with mom. 😀

I’m just now watching the special Biggest Loser edition and anticipating all the fun foods that need to be prepared tomorrow.  My sister and her husband + my brother and his girlfriend are coming over, and then for dinner I’m going over my aunt and uncle’s house.  😀 

What are you all doing for Thanksgiving?  And what are you most thankful for this year??  Please share! 😀

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

9 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Preparation!

  1. I think that this “vacation” so far has been more busy than any other time, but at least it’s busy time with family.
    My favorite stuffing is whole foods. I’m sure it’s not as good as homemade but they make it so well!

    • Oh, thanks for the tip! Why did I not think of checking out whole foods?? I’ll be sure to check them out next time I’m there. 😀

  2. Is that the spinach artichoke hummus from Whole Foods? I saw it on Megann’s blog, but I couldn’t find it anywhere at Whole Foods? It looks delicious!

  3. I can’t wait to see your thanksgiving meal.. everything looks so delicious! Especially those rolls..mmm! And I’m excited to hear another family has thanksgiving lunch.. I always thought we were the only ones!

    What recipe did you use for the pumpkin muffins? I’m drooling over that breakfast again!

  4. Your new camera is doing a BEAUTIFUL job – what stunning pictures! I have a kodak easy share, too. 🙂 Can’t wait for the time when I can upgrade.

    I am so thankful for my family. Plain and simple.

Leave a Reply

