Gobble, Gobble! :)

You know what I like most about Thanksgiving?  There’s time to reminisce about all the things there are to be thankful for.  And the giving doesn’t require gifts like Christmas.  But there are plenty of hugs, smiles, and food.  It’s just such a simple holiday and I love every last bit of it! 😀

This morning I made the family a bowl a batch of pumpkin spice oats, complete with pumpkin flax granola, walnuts and coconut on top! 😀  It wasn’t as good as my usual version, because I’m just not used to tripling the batch!  I think I need more practice on figuring out the right proportions since I’m so used to just cooking for myself.  It still came out good though, and my parents simply added more brown sugar suited to their taste preferences. 🙂

Per person, there was:

  • 1/2 c. pumpkin
  • 1 c. soymilk
  • 1/2 c. oats
  • 1/2 banana
  • handful of raisins

Then my dad and I headed out for our 4-mile TURKEY TROT!  It was absolutely invigorating.  I love running with my dad, because I always end up pushing myself harder and faster then I do on my normal runs.  Especially on those hills! 😀

When we came home, I scooped a bowl of mixed fruit for a quick snack before showering and getting ready for the rest of the day!

Then it was just time to wait for the family to arrive!  Mom set the table…

Matthew and Kelsy 😀

Dad carved the turkey. 😀

And then we ate! 😀

There were green beans (simply sauteed in water, with S&P,) smashed red potatoes with the skins, homemade stuffing–courtesy of Martha Stewart Living 😀 , mashed turnips, homemade whole grain bread, turkey, Nicole’s homemade cranberry sauce, and honey glazed carrots–my contribution! 😀

The honey glazed carrots are from Cooking Light’s recipes, and they were super simple to prepare:

  • 5 c. carrots
  • 2 T. honey
  • 2 T. chopped parsley
  • rind from one orange
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • pepper

Steam the carrots until tender, then mix with the rest of the ingredients in a bowl.  See?  Easy!  They’re sweet, but not overly so.  And the orange rind adds a nice citrusy zing.

Matthew’s girlfriend Kelsy contributed an absolutely delicious dip.  She said she combined an 8-oz cream cheese, a can of pumpkin, 1-1/2 c. confectionary sugar, and spices to taste (cinnamon & nutmeg.)  She brought along some ginger snaps for dipping.

Major yummmm factor!! 😀

Some more pictures from the day!

By 4 o’clock, we were at my grandparent’s house where we stopped by to visit for a few hours.  Then we headed to my aunt and uncle’s house for a little more socializing. 😀

By the time 6 rolled around, I realized that I was doing a little too much socializing and not enough eating…haha.  I was super hungry, and my Aunt Marie pulled out some crispy ciabatta rolls, turkey meat, lettuce, mustard, pickles, and chopped cucumbers.  It was delicious and I gobbled–no pun intended!–up every last bite!

When I came home, I realized that (A) I was still hungry and (B) I was feeling vegetable deprived!!

I pulled out some more turnips and greenbeans, accompanying my bowl of mixed fruit.  😀

It was such a fun day!  I loved seeing all the family again, and it was great getting to know Kelsy! 😀  I’m looking forward to taking the trip to visit her and my brother soon!

Nicole and I have big plans for Black Friday shopping tomorrow morning, so there may not be any blogging done tomorrow night depending on how crazy it gets and how intensely we shop…haha!  I’m planning on relaxing a little for the rest of the night, and watching the rest of Chronicles of Narnia.  Then I’ll  journal a little before heading to bed. 😀 

I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving with your family and friends!!!! 😀

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

5 thoughts on “Gobble, Gobble! :)

  1. What a fun and delicious thanksgiving! Thanks for sharing the carrot recipe.. it sounds delicious! and that pumpkin spread.. well you know I’m all over that!

    Have fun shopping! The crowds always scare me.. but I normally go the day after Christmas!

  2. You know you’re totally right, Thanksgiving is really a simple holiday, at least compared to Christmas it is. I really enjoy it for exactly that reason!

    Such great pics! Looks like you had a great family gathering!

Leave a Reply

