A few Highlights :)

Nicole and I braved the malls this morning for our traditional Black Friday trip. 😀  I’ve had so much fun these last couple of days: visiting with relatives, seeing friends, laughing till it hurts, and good food.  Today was the cherry on the icecream.  The fact that it’s only Friday and I still have a full weekend makes me more then just a little happy. 😀

I don’t have a full recap from the day, as I didn’t want to bring anything but my wallet with me to the mall since things can get a little crazy, but I did have a few highlights to share.

Such as “Thanksgiving In a Bowl”…

I was getting all excited finding different toppings to pile on top! 😀

  • about 2-3 oz. white meat turkey
  • 1/2 a large, chilled sweet potato–diced
  • tomatoes, cukes, carrots (standard side salad fare!)
  • green olives
  • homemade cranberry sauce
  • small scoop of homemade stuffing
  • 1/4 avocado

And a bowl of turnips on the side.  Phew…yep, I think that just about covers up that Thanksgiving in a bowl. 😀  This may even outbeat the original turkey dinner, I have to say.  Thanks to a lovely reader for sharing this idea! 😀

Frozen Cookies, courtesy of the sis’!!! 😀

Okay, she didn’t actually make them frozen or bring them frozen yesterday!  But this morning I went into a frenzy cleaning up the kitchen, packing up and freezing many of the leftovers for future meals.  There’s a whole pumpkin pie, practically untouched, sitting in the fridge.  So I stashed these chocolate chip cookies into the freezer.

Then tonight I had a hankering for something sweet.  I’m not a fan of pumpkin pie, but I do love chocolate chip cookies.  Especially when they’re buttery and full of chunks like these.  SO GOOD!!  One was enough to hit the spot perfectly.  And I actually love them frozen.  They take longer to eat that way, and it’s like a chilled peice of chocolate chip cookie dough.  😀

Downward Doggies 😀

After a long day of shopping, a yoga session can really hit the spot.  And there’s something about the downward dog that really stretches things out…mmm…love it! 

Tomorrow I have plans for a 7-mile run, so we’ll see how that goes!  My goal is to get over 20 miles in one week, since I’ve never actually done that much before.  It won’t be happening until at least a couple weeks from now though, since next week I plan on dropping my mileage before going back up.  After getting achilles tendonitis last year, I’m pretty big on trying to avoid injuries. 😉

G’night!! 😀

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

5 thoughts on “A few Highlights :)

  1. I can’t believe you braved black friday…impressive. Definitely deserving of a yummy chocolate chip cookie as a reward. I am with you on pumpkin pie, would prefer a chocolate chip cookie myself.

  2. I’m glad you had a fun day of shopping! I love good deals but I’m too scared to actually shop on black friday! lol.

    How is the sweet potato unbaked? I’ve always wondered if it’s still sweet!

Leave a Reply

