On the upswing!

I stayed home from church today in hopes of getting some rest.  It felt good to “sleep in” until 7:15, which is when my stomach demanded that I get up.  Looks like the appetite problem isn’t lasting too long! 😉

Since I had the extra time, I decided to make some oats on the stovetop:

  • 1/4 c. oatbran
  • 1/4 c. oats
  • 1 c. milk + 1/2 c. water
  • 1/2 a very, very large and ripe banana
  • handful of raisins
  • 2 T. walnuts + 2 T. Natures Path Pumpkin Flax granola sprinkled on top

With a big glass of water on the side. 😀

I’m most definitely on the up-swing.  My energy levels still aren’t up to par, but I can tell my body is feeling better then yesterday.  I hope by tomorrow it’s completely gone, and I can get back into a busy school week! 

For some reason, when I’m feeling not quite normal, oranges are my snack of choice.  They’re so hydrating, juicy, sweet but not too sweet…perfect little snack. 😀

You know what else I love when I’m not feeling quite normal?  Turkey soup.  Or chicken noodle, but in the case of there being a ton of Thanksgiving leftovers, turkey will do the trick just fine. 😉

It’s such a simple recipe to put together, really.  The stock was made homemade with the bones of the turkey, an onion, some peppercorns, a little salt, and some carrots, and celery.  I just boiled it down for a good couple of hours, added in some herbs, and strained out the vegetables and bones at the end.  Voila!  Turkey stock! 😀  Then you can throw in some carrots, potatoe, and celery, cooking until tender.  Throw in some diced, cooked turkey and you’ve got yourself a bowl of soup.  Not too shabby, if I say so myself. 😀

On the side I had a slice of homemade wheat bread with a pat of butter, also leftover from Thanksgiving (I just froze it, and popped it in the microwave for a few seconds to dethaw it…and I also broiled it in the oven to get some crispness back in!) 

+ an apple for dessert

My parents and I routinely walk this road almost every Sunday afternoon.  It’s kind of tradition. 😀  I’ve always enjoyed this walk because it’s so peaceful and quiet.  If more then one car drives by during the entire walk, it’s a “busy day.”  Oh country roads… 😀

By the end of our walk, I was starting to feel hungry so I put together a yogurt mishmash. 

  • 6 oz. plain yogurt
  • 1/2 c. Kashi heart to heart
  • 1/2 a very, very large and ripe banana (the other half of my breakfast banana 😀 )
  • scoop of peanut butter
  • cinnamon

Then it was time to start taking down the Christmas decorations. 😀

It may seem a little early, but it seems that everyone in the neighborhood is taking advantage of the “warmer” weather by getting outside and decorating before any snow comes along.  Besides, post-Thanksgiving is–in my opinion–permission to start listening to Christmas music and setting up the decorations.  😀

I love how cheerful the house gets with all the colors and decorations. 😀

Tonight I wanted nothing more then a huge salad.  Usually Sunday nights are my “oatmeal” night for no other reason then the fact that I just crave them on Sunday nights.  Crazy, I know.  But tonight I was in veggie mode.

I made a standard salad with standard toppings–cukes, tomatoes, carrots, red onion, etc.–and then topped it with a leftover Moosewood lentil and walnut burger from yesterday, a bit of catsup, and a big pile of roasted butternut squash cubes.  They were reaching the point of caramelization when I pulled them out of the oven…just the way I like ’em. 😀  On the side I had the last of some kashi crackers.

+ a frozen treat. 😀 

I’m ready for the school week to start up again.  With only 2 weeks left before finals start, I’m feeling motivated and ready to finish things up!  This morning I spent a good amount of time filling out internship paperwork for next year, which left me feeling productive for the coming week as well.  Love that feeling!

Hope you’re all feeling refreshed and ready for a new week! 😀

 

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

6 thoughts on “On the upswing!

  1. Want to come to my house and cook for me?? haha seriously.. I want all of your food!

    Thanks for the turkey soup recipe! I always wondered how to make stock and that actually doesn’t seem too hard to do. Do you do it over low heat?

    And I’m jealous of the country road! Whenever I go to my grandparents house I take advantage of the country and go on walks.. it’s so beautiful and relaxing. Unfortunetly the city roads that I live on don’t have the same effects!

Leave a Reply

