Funny Weather

Today my breakfast actually matched the weather.  Not because I had hot oats, but because I had a cold smoothie.  And it was 60 degrees outside.  On December 3.  What is this world coming to?

Not that I’m complaining, mind you!  I was actually pretty happy.   I decided that if I was going to run in the rain, 60 degrees sounded just about perfect!

My morning smoothie was made up of:

  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 c. frozen strawberries
  • 1.5 c. soymilk
  • 1/2 c. rolled oats
  • 1 T. flax
  • 2 T. Natures Path Pumpkin Granola

Smoothies are so much fun to eat!  Especially with a bit of crunchy granola on top. 😀

About 1/2 hr later though, I was ready to warm myself up again with a hot cup of coffee ‘n’ soy. 😀

My peanut butter on toast snack is quickly becoming a pre-run staple.  I like having a little something in my stomach at least 30 minutes before I run.  Just a personal preference sort of thing!  Mentally, I think it makes me feel as if I have more energy.  And I hate having a growling stomach when I’m out on the road!

As I was gearing up, I was all ready to face the rain.  I psyched myself up to the point where I actually was excited to run in the rain. 

Then this happened (this=sunshine.)  It went from hurrican conditions of pouring rain and winds to a beautiful blue sky with a warm blanket of sunshine.  It was pretty ridiculous, but in a good way. 😀  There will be plenty of rainy days to enjoy and get psyched up for.  In the meantime, I’ll take the 60 degrees of sunshine. 😀

After I came home from the 4-miler, I decided to rummage through the fridge and see what I could come up with.  I literally found the very last of the vegetables: a handful of lettuce leaves and 1/2 a sweet potato.  Thank goodness for grocery shopping days! 😀  I went with what we had in the house, and made myself a concoction.

  • sweet potato fries: Basic old recipe, tried and true: 20 minutes in a 425 oven, flipping once halfway through.  I’ll usually spray the pan, throw on the thinly sliced taters, and spray once more on top.  And a side of ketchup for dunking is a must for a sweet & savory combo of flavors. 😀
  • side “salad:” This was as basic as it looks!  A handful of lettuce and 3/4 c. garbanzo beans.  I wasn’t feeling any sort of dressings, so I just ate it ‘as-is.’
  • apple with pb: This was an uneaten apple from last weeks’ visit to Panera and a spoonful of pb to round things off with a bit of healthy fat.

I love simple lunches. 😀

Snack today was more of a hodgepodge.  My writing class consisted of food tastings, and I enjoyed sampling a little of everything.  Trader Joes 6-bean salad, butternut squash soup, carrots with natural pb, etc.  It made for a fun snack, which I ate along with my packed orange and a whole wheat pumpkin muffin from home.  I felt pleasantly satisfied throughout the afternoon and into dinner.

Speaking of dinner, I do realize that everyone has a favorite chili recipe that they swear is the best (kind of like the infamous gaucamole recipes!)  But this Chunky Vegetarian Chili is appealing in that it attracts meat eaters and vegetarians alike…it’s just so good!  It has all the right balances of sweet and spicy–which I love!–with plenty of chunkiness from the veggies and mixed beans.  I like my chili eaten on a bed of rice or with a side of corn bread.  Tonight I chose the former because I wanted something warm, carby and chewy. 😀

And what’s chili without a scoop of sharp cheddar cheese?

Tomorrow is my “day of rest” as far as running is concerned, before another planned 7-miler on Saturday.  I’m really excited about increasing the mileage next week, as my dad and I may be doing an 8-mile run.  Ahh!!  Excited…kind of nervous too. 😉  I haven’t gone over 20 miles in one week since—-never!

Lastly, I have a few major plans for the night:

  • read the new runners world
  • bubble bath
  • tea

It’s a tough job, but somebody’s gotta do it! 😉

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

5 thoughts on “Funny Weather

    • It was a lot of fun! 😀 The tastings were done to evaulate the taste, appearance, texture, and like/dislike for the product while also judging who might enjoy the product or who we thought the intended audience was. It’s a writing class, so following the tastings, we had to write a short summary about a specific product of our choice.

      I ended up writing about the Trader Joe’s 6-bean medley. 😀

  1. I like to have a pre-workout snack too.. I feel like it gives me more energy!

    I love how your meals always look so elegant and well-put together! I need some tips.. mine are always so random!

Leave a Reply

