cold mornings, hot breakfasts

Eeeks!!!

I had high hopes for a 5-mile run this morning, and decided that my best line of attack against the cold drop in temperature would be to first warm myself up with a hot bowl of apple-spice oats.  Then maybe the wall of cold outside would feel refreshing instead of unbearable. 😉 

Apple-spice oats:

  • 1/4 c. oats
  • 1/4 c. oatbran
  • cinnamon, nutmeg & cloves
  • about 1 T. raisins
  • 1/2 an apple (while eating the other half in preparation 😉 )
  • 1 c. milk + 1/2 c. water
  • 2 T. wheatberries!!!

+ 2 T. pumpkin spice flax granola and 2 T. walnuts on top.  I always forget to use wheatberries and how delicious they can be.  I love the chew they gave my morning oats!

Whether my “line of attack” against the cool morning was psychological or actual, I really did feel refreshed and energized once I was outside and trotting along!  I actually ended up feeling overly warm by the end.  It’s such an adjustment trying to figure out how to dress in all of these different temperatures!

Since I was feeling warm by the end of my run, I started craving something cold for a snack (why can’t my body temperature just make up its mind, already? 😉 )  I decided to go with an oldie but goodie:

Green Monster:

  • 2 c. spinach
  • 1 c. milk
  • 1 frozen banana

And eaten with a spoon for optimum enjoyment. 😀

It wasn’t until after eating my morning snack and taking a quick shower that I suddenly remembered that I needed to show up early to hand in an assignment this morning!  I ended up scrambling around the house, threw together a quick hummus & avocado sandwich with an orange, almonds and a cheesestick and dashed out the door.  No pictures were taken in the rush of the moment, as I found myself running to class just in the knick of time.  Phew..from there, I scrambled to the library where I spent a good, solid hour of studying (and eating!)

+ a mocha-walla bar for the ride home…I loved this flavor the first time I had it, but I wasn’t to wild about it this time!  Maybe it was just old or something, but it was almost dry and flavorless.  Strange!

For dinner, I was feeling “salad-ish.”  I made a basic side salad but topped it with some fun!

  • 3/4 c. kidney beans
  • 4 green olives + 3 black olives, sliced
  • last of the steamed carrots from the weekend
  • homemade viniagrette: 1 tsp. olive oil + 1 tsp. balsamic vinegar + 1 tsp. orange juice + dry mustard and garlic powder. 

+ a slice of toasted homemade whole wheat bread with a pat of butter

I dug into two of the leftover Thanksgiving gingersnap cookies for dessert.  Simple but satisfying! 😀

For a snack tonight, I couldn’t decide if I wanted LIFE cereal or Honey Nut Cheerios…so I went with both. 😉  I used to love mixing cereals, because you get the best of both (or more!) worlds.

I’m pretty zonked right about now!  I was thankfully able to finish a lot of a Case Study that’s due for Friday, but I need to go to bed early tonight so I can spend some good time studying for my biochemistry exam on Thursday!  There’s so much to accomplish for this last week of classes!!

Hope you all had a great Monday back into the work/school week! 😀

G’night!

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

4 thoughts on “cold mornings, hot breakfasts

  1. i LOVE mixing cereals – its so much fun to get a bit of this and a bit of that in each bite!

    work it out on that run – the cold weather has severely been hindering my running motivation 🙂

Leave a Reply

