Short ‘n’ Sweet

I was able to wake up a little later then normal this Tuesday morning, so I took advantage of it with an easy breezy 2 mile walk and a bowl of hot apple spice oats.  Same as yesterday’s concoction…wheatberries were of course included!  I’m loving these things more and more every day! 😀

Once back, showered, and ready to go, I threw a green monster mix into the blender for a snack-to-go!

  • 1 banana
  • 2 c. spinach
  • 1 c. milk

It was frothy, creamy, and satisfying!   I love smoothies while driving, because I can make them last the entire way. 😀

This will probably be my last packed lunch for the semester! 😀  I ate this packed hummus and avocado sandwich and cheesestick in the library while studying for tomorrow’s biochemistry exam. After 1-1/2 hrs. of studying, I couldn’t sit down much longer!  A quick stroll around campus in the cold, refreshing air did wonders for energizing me! 😀

I also brought along some packed snacks which included:

  • handful of almonds
  • red anjou pear
  • orange slices

…I ate them sporatically throughout the day, about every 3 hrs. or so.  It’s the secret to staying well-fueled…and awake during some long lectures. 😉

I didn’t realize how white my meal was becoming until I actually plated it…haha!  While not exactly aesthetically pleasing (where’s the green, please?) it hit the spot perfectly.  There was brown rice, steamed cauliflower & carrots, with baked cod on the side.  It’s the usual recipe that I enjoy using for haddock/cod style fish:

  • Sautee 1 sliced onion in 1 T. butter.
  • Place 1 lb. cod/haddock in a baking pan sprayed with cooking spray.  Layer sliced lemons on top along with sauteed onions.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper.
  • Bake for 20 minutes at 325.

That’s it!  So simple, but very flavorful. 😀  Feel free to add some much needed parsley for color. 😉

+ a blueberry parfait for dessert. 😀 

  • 6-oz. plain yogurt
  • 1/2 c. frozen blueberries, microwaved for 20 sec.
  • 2 T. pumpkin flax granola

+ a night time snack of honey nut cheerios and a little bit of LIFE! 😀

Sorry for such a short post!  I’m swamped with business this week, due to exams, papers, and finals!  It’s pretty much insane!  But at least now I can relax for a while with a cup of tea and the Biggest Loser Finale.

Anyone else watching it? 😀

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

5 thoughts on “Short ‘n’ Sweet

    • Hi Emily! I actually bought the bowl at a quaint little craft store last year, and I haven’t seen them since (major bummer, since I would love to buy more!)

  1. I’ve had some wheatberries in my refrigerator forever and keep forgetting to use them! Thanks for the reminder!

    Good luck with all your exams! I know you’ll do great!

  2. Looks very appetizing! I believe you can pass all your exams because of these fruitful snacks. It can give you a satisfactory performance in your studies. Would like to invite you to visit Happy Tiffin I think you’ll love the idea of using stainless steel tiffin container for your packed lunches. This stuff will give you a good sense of taste while eating your lunch because it does not contain any foul taste/smell (some other containers like plastic have this) So you could enjoy more eating. But don’t worry of the style, you can choose from different design and size.
    So goodluck! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

