Final Frenzy

Is it Thursday, yet? 😉

I’ve always prided myself on living in the moment–or at least attempting to!  But these past few days of studying for my Medical Nutrition Therapy final has left me looking forward to Thursday, when I’ll be all done.  In the mean time, I know there are still little perks and ways to slow down the day.  No sense in rushing the week along!  I need to keep reminding myself of this. 😀

This morning I started with a crunchy, spicy breakfast cookie!

  • 1/2 c. oats
  • 3/4 mashed banana (saving the rest for the top!)
  • 1 T. almond butter
  • 1 T. raisins
  • lots (and I do mean lots! 😉 ) of cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves
  • 2 T. soymilk

…I mashed it all together, and put it in the fridge overnight.  This morning I sliced the rest of the banana for the top and also sprinkled on 2 T. homemade granola for the c-r-u-n-c-h factor.  + a glass of milk for the fullness factor. 😀

After spending a good part of my morning studying for MNT, I made a nice, filling snack: a fried egg on a slice of whole wheat sourdough bread.  An hour later, I was on the road for a planned 5-mile run.

I really enjoyed my run this morning.  Lately the winter winds have been incredibly gusty and strong.  It’s great for building strength, but not so great when you just want to enjoy a run! 😉  Today was just what I needed.  There were no breezes, and it was 30 degrees out (super warm compared to what the temps have been!)  Love it!  I didn’t time myself, but judging by the way I felt, it was much faster then my normal pace. 😀

After slowing the day down with a good run, I snacked on a red anjou pear while making lunches for me and my dad.

I wanted another pineapple topped salad for lunch, so I went with a mish mash of ingredients.  Don’t you just love everything but the kitchen sink types of salads? 😀

  • lots of spinach
  • carrots, cucumbers, tomatoes
  • red onions
  • 4-5 green olives
  • cauliflower
  • pineapple
  • a big dollop of homemade roasted red pepper hummus (recipe to be posted once I perfect it…it needs a boost of flavor and I’d like it to be thicker!)
  • dressing: 1 tsp each of olive oil, balsamic vinegar, orange juice…+ garlic powder and dry mustard

+ kashis 😀

Then it was back to work!  I swear, there is absolutely no more room left in my brain to fit anything more!  I can’t think about anything without forcing my mind to mentally recall words and labs and diseases that I know I’ll need to remember for the final.  An hour or so of studying pancreatitis and a couple of medjool dates later, I was starting to at least feel slightly more prepared for the exam. 😀

I decided this afternoon that I’d take the trek to campus in order to take advantage of a review session.  I wasn’t sure how long it would last, so I went prepared with a pear (forgetting that I had already had a red anjou earlier in the day…ah well!) a handful of almonds and a babybel cheese.  Thank goodness I brought along these little snacks because the review didn’t let out for a good 3 hrs, and I ended up snacking on everything in order to hold me over for dinner… 

…which didn’t actually come around until 7’ish.  Thankfully, the snacks did a good job of tiding me over.  I hate that feeling of wanting to eat everything in sight after a busy day.  I’ve had moments where even the bowl and spoon begin to look appetizing. 😉  The goal should be to feel hungry for dinner but definitely not starved.  If this happens a lot, try increasing your intake throughout the day or include a mid-afternoon snack.  Or munch on some raw veggies while you prepare dinner. 

I had a hankering for chocolate after dinner, and suddenly remembered that I had a bit of chocolate hazelnut Coconut Bliss left in the freezer.  I popped it in the microwave for 10 seconds to get it all melty and creamy, and savored every lick.  It’s so smooth and creamy…love it!  I can’t wait to try the mint flavor.  

+ night snack!

I feel so scatter brained right now, so I’m sorry if this post is entirely random!  Studying has left me simply frazzled…haha. 😀  But don’t worry.  I’m totally still attempting to live in the moment and I’m honestly not trying to rush the week along too quickly. 😉 

Fun Question of the Day: Do you find yourself routinely wishing for the end of your work/school week to come around?   

I’m off to bed so I can get an early start tomorrow morning…G’night! 😀

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

10 thoughts on “Final Frenzy

  1. I’m glad you got such an enjoyable run in today! I swear this is why I love running in the winter – because when winter running is finally over it feels 100x easier! 😉

    Look at those notes! You are totally going to rock your final exam in just a few days.

    And I’m pretty sure “Everything but the kitchen sink salad” is my middle name!

  2. I love kitchen sink salads, you are right – they’re the best. Also, just looking at your studying made me anxious…looks like you’re doing great, keep it up!

    I wish I didn’t wish for the weekend, but I do. Not really on Mondays or Tuesdays, but by Wednesday, I just want the week to hurry up. I’m always trying to live “more in the moment” though – it takes practice for me!

  3. What delicious eats you had today! I think I’m finally going to make a breakfast cookie this week since I have class early.. I haven’t made one in a few months!

    I usually wish it was the end of the week when it’s Monday but the rest of the days I don’t mind haha!

  4. GOOD LUCK ON FINALS GIRL! you know that junk salads are my middle name, and i love adding anything and everything to my concoctions!

    i also try not to wish for the end of the week, but sometimes its impossible! plus, the weekends go by so fast, its monday before you know it!

  5. Thanks for the mention of the Chocolate Hazelnut Fudge Coconut Bliss! We enjoy our evening snacks here as well…and I think that’s Larry’s favorite.

    Enjoy!
    -Vince Da Blisser
    from the Coconut Bliss Mothership (offices), Eugene, OR

  6. Good luck with finals. Stuying stresses me out, I was a terrible student. Mix match salads are the best and can be hard to duplicate sometimes. 🙂 I totally wait for the weekend. Can’t help it.

Leave a Reply

