Grumpies Be Gone!

Have you ever had an off-day?  That’s kind of a silly question.  Of course—haven’t we all had off-days here and there?  Well, today, it was my turn.

For starters, I woke up g-r-u-m-p-y with a capital “G.”  No reason, other then I just felt as if the entire world was out to get me.  In fact, I was so cranky that I even got mad about the fact that I forgot to add cinnamon and nutmeg to my breakfast cookie.  Silly, I know, but bare with me here. 😉

I was so grumpy that I knew it was a good thing my parents were spending the day away at the mall.  If I’m going to be cranky, it’s better if nobody has to deal with my mood. 😉 

I decided that if there was any chance I was going to clear up the morning funk, a run was my best shot.  I smeared a bit of almond butter on a toast, and dressed up for a brisk, winter trot.

Speaking of winter running, did you know that running in wool socks can actually be quite comfy and warm? 😀  I was hesitant to try it, because I was afraid my sneakers would become too tight.  But after a few runs of having the wind go right through the ventilators, I decided to throw them on top of my running socks, and not care if I was a fashion faux pas. 😉  I did have to loosen my sneaks a little, but this is just another step towards becoming fully comfortable and prepared for winter runs. 😀

Well, the 5-mile run did the trick for the grumpiness.  I came back, realizing how silly I was to take such a gorgeous day for granted.  I came to the conclusion that it was much too nice of a day to be a grump.  And that was that!

This chickpea garden salad was thrown together in between blow-drying my hair.  I have a funny feeling that the black olive, avocado and cilantro mix is just never going to get old.  Neither are whole wheat annie bunnies.  😉 

+ an orange

I found two fun reads at the bookstore today—The Road and Mindless Eating.  Can’t wait to dig in to this goodness! 😀

+ listening to Josh Goban Christmas music

+ a Starbucks soy misto with cinnamon

= bliss 😀

When I came home, I grabbed a handful of almonds and got supper on the stove.

Thank goodness for frozen leftovers sometimes, you know? 😀  These lentil tacos were conveniently frozen for a weeknight meal, and I threw them in a pot to reheat them.  Then I sprinkled the wrap with some chopped cilantro and served with some raw veggie sticks on the side.

Something about a wrap—it’s so satisfying! 😀

When my parents arrived home, we had a bit of a wine sampling.  I don’t know much about types of wines or what to look for, but I do know my own individual taste preferences. 😉  I really liked the Pinot Noir.  It was subtly sweet and fruity…mmm…

I also took a sip of the merlot, but wasn’t in the mood for a full glass so just went with a small sampling of the pinot noir.

For a snack tonight, I was craving yogurt.  I heated 1/2 c. frozen wild blueberries for 20 seconds, mixed with some plain yogurt and topped the parfait with 2 T. pumpkin flax granola.  It hit the spot. 😀

Has anyone been counting down the days until Christmas? 

4 Days!! 😀 

I think it’s finally going to hit me tomorrow as I’m decorating Christmas cookies with Nicole at her apartment…can’t wait! 😀

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

6 thoughts on “Grumpies Be Gone!

  1. Running usually cures me of the grumpies too!

    Mindless Eating is a really interesting book. Be prepared to be astonished by all the tricks marketers and restaurants use to get us to eat more! I did a post on one of the interesting studies here.

  2. Good job for fighting off the “grumps”. I can get that way to. Sometimes just over sleeping or a cloudy day will do it.
    Counting till Christmas, yes. Such a peaceful day. Then I always look forward to the 1st and it’s finally all behind us.

Leave a Reply

