Christmas Eve

This is going to be a quickie, since it’s 11:30 and I’m plain tuckered out after a busy but fun Christmas celebration. πŸ˜€

First things first…starting the day with a delicious and filling bowl of pumpkin oats, with some pumpkin flax and almond butter on top.Β 

Feeling well fueled, I decided to head out for a run about an hour or so later.Β  I asked dad to join me for a 4-mile run, which ended up turning into a 6-miler. πŸ˜€Β  That’s what I love about running with other people—I always end up pushing myself fasther and further then normal.Β  I have a feeling that I’ll be feeling this run tomorrow too, due to the insane hills!!Β 

I knew there was a big dinner coming tonight, so I wanted to fit in a healthy, super-sized salad.Β  I topped it with:

  • black olives
  • 1/4 avocado
  • garbanzo and black beans
  • red onion
  • carrots, cucumber, tomatoes
  • balsamic vinegar and a splash of orange juice…

+ sweet potato fries and some catsup! πŸ˜€

Throughout the afternoon, I made myself a granola & raisin yogurt parfait along with some grapefruit slices, but my camera battery was charging so I didn’t have a chance to snap a photo…but it carried me through until it was time to PARTAY! πŸ˜‰

Nicole and Nate were the first ones to arrive.Β  I snagged Nicole for a photo. πŸ˜‰

There was a TON of food tonight.Β  Appetizers included shrimp (definitely helped myself to those! πŸ˜€ ) chips, and cheese and crackers.

And everyone contributed by bringing desserts and side dishes.Β  Every year my memere makes a French recipe of pot pie. Β It has salted pork and potatoes inside, and the crust is to die for amazing!Β  I look forward to this every single year. πŸ˜€

And the spread included grilled orange marmalade salmon, cauliflower grautin, homemade cranberry sauce, gingered squash, candied carrots, green beans, homemade crescent rolls, and a rib eye roast.Β  I just wanted to sample everything!

Tyler enjoyed the orange marmalade salmon… πŸ˜€

So I did. πŸ˜‰Β  The center is the cauliflower gratin, which had three different cheeses on it.Β  One word: amazing.Β  Although I think my favorite item was the pot pie from my memere.Β  Delicious! πŸ˜€

My contribution on the dessert table were these espresso brownies, which were anything but light.Β πŸ˜‰ Β They were also super rich and sweet, so I cut them really tiny for everyone to sample. πŸ˜€

I followed the sampling theme and went with a small slice of the espresso brownie, a rocky road treat with marshmallows, a small sliver of peanut butter fudge, a peice of my memere’s cranberry date bars, and 1/2 of my memere’s peanut butter candies.Β  Mmm…sooo tasty! πŸ˜€Β  It was just enough to satisfy my tastebuds on a lil’ of everything. πŸ˜€

Then we had a Yankee Swap of gifts…here’s my Pepere unwrapping his gift. πŸ˜€

Now I’m officially zonked out!Β  My sis is sleeping over tonight too, and I’m sure we’ll be up early opening gifts tomorrow morning, so I should definitely hit the hay. πŸ˜€Β  I hope you all had a very merry Christmas Eve, and have a great Merry Christmas tomorrow! πŸ˜€

G’night!

(p.s. I’m sorry if there are a ton of spelling errors in this post…I think my brain has officially checked out for the night. haha πŸ˜‰ )

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

4 thoughts on “Christmas Eve

  1. Everything looks wonderful. Is there any way that you would be willing to share the recipe for the pot pie with salted pork and potatoes. It looks very similar to something that my memere used to make. She’d call it “sea pout” which I am sure is spelled another way in French though I have no idea how it is spelled in French or even if it is an established recipe. Anyway, your pot pie dish looks a lot like what she used to make and I’d love to try to recover a similar recipe. She never used recipes…just her memory.

    Thanks!

    -Larry (marcillelawrence@gmail.com)

Leave a Reply

