Running with Snowflakes

I had the hardest time rolling out of bed this morning.  I think part of it was due to the fact that we were expecting snow.  Feeling all snuggly and warm under the covers, the thought of venturing into the cold for a run didn’t really sound very appealing.  “Okay, Sarah…how about oatmeal?  How does that sound?”  What a silly question for me to ask myself.  Oatmeal always sounds good.  Especially on a groggy and hungry morning such as today. 😀

This morning I went with a giant bowl of oats ‘n’ oatbran, mixed with 1/2 an apple, cinnamon & nutmeg & cloves, 1 c. milk, and a few raisins.  I topped it with some walnuts, granola and a dollop of Christmas cranberry sauce. 😀 

After filling my belly with a warm bowl of carbs, running was starting to sound pretty good.  I decided to sieze the moment instead of waiting until the temperature dropped or the snow began to fall.  I toasted a slice of whole wheat bread with a pat of peanut butter, and then off I went into the snowy morning…

…Well, it wasn’t actually snowing when I left the house.  But by the time I was on my last stretch of the 5-mile run, the snowflakes were falling at a rapid speed.  Big, giant snowflakes.  They looked so white and fluffy against the dark sky.  It was such a perfect way to start the day.  And despite the fact that my legs felt a little more then heavy this morning (lead legs! 😮 ) I still felt happy to be trotting along the silent road.  There’s just something about a quiet morning with nothing but the sight of snow and the sound of sand below your feet.  Love it!! 

Mom and Dad also fit in a morning workout.  Dad went out for a 5-mile run and mom went out for a 3-mile walk.  We all came home energized and hungry. 😉  I was feeling in the mood for “breakfast for lunch.”  There were leftover, rosemary roasted potatoes from Christmas that were just begging to be used as fried potatoes.  They already had olive oil from when they were cooked in the oven, so I simply sprayed a nonstick pan with cooking spray, browned some onions and added the chopped potatoes.  And heaven forbid that the stash of leftover green beans go to waste!!!  So I roasted some in a 425 degree oven for about 25 minutes with a tsp of olive oil and salt & pepper.  Amazing.  If you’ve never roasted green beans, it’s a must.  The more brown they get, the more delicious they taste. 😀

Oh…and scrambled eggs.  Of course. 😉  Cooked in just a pat of real butter.  Never underestimate the power of even the tiniest bit of butter…it adds a whole new level of richness.

+ I split an orange with mom for a lil’ something sweet

+ a juicy pear not long after.  Between the cool morning and the 5-mile run, I was feeling hungry this afternoon.  Not to mention the additional 2 mile walk that my parents and I took.  We’re all on vacation, so there’s been plenty of extra outdoor time.  Always a good thing. 😀

Post-walk, I grabbed a handful of almonds to chew on.  I always tell myself that I’ll include something else for an afternoon snack.  And sometimes I do.  But there’s something incredibly satisfying about almonds.  They last me a while because I can just munch on them slowly throughout the afternoon.  And they fill me up and keep me full until dinner.  AND, they’re full of healthy monounsaturated fats and vitamin E…and fiber.  Okay, I’ll stop boasting about almonds now.  But really, they do deserve some lovin’ now and again. 😀

I was a little worried about how everyone would receive tonight’s dinner, mostly because of its appearance.  I definitely wouldn’t call this meal the prettiest dish in the world, due to its brown and orange coloring.  BUT, I love lentils and I know the fam has enjoyed most of the lentil dishes that I’ve made in the past.  So I put this new recipe from Cooking Light to the test for dinner tonight, and was happy to find…

…no complaints!

Always a good thing, right?  Of course it may have helped that I chopped some cilantro for my dad.  It added color and pizzazz, for sure.  I still think that this meal would be best found in a wrap with salsa and cheese.  Trying that next time! 😀  Because I think without the salsa, it was sort of just…I don’t know…missing something.  To be tweaked and tried again!!! 😀

After dinner, I had an intense chocolate craving!  I satisfied it with a square of dark chocolate, courtesy of Ghirardelli and Dad. 😉

Tonight we had a game night.  I’m not much of a competitive person, but don’t even get me started on Trivia Pursuit.  Seriously.  I think it has something to do with my utter frustration for silly questions and the even sillier answers on my part…haha.  I’ll stick to the Junior Trivia Pursuit, thank you very much.  Especially on the arts and literature section.  Ugh!!

While playing, I toasted a slice of homemade walnut raisin bread—courtesy of Moosewood Cookbook (the restaurant one with the moose on the cover, not the Mollie Katzen one) and ate it with a pat of butter and a glass of milk.  Mmm….I love how sweety and crunchy the bread is, along with the unexpected bite from the pepper.  This may very well be my favorite bread…ever?  Yes, it’s definitely possible. 😀

Today felt so much like a Sunday to me, that I’m feeling as if tomorrow is Monday.  But Monday has already come and gone, and soon it will be New Years Eve and New Years.  Time to get to work on creating my New Years Resolutions!! 😀 

What are some of your New Years Resolutions going to be if you plan on making some?  I usually end up with a list of mini-goals.  It’s always fun to look back and see which ones were achieved and which ones still need work! 😀

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

12 thoughts on “Running with Snowflakes

  1. i adore your blog!
    loving all your eats esp the oats in the morning 😉
    I was wondering where you got your green spoon on the first picture. i’ve been seeing those around and have been wanting them but can’t find them anywhere.

    thanks!

    • Crate and Barrel!! 😀 Every once in a while they’ll come out with a few new fun colors, and they always have fun spoons to choose from. 😀

  2. Those leftovers all sound fantastic!
    I think it’d be a good resolution for me to try to be more of a chef. I definitely have baking down to a science(because it is one, in my opinion), but “cooking” is like a whole new world!

    • I’ve been using the Canon Rebel XT. LOVE it! 😀 It takes great pictures and really isn’t too difficult to get the hang of. 😀

  3. What a perfect way to start the day – a run in the snow! Good job for just getting out there and doing it…awesome eats, as usual, too 🙂 Enjoy your vacation!

  4. Your breakfast for lunch sounds so good. Yum! I love heating up potatoes with onion!

    I am SO SO bad at Trivial Pursuit. I don’t even have fun playing it! Last year, my BiL gave his parent’s pop culture Trivial Pursuit and it had all of these questions on Desperate Housewives! It was ridiculous!

    I haven’t really made any resolutions. Just to be more mindful and calm!

    • Glad to hear I’m not the only one who hates Trivial Pursuit! haha…it drives me insane!

      I think we could all learn to be a little more mindful and calm…love it! 😀

Leave a Reply

