Running Partner :)

Morning

Sometimes only a breakfast cookie will do! 😀

The last of the Natures Path Pumpkin Granola was sprinkled on top for a crumbly cookie topping. 

+ a glass of milk to wash it down! 😀 

Sometimes I like to run solo–most of the time.  But after yesterday’s negative temps and 50mph winds, I was searching for some motivation.  Dad ended up joining me on my 5-mile run which was perfect.  His pace is faster then mine, and it’s nice being pushed while enjoying some company on a chilly morning.  I came home feeling refreshed.  Energized. 

Pre-run fuel: toasted walnut raisin bread with a pat of almond butter.  If you’ve yet to try almond butter on raisin bread, you must try it soon!!  You won’t be disappointed. 😀

NOON

A little peice of summer on a chilly winters day:

That would be an acorn squash from the garden this summer!  I’ve never tried or attempted to roast an acorn squash.  So there it sat…in a basket…in the kitchen.  Alone and untouched.  But today I overcame my fears of such an innocent little veggie, and decided to roast it. 😀  I preheated the oven to 400 degrees.  Meanwhile, I removed the stem and cut the squash in half to remove the seeds. Then I plopped it cut side down on a sprayed cookie sheet and put it in the oven for 25-30 minutes.

While the squash was roasting it up in the oven, I made my dad and I some mac ‘n’ cheese for a quick and easy tasty post-run meal.  I love bulking it up with a cups worth of black beans and about 1-1/3 mixed frozen (and thawed) veggies.

I split the box with Dad and added a big dollop of salsa on mine. 😀

The squash was fantastic!!  It tasted like a cross between spaghetti squash and butternut squash.  Mmm…sweet and satisfying.  Loved it!

AFTERNOON

Dad and I made a trip to Home Depot this afternoon to pick up some hinges for a wood peice that he’s making, along with some color swatches to help me decide what to do with my room.  I’m leaning with periwinkle blue. 😀

When we came home from a short trip, I had the very last of the fruit in the fruit drawer–an orange–plus some almonds.  Thank goodness tomorrow is grocery shopping day.  We’re in desparate need of fruits and veggies!

EVENING

I scraped up every last bit of vegetables I could find in the fridge to create a gigantic salad for dinner…

  • mesculin greens
  • carrot
  • red bell pepper slices
  • mushroom slices
  • red onion

And paired it with a whole wheat flour tortilla wrap…

…then I added some leftover, vegetarian chili from the freezer on top.  Not bad for a night of leftovers! 😀  The fridge is literally empty at this point.  Can’t wait to restock tomorrow!

NIGHT

I heart Kashi Heart to Heart. 😀 

Tomorrow’s plans include a 4-mile run, internship application stuff, grocery shopping, sushi making!!, and New Years celebration.  😀 

I hope you all had a Happy Humpday! 😀  G’night!

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

10 thoughts on “Running Partner :)

  1. girll your blog is amazin’! & crazy, my dad and i run together all the time; we both signed up for the san francisco half this july! i’m nervous but excited :))

    oh & p.s. i love your pictures !

  2. That is so cool that you grew your own acorn squash! That was our main dish for Christmas, and we just ate the last one last night. Oh man, I think I am getting addicted!

    How cool that you are making sushi! 🙂

  3. I also roasted an acorn squash for the first time yesterday! Iy was such a great lunch! I topped mine with some whipped cottage cheese, my favorite sweet potato topping and it was delish!!

    I love that yours was from the garden though! I think I’m going to try growing my own this summer!

  4. That squash is one of my favorites! I heard it was called a different name but I can’t remember- there’s so many!

    And that is such a neat idea to add beans to the mac and cheese! I’m going to try that next time!

Leave a Reply

