Oat Power

So.  Very.  Tired!

I now know why I’m a morning person and not a night owl.  I didn’t even take a sip of wine or beer last night, but I still woke up feeling groggy and thirsty!!  I immediately guzzled a couple tall glasses of ice cold water, then made the last of my steel cut oats. 

  • serving of refrigerated steel cut oats
  • 1/2 c. milk
  • 1 small apple, diced
  • cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves
  • a small scoop of raisins

Into the microwave for 2-3 minutes.  A lil’ brown sugar and some walnuts were again the MVP of my morning. 😀

~~eaten with my favorite tea spoon~~

Behold the power of oats!  Once again I was not hungry until noon’ish.  I also felt more energetic then even my normal energetic self.  I took down the Christmas tree, cleaned up the kitchen and my bedroom, and was on go, go, go mode all morning long.  Too bad it was my rest day in running, because I probably could have ran a marathon (or not, but it was a nice thought. 😉 )

The Doctor Kracker Cherry Semolina Crisps have been completely consumed by the family, and it was time to try a new flavah!  Enter the Fire Roasted Crisps.  I was expecting these to be my Dad’s favorite since he loves all things spicy, but in fact…they’re my new favorite. 😉  I absolutely loved, loved, loved this cracker.  It tasted like pizza and had just the right amount of spice.  It went perfectly with the Garlic and Herb Laughing Cow wedge.

It made for the perfect accompaniment to my larger then life salad.

  • mesculin greens
  • red bell pepper
  • carrot
  • cucumbers and tomatoes
  • avocado
  • garbanzo beans
  • 1/4 acorn squash
  • dressing: tsp each of olive oil, balsamic vinegar and OJ + garlic and mustard powder

Munch. munch. munch.

This afternoon I enjoyed a three-some of snacks, while out and about running some errands.

1) pear—since I was still craving something sweet post-salad

2) tall soy latte with cinnamon—since I was in desparate need of a caffeine fix

3) almonds—since I was hungry before dinner and wanted something crunchy too

When dinner did roll around, I had the strangest appetite.  I wasn’t hungry.  At all.  Then about half hour after not feeling hungry, I felt ravenous as if I could eat the entire kitchen.  My stomach is all wacked out today!

My tastebuds were a little wacky too, which is why I had a very random dinner  Leftover chickpea-quinoa pilaf with the rest of the roasted acorn squash, and a bowl of yogurt with 2 T. crushed flax and pineapple.  My tastebuds and stomach were both feeling satisfied at last. 😀

Tomorrow I was supposed to run my 8-miler, but we have weather predictions of 3-5 inches of snow, so I’m not really sure if it’s going to happen or not!!  If not, I’m planning a date with Jillian Michaels in the tv room. 😉 

Off to read and relax—Happy Friday and Happy January 1st! 😀

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

5 thoughts on “Oat Power

  1. I think I would be more scared of Jillian than an 8 mile run, lol!

    Those crackers look super yum, i’ll have to see if they sell them around here, I would love to try them.

  2. Ah I hate the “not hungry but ravenous after you start eating” feeling.. it happens all the time to me! DId you ever ask your professor why that happens?

  3. i love LC wedges with crackers – they spread perfectly!

    still obsessed with your camera! it takes the best pictures.

  4. I love your spoon, so cute 🙂
    Running in the winter has not been too fun! I just bought one of Jillian’s dvds and she does not mess around lol

  5. I can always rely on Jillian when the weather is cold. 🙂

    As always, your oats look fantastic – I am such a morning person too, and breakfast always holds the most appeal to me. Although, that larger than life salad looks incredible as well!

Leave a Reply

