Warning: Chaos!!

Today was a whirlwind of chaos…hence me disclaiming with “don’t do as I do.” 😉  With the combination of being both a foodie and nutrition student, I feel its part of my job to show that good, healthy foods can taste absolutely amazing.  I’d like to live this out with my personal lifestyle and choices, using the Food Pyramid as my general guide.  Today, however, was not a good example of a good, healthy eating pattern.  Live and learn, right?  😉

It started off well enough.  I knew I had an early morning, so I prepared a spicy breakfast cookie last night.  I woke up an extra 15 minutes earlier so I could enjoy a cup of coffee and conversation with mom too.  I was feeling quite relaxed and looking forward to my busy day at the Dietetic Internship Open House.

With a few last minute adjustments in the shoe fashion department (apparently, Uggs don’t go well with dress pants…haha 😉 ) and after snagging a pear and some almonds, I was out the door and on my way with Jessica as my co-pilot.

We had absolutely no problem finding the open house.  It worked out that a nice, elderly man was able to find us a parking spot before wishing us luck with internship hunting. 😀  Then upon entering, the internship director spotted us and directed us to the conference room.  Nothing could have gone smoother.  And I was happy to find out that I’ll be considered a full-time student still, which meansa lot in terms of loans and insurance.  Phew…what a relief!

Driving home, I managed to drive us right into the worst part of a nearby town.  This is the second time I’ve done this!  You think I’d learn by now, but I always manage to follow the wrong signs.  Thankfully, my trusty co-pilot was able to redirect us back on the right road. 😉

When I finally arrived home, it was already 3:00 and I hadn’t yet eaten lunch.  This is where the chaos both began and ended, and I can explain the “don’t do as I do” title.  Never, ever, ever go more then 4-5 hrs. without food.  It only sets you up for overeating later on, in addition to headaches, fatigue, grumpiness, shaking, etc.  It’s just not good.  Don’t do as I did and wait 6 hrs. between your morning snack and lunch.  When I finally did eat lunch, I went with some cherry tomatoes, carrots, toasted raisin & walnut bread, and a fried egg (1 whole egg + 1 egg white.)

My empty stomach syndrome led to a desparate need for more food.  Here enters the three little bowls.  Bowl #1: peas!

Bowl #2: frozen grapes!

Bowl #3: cheerios and milk!

I was finally full and ready to move on to grocery shopping.  Despite being full though, I still felt un-energetic.  Snacking and eating meals at appropriate times is important and it messes my body all up when I don’t have that normalcy.  Thankfully I was still able to maneuver through the grocery isles without buying everything in sight.

Hence the chaotic day and my lack of feeling motivated, I decided to involve some of this…

…with this…

For a simple meal.  On the side I had some yogurt with flax, granola and strawberries too.  Nothing fancy, but it was exactly what I was in the mood for tonight.

I think yoga, the bubble bath and a cup of tea are calling my name!  And maybe a big salad since I’m craving the veggies that I missed out on today. 😀

Have a good night!  And happy “day before FRIDAY!”

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

6 thoughts on “Warning: Chaos!!

  1. Definitely have those kind of days too(I think today might have been one of those for me). There’s always a tomorrow, and it’s so much better when that tomorrow is followed by the weekend 🙂

  2. What a hectic day! I hope tomorrow runs more smoothly!

    And I’m the same way with structured eating. Sometimes I have snacks even when I’m not hungry because if I don’t I overeat at the next meal!

    And I have those same little cups! Their perfect for small portions!

  3. I am exactly the same, if I go more then 4+ hours without eating I am suddenly STARVING and can’t eat enough and usually bad food follows……I am not as good as you by any means, but I am striving to be! =)

    I have been off my usual “healthy” eating routine since the holidays and am struggling to get back on track this week. I swear I just can’t seem to get enough food this week…..=O……I am always hungry!

    Hopefully, next week will be better! =) Laura

Leave a Reply

