It’s just not right!

…to eat breakfast too quickly. 😉

This morning I woke up at 7:30, completely forgetting that it was Sunday.  Then, wham!  I looked at the clock, remembered that I needed to be ready in 1/2 hr. to leave with my dad for church, and leaped out of bed.  Let me rephrase that…I fell out of bed.  Another “wham” moment, only this one was quite literal.  Don’t worry, nothing was damaged, bruised or broken in the process. 😉

Once showered, I had about 15 minutes left to apply a bit of makeup, dry my hair throw my hair up in a ponytail, eat breakfast, and get dressed.  Somehow it all got done, while still managing to savor breakfast. 😀

Overnight Oats

  • 1/2 c. oats
  • 1/2 c. canned pumpkin
  • 1/3 c. milk
  • 1 banana, sliced
  • 1 T. raisins
  • cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves

The next morning, after a bowl of this mix had been sitting in the fridge overnight, I mixed in a 6-oz. container of plain yogurt and topped the bowl with 1/2 pumpkin muffin and a tsp of almond butter.  Twas delicious. 😀

I was off like a madwoman out the door, in an effort to avoid being late.  I do this a lot, actually.  But I’m rarely late because I worry so much that I will be late that I’m usually not. 😉

The frigid 10 degrees was why gypsy soup (click to see online recipe) was absolutely necessary.  It’s a great way to sneak in some veggies during the winter, especially when you make it yourself.  I like to go overboard on the veggies, because…well…why not? 😀  The only sub I use in this recipe is by using canned, diced tomatoes in place of the fresh.

Served with a warmed and crusty slice of delicious aritsan bread ‘n’ butter.

Perfect lunch for a chilly afternoon. 😀

Did I mention that Nicole and her husband bought a new house?  I couldn’t be more excited for them.  The house is gorgeous and isn’t too far away which means I can bike there in the summer months.  We’ll be practically neighbors! 😀

This afternoon, Nicole wanted to snap some shots of the home and introduce the kitties to the house before the official move-in date, so of course I tagged along.

At first Stitch and Highstreet were freaking out with all the new, wide open spaces and smells.  I don’t think it will be too long before they’re adjusted, happy kitties in their new home though. 😉

After spending some time at the house, Nicole and I headed to starbucks for a treat.  I ordered a tall soy misto, again…completely forgetting to order decaf!!  Goal of the week?  No more afternoon coffee!  There’s absolutely nothing wrong with coffee if you enjoy it and drink it in moderation.  My main reason for wanting to wean myself off of it is that I know it will be impossible to have that afternoon cup during school because of my schedule.  I’m better off facing the facts now instead of later. 😉

+ a delicious cortland on the side

The temperature was rapidly dropping and reached about 5 degrees by the time I arrived home.  Brrr!!  Still, though, I wanted to fit in at least a short walk.  My dad was nice enough to brave the cold with me, and we both bundled up for a quick, 1-1/2 mile walk.  Just enough to capture some fresh air and get the heart pumping.  We’re both speed walkers, so it was a s-p-e-e-d-y walk. 😉

Nothing but French toasts caught my fancy tonight, so French toasts it was! 😀

  1. Beet 1 egg with 1 egg white, 2 T. flax, splash of milk, 1 T. raisins, and cinnamon, nutmeg & cloves in a medium bowl.
  2. Douse 2 slices of whole wheat sourdough bread in the bowl on each side.
  3. Place in a hot skillet sprayed with cooking spray.  Cook until brown on one side, flip and cook until thoroughly cooked.

I like mine topped with jam and almond butter with a sprinkle of coconut. 😀

+ a juicy orange on the side

I feel like I’m positively freezing tonight, but I think I can deal considering we’re supposed to get 40 degree weather by the end of the week.  Excited?  Just a little.

Time for some tea and a snack! 😀

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

13 thoughts on “It’s just not right!

  1. Hi there, new to your blog, nice to meet you 🙂 I haven’t heard about gypsy soup in forever! I used to make it all the time when I was in high school, I think I will have to whip some up this week.

    *Check out my Yoga mat cover giveaway @ MonicaOnTheGo.com*

  2. I’m headed to the kitchen to make those overnight oats right after I submit this comment. Yummy.

    Sundays are always rushed breakfasts for me because I’m ALWAYS running late for church. I think I subconsciously think I have extra time because it’s the weekend…not true. 🙂

  3. Love all your eats, really, mmm!

    Rushing in the morning…I hate it too. I prefer sitting relaxed with my breakfast and a fresh newspaper:)

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  4. You know it’s the dead of winter when 40 degree weather starts too look downright tropical.

    Your gypsy soup looks so hearty and delicious, as does the bread you ate with it. Thanks for the recipe link! I love making soup in bulk during the winter months.

    Love the breakfast dinner! French toast is always such a yummy winner.

  5. I love making winter soups. I forget about putting garbonzo beans in though 😉 Kitties will love the new house and be running back and forth in no time. My cats were so happy once we moved out of an apartment into a house.

Leave a Reply

