Shoppin’ Till we Drop

One by one, I’m converting the family. 😉  Last night I popped a gingerbread breakfast cookie into the fridge for my mom and I, and she absolutely loved it. 

I ate mine with a glass of milk and a few cups of water.  We were both well fueled for a day of shopping. :mrgreen:

Tiny camera quality here!  I desparetly missed my canon, but decided I’d rather trump on the pic quality versus carrying anything bulky around the mall.  I needed more hand space to hold some shopping bags. 😉

On the drive down, I packed us each some snacks which included oranges…

…and almonds. 

My mom and I both shop till we drop, quite literally.  The only times we break are for lunch and coffee in order to refuel for more shopping. 😉  Today, in particular, there were tons of sales.  I was super good though, and only bought some makeup at Target and a pair of dressy jeans from the GAP. 😀

Lunch was a little later today—the sales kept our attention for a long time before we started realizing that our stomachs were growling.  Tradition says that we stop at Subways, the healthiest (and definitely tastiest) option available in the mall’s caf.  We split a bag of chips, and each ordered a milk with our 6″ chicken breast sandwich on honey oat with all the veggies (except jalapenos—I can’t take the heat!) and honey mustard.  It was tasty and filling to boot!

After a few more hours of shopping, it was time for a coffee break.  I was well prepared to order decaf, when mom started asking me what I recommended she order from Starbucks.  She’s not a fan of strong coffee and doesn’t like it sweet either.  I recommended the soy misto, which she ordered, then I went on to order my tall skinny cinnamon dolce latte before realizing that I completely (again!) forgot to order decaf.  This may become a problem, actually…haha. 

The cinnamon dolce latte was good, but I thought it was a little too sweet and syrupy.  My signature drink has always been the soy misto because I love how nutty and subtly sweet it is.  This flavor would probably suit my fancy more when I was craving something sweet though, so I’ll remember it for the future. 😉 

On the side we split a fresh fruit cup and bought a big bottle of water.  Refreshing!

By the end of our shopping trip, I was feeling pretty beet.  Not even shoe sales could drag me in. 😉  I’m glad I was able to find some pants and makeup—definitely a successful shopping trip! 😀  Mom found some adorable gray slacks and sweaters that were incredibly cheap at Banana Republic.  I love it when everyone finds something cute and nobody leaves empty handed.

On the drive home, I dug out a cortland and some carrot sticks to tide us over until dinner.

Home at last!  We both got right to work.  Mom made the sauteed cauliflower which was amazing—I love it when veggies get browned on the edges. 😀  These were cooked in a non-stick pan with cooking spray, salt and pepper. 

While mom chopped and cooked the cauliflower, I put together the last of the leftover pizza dough.  I had to improvise for both the sauce and the cheese, but both turned out pretty tasty.  I used a can of Hunts tomato sauce for the top, which I heated with some garlic powder, basil (lots of it) and oregno.  The cheese was a sliced cheesestick. 😉  It did the trick.

Easy peazy pizza.  And delicious. 😀

Still feeling a little hungry, I made a yogurt snack of 6oz. plain yogurt with 2 T. flax and granola on top. 

Biggest Loser is on tonight!  Time to put my pajamas on, make a snack and enjoy the rest of the night.  Hope you all had a Happy Tuesday! 😀

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

6 thoughts on “Shoppin’ Till we Drop

  1. Thanks for the comment on my blog 🙂
    I love “mom/daughter” shopping trips (sounds kind of cheesy). Going to the mall can be exhausting!
    I totally forgot about cauliflower; I haven’t seen it in the grocery store in months!

  2. FABULOUS DAY! i love all your healthy, good eats too…and subway is a definite staple when i am out and about and hungry.

    i just had a cinnamon french vanilla latte from caribou recently and it was WAY TOO SWEET! i could barely taste the coffee. next time, i think i am going to ask for less pumps of sweetener.

    happy day to you!

Leave a Reply

