Good Mornin’

Mornin! :mrgreen:

I woke up in such a great mood this morning, practically brimming with energy and excitement.  For what?  No idea!  I don’t think there was any reason other then the fact that it was a gorgeous morning and a 5-mile run was on my agenda.  Plus oats.  They always make for a happy morning. 😉

  • 1/4 c. each of oats and oatbran
  • 1 c. milk + 1/2 c. water
  • cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves
  • 1/2 apple diced (+ eating the other half while the oats were cookin’)
  • 1 T. raisins

With 1 T. walnuts, 2 T. pumpkin flax granola, and a tsp of almond buttah!

I realize that my pre-run snack of toasts and cashew butter is probably getting hum-drum, but it’s a pre-run snack that always works for me.   No cramps, lots of energy!

Speaking of toasts with nut butter, have any of you tried the Trader Joe’s Whole Wheat Artisan Sourdough bread?  It’s incredibly amazing, especially if you love sourdough.  It’s very chewy and doughy.  Love, love, love it! 😀

I was off in a flurry, into the 10 degree temperatures.  I spent the first couple miles trying to figure out my pace.  It was one of those runs, where I wanted to avoid running too fast (=burnout) without running too slow (=drag.)  I found my sweet spot around mile 3, and settled into the groove for the rest of the 5-miles.  It felt delicious on my legs. :mrgreen:

When I came home, I warmed up with a cup of hot chocolate mint tea with a juicy orange on the side.

I decided to wait until mom came home to eat lunch, and spent my morning cracking down on some internship stuff.  My application letter is really getting close to completion!  I emailed it to my English professor this afternoon, as she was kind enough to  review it for me.   I can not wait until I’ve finished this all up, and I can mail it in!!

By the time mom arrived home, I was ready for lunch! 😀

A toasted whole wheat wrap with 1/2 c. black beans and a slice of American cheese. 

 I topped it all off with warmed salsa and 1/4 an avocado.  On the side I had some carrot and pepper sticks for crunch and vitamins.

I think I may have eaten lunch a little too quickly, because I was still feeling a little empty afterwards.  I decided to break out 1/2 a banana with a bit of peanut butter.  Totally hit the spot! 😀

It began flurrying outside, but it wasn’t enough to deter an afternoon walk with mom!  We bundled up in countless layers, and took a brisk 3-mile stroll around town.  It was chilly but refreshing.

I was feeling a bit grumbly in the stomach after our afternoon walk, and I made myself a bowl of fruit cereal. 

  • 1 diced anjou pear
  • 1/2 sliced banana
  • 1 T. crushed flax
  • 1/2 c. warmed milk…just enough to get the chill out!
  • splash of vanilla

There are still endless leftovers in the freezer, and I’m happily finishing off a bunch of things this week.  I love watching the freezer and fridge grow increasingly empty…haha. 😀

I heated up some brown rice and topped it with some Turkish Carrots and Lentils, chopped tomatoes, and some diced celery.  I love this Cooking Light dish, but I always end up adding a little somethin’, somethin’ when I go around to making it.  Last time I mixed in some salsa.  This time I added the leftover tomato sauce from last night’s pizza toppings.  It was perfect.  I just think the recipe needs some more tomatoes and spice! 

Off to make a snack and have a cup of tea!  The woodstove isn’t on right now, and it’s absolutely freezing inside.  Layers of clothes and lots of tea…mucho needed!!! 😉

Happy Hump Day!! 😀

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

10 thoughts on “Good Mornin’

  1. I wish there was a TJs over here! I don’t think I’ve ever seen a whole wheat sourdough bread.
    I’m still amazed that you run in such frigid temps. I’m such a baby! And I miss running outside 😦

    • I think the secret is dressing for the cold! I wear layers of socks, a windbreaking shirt & gloves, fleece hat, etc. I look pretty silly when I go out, but at least I stay dry and warm! 😉

    • I picked it up at a horse fair when I was younger. I love it too, and wish I could find the person who made them, because I would totally buy more items from the set. 😀

  2. Yay! You are getting so close with the application!

    I LOVE it when I wake up feeling like that! Hmm, it usually IS when I know I get to work out right away! “delicious on my legs” – love it!

  3. Your snack looks so yummy! I still have yet to try warm fruit cereal.. I know whenever I eat regular cereal I always warm the milk! I kind of like my cereal mushy. LOL

  4. So glad you had a great run! To answer your question about the Gu, it depends on the flavor for me. Plus, since I keep it either in my sports bra (gross I know) or in the mini-pocket of my shorts, they are usually pretty warm and warm = gross. LOL. I feel they really work for the longer runs!

    • Thanks! I’ll have to give the different flavors a try then. 😀 Oh, and not gross at all. A runners gotta do what a runners gotta do. 😉

Leave a Reply

