Thankful Thursday

Today I’m thankful for…

not always being in control of everything.  A gentle reminder from God. 😉

…big bowls of apples ‘n’ oats.

…and almond butter.  Always thankful for almond butter.

…a strong body that is capable of carring me on my runs.  Today was a 5, followed by a rest day tomorrow.  Don’t dwell on the flaws, girls and guys.  Remember what your body can do!

…pre-run snacks that don’t give cramps but do give energy.

…feeling the warmth of the sun during a winter’s run.

…being resourceful enough to literally use the last of what was in the fridge (almost 1/2 c. black beans, a lil’ salsa and some celery) before going shopping.

…hodge-podge lunches that come out healthy and tasty (above combo heated and topped with avocado + half a sweet potato, roasted.)

…juicy oranges that have the amazing ability to help our bodies absorb iron (especially important for vegetarians or people who don’t eat a whole lot of meat.)

…the time to sit down and enjoy a simple meal. 

 …going grocery shopping and restocking the fridge, while staying within the budget!

…cute elderly people who smile and chat with me at the grocery store. 😀

…old food favorites I haven’t had in ages (ie, whipped cottage cheese.)  I made it into my afternoon snack with 1/2 c. kashi heart to heart and a small dab of peanut butter.

…perfect pears (snack #2).    Literally the last fruit in the fruit tray before I restocked from the grocery store. 😀

…each member of my family, who continuosly make me smile. 😀

…warm, cozy, valentine heart socks from mom. :mrgreen:

…easy peasy dinners that require one pan while also using leftovers (last of the bread!)  2 slices of whole wheat sourdough bread–thanks TJ’s!–with a black bean chipotle Gardenburger, a couple slices of tomato, lettuce and a slice of American cheese.  Melted and gooey.  Quick and easy.  Perfect for when dinner needs to get on the table now.

..big salads that keep me guessing what the next bite will be.  Yellow bell peppers?  Sliced black olives?  Betterthencandy sweet cherry tomatoes?  Yes please!

…receiving fun packages in the mail.  Endangered Species Chocolate sent me a box full of goodies.  I told them how much I love Organic Green and Black dark chocolate, and how I couldn’t wait to taste their brand as well.  First on the list?  Chocolate ‘n’ peanut butter!

…that very first bite of a chocolate square.  It’s always the best, which is why one square is perfect for samplin’.  I really enjoyed this flavor, but a full review is coming tomorrow! 😀

…warm tea and night-time snacks.

…receiving helpful advice from my English professor so that I can finally put together my final draft of the application letter!

…girly movies with mom.

…realizing it’s the last night before Dad comes home from his business trip. 😀

What are you thankful for today?

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

11 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday

  1. Great things to be thankful for. that lunch looks like Mexican fiesta food!
    I was not a big fan of that milk chocolate bar; I could barely tasted the peanut butter. The dark chocolate was so much better imo

  2. I loved this post! The Lord has quite a way of revealing his love through such simple things in life like cereal and cold weather! Your motto of living every moment to it’s fullest is always such a nice reminder in my day. Thanks Sarah!

  3. Haha, that is a controversial thanksgiving…but I totally know what you mean. Actually, if everything was under my control…well, God help us all. It’s best to leave everything up to the perfect and wonderful God!

    Mmm…chocolate. These days, I’m starting to really appreciate a good bar of chocolate!

  4. I love how your thankful for the little things.. it’s a good reminder!

    And I love your cottage cheese combo! For some strange reason the saltiness goes really good with peanut butter..mmm..

  5. Love that bowl! And some great things to be thankful for…
    I’m thankful today for this blogging community and my recovery:)

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  6. Gah, I’ve been trying to hard to realize that I’m not “in the driver’s seat” of my life lately…I need to start being THANKFUL for that fact instead of resenting it sometimes!! Thanks for the reminder1

    I’m so thankful for my family, words can’t even express. Animals included. 😉

Leave a Reply

