Lunch Ideas?

Happy Martin Luther King Day! 😀

With today being my very last day of winter vacation, and tomorrow being the first day of my last semester (ahhh!!!) I wanted to have the most laid-back and relaxed morning possible.  A big bowl of a yogurt mess was exactly what I was in the mood for…

  • 6-oz. plain, nonfat yogurt
  • 2 T. crushed flax
  • 1 c. kashi heart to heart
  • 1 banana, sliced
  • 2 T. almonds
  • 1/2 a whole wheat ‘n’ raisin muffin

Very crunchy.  Very delicious. 😀

After a morning cup of coffee and cracking down on some more internship stuff, I grabbed a snack and decided to head out for a run.  I was doubtful of how far I would actually make it, based on the 5 inches of snow and slush.  But once I was out, I just wanted to keep running.  I took advantage of it, since the new school week can sometimes drain me of motivation and energy.  May as well kick it into high gear when I’m feeling upbeat and energetic! 😉

When I came home from a 6-mile run, I grabbed some water and an apple to rehydrate. 😀

The star of today’s lunch were the roasted beets sitting on top.  One bite, and I was immediately taken back to autumn’s harvest.  Mmmm…bliss.  :mrgreen: So earthy.  Also included in the salad:

  • mesculin greens, carrots, tomatoes, cucumbers, orange bell peppers, black olives, broccoli, cauliflower, red onions, and 1/2 c. black beans. 
  • dressing: 1 tsp each of olive oil, balsamic, and orange juice + garlic powder and dry mustard. 

+ kashis on the side.  Haven’t had these in forever!

+ dessert

Mom and I managed to sneak in an afternoon 3-mile walk just as the sun started to peak out.  It even reached 40 degrees!  Obviously, it would have been just wrong not to enjoy some sunshine. 😉

Afterwards, I was off to Nicole’s house for a quick drive-by visit.  I can’t get over how adorable the house is.  Already it’s beginning to feel more and more like their home, as they add their own personal touches.  It was fun stopping by for a quick “hello.”

Once home, out came the mixed nuts, while I prepared dinner…

This is not a repeat picture.

But this is a repeat dinner.

What’s a girl to do with a big bowl of leftovers in the fridge?  I hate wasting things, and will do just about anything to avoid it.  Hence the grilled cheese…

And the last of the vegetable chowder.  At least the leftovers tasted amazing. 😉

I snatched a peice of Endangered Species Chocolate ‘n’ Peanut Butter for dessert.   I’m still having the same feelings as originally.  Tasty and sweet, but no hint of peanut butter!

Current favorite night-time snack: cottage cheese with 1/2 a whole wheat pumpkin ‘n’ raisin muffin with a pat of peanut butter.  Never gets old!

Here’s a call for help:

I need ideas on healthy, nutritious, and easy lunch ideas!!  Unfortunetly, I have a few requirements, but if you’re willing to help a girl out, I could use some of your creative juices to help me think of some school lunches! 😀

Here are the requirements!

  • Easily transportable without needing to be chilled.
  • Mostly stays quiet when you eat it.
  • Doesn’t smell funny (for the sake of fellow classmates 😉 )
  • Healthy.

Any ideas? 😀

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

17 thoughts on “Lunch Ideas?

  1. beautiful beautiful eats! that yogurt mess looks to die for. congrats on starting your last semester! easy, healthy, lunch idea: a good old pbj with banana on wheat bread. soft, easy to chew softly, non smelly, easy to transport! not to mention a healthful treat 🙂

    • Love it! For sure, pbj with banana sandwiches are going to find their way into the lunch cycle. They’re so portable, satisfying, healthy and tasty. 😀

      Thanks!

  2. Since I travel a lot for work, I do have some ideas for good lunches to bring-

    a whole wheat wrap with spinach, veggies, hummus, laughing cow. Roll up in aluminum foil.

    Bring a tupperware with roasted veggies, baked tofu, rice, etc.

    Any leftovers from the night before! Stir fry’s are great. THey dont really need to be refridgerated from the time you leave in the AM to lunchtime.

    Yogurt/granola/fruit combos.

    Hmm i will keep thinkin! 🙂

    • Thanks so much for the ideas! I love the tupperware idea with roasted veggies, baked tofu and rice. That sounds absolutely perfect. Adding it to my list of lunch ideas for next week! 😀

  3. For lunch, I’d say a sandwich with protein and avocado, or chickpeas in some tupperware with vegetables that you could eat plain or simmer in some sauce, or a whole wheat bagel with cream cheese or peanut butter,

  4. 1st off I am a nutrition student too, and I luckily stumbled about upon your blog about 1 week ago. You really seem to understand so much about balance, good food, and health, and I’ve really enjoyed reading your posts. 🙂 It’s hard to think of lunches quickly, but for an example I made a soup to take tomorrow with Wasa fiber crackers and a cheese stick. I love to make veg sandwiches with natural nut butters, mashed beans, or toasted nuts/seeds, leftovers as a previous person said, and so on. The choices are limitless! 🙂 I hope you find something delicious and fullfilling and have a wonderful 1st day back!

    • Thanks so much for the kind comments, Kori! 😀

      I never thought of bringing soup along, but that’s totally doable since I have a smaller-sized thermos…it would be the perfect winter’s lunch. 😀 Thanks!

  5. lunch ideas: wraps with veggies, tofu, any meat or faux meat, hummus, or beans. PB&J, almonds, carrots, healthy bars, homemade protein breads, salads…lunch in class is hard because some classes are super quiet! I have no shame sitting in class and loudly crunching carrots! 🙂 I LOVE your dessert!!! I hope you have a great tuesday! xoxo!

  6. Hi. I just started reading your blog and I love it, thanks so much! I tend to eat and cook pretty healthy but only strive to become a runner like you are. I too am a senior about to finish up college, and I’m about to begin student teaching full time in an elem. school, so I understand your lunch plight!

    I think I’m going to pack a yogurt (greek maybe!) with oats or fiber one, nut butter, dried fruit and maybe a sprinkle of walnuts along with a handful of carrots for lunch. I am also going to try, for the sake of variety, to make a big batch of slow-cook chili/stew on Sunday to package up for the week.

    I hope this helps and thanks again for the blog.

    • Thank you so much, Cathy, for all the kind comments! 😀 You totally made my day.

      I love the idea of cooking ahead during the weekend and planning for the week. I could fit in a lot more nutritious meals if I think ahead, especially with foods like chili’s and stews (that sounds lovely!)

      Thanks again and I wish you the best with your senior year and student teaching!! 😀

  7. I’ve been looking for ideas too! I almost always take PB/AB&J on Ezekiel bread since its portable, doesnt require reheating, and I can eat it while doing other things, sigh!

  8. Love those eats!

    For lunch: I love sandwiches in every form. Experiment with breads (brown, rye, pumpernickel…) and shapes (slices, foccacia, ciabatta, buns, soft rolls, baguettes) and…with the fillings of course (for instance: a nice cheese with some veggies and chutney… or hummus with roasted peppers and avocado)

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  9. Congrats on 9 miles in one day! I agree…time to use up all that energy while you have it.
    I’ll have to pack a lunch this semester too. Some ideas:
    Sandwiches
    Veggies, crackers, etc. dipped in hummus/nut butter
    Left-over pizza, pasta salad, oatmeal (overnight oats to-go)
    Left-overs…left-overs…

Leave a Reply

