Getting Used to the Times

Still working on figuring out the best time for myself to wake up in the morning. 😉  I’m most productive in the early (not too early!) AM, so I’d like to take advantage of that.  This morning, I wanted to:

  • Finish some reading assignments for school.
  • Go for a 4-mile run.
  • Read some blogs.
  • Eat breakfast at a normal pace. :mrgreen:

The reading assignments somehow ended up on the back burner, so to speak.  This was after getting up at 6:30, so I’m thinking 6 o’clock may be the sweet spot.  😉

Time for breakfast!

A super ripe banana makes a world of difference in texture and taste.  This one was perfect. 😀

Despite feeling a little short on time, I still fit in my 4-mile run this morning.  And thank goodness for that!  I felt a little chaotic this morning, rushing around like a madwoman to get things done and make myself organized for today’s classes.  Why, oh why, do I not get this done at night-time the day before?  Another resolution to add to my list! :mrgreen:

Anyways, back to the point.  My run slowed me down as only a run can do.  I love how strong and confident I feel afterwards.  You can’t beat that feeling! 😀

There was a pre-run snack, of course. 😉

There was a thick layer of ice on my car windows this morning, so I started the car for a good 10 minutes before I actually had to leave.  Meanwhile, I munched on a snack.  Yogurt and 2 T. flax with granola.  This will never, ever grow old.  So tasty!  I also love how the protein in the yogurt keeps me full after a morning workout.

Lunch involved last night’s quinoa casserole bake, which actually tasted really good chilled.  Not to mention how clean and quiet it was to eat in Management Class.  We actually watched snippets of The Office, so it made for a very enjoyable lunch. 😉

Also in my packed lunch, I brought along an orange.  The pear and mixed nuts were saved for later in the afternoon as a snack, and I munched on the veggies during the long drive home. 

I hope you’re not tired of me singing the praises of Moosewood Cookbook, because I’m at it again. :mrgreen:

What can I say, I’m absolutely in love.  And this is by far one of my favorite soups in the book.  It’s called White Bean and Black Olive Soup (click for the recipe!)  The flavors are so simple but amazing, and the overall dish could be categorized as comfort food.  Seriously. 

Served with 2 small slices of homemade whole wheat bread–courtesy of mom–with a pat of butter. 😀

+ dessert was the last of the cherry dark chocolate bar from Endangered Species.

I feel as if I’m in limbo stage with running right now.  Not really sure if I’m training for a half marathon in the early summer or late fall makes it difficult to know if I want to be increasing my mileage or not.  I’m feeling really comfortable with my current weekly mileage, but I know it’s going to have to go up a bit once training officially begins. 

I’m off to make a snack with cottage cheese and heart to heart cereal, with a bit of peanut butter.  I’m still feeling hung-ary! :mrgreen:

Fun Question of the Night: If you had only three words to describe your personality, what would they be? 

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

7 thoughts on “Getting Used to the Times

  1. great job having such a productive morning. i am lucky to make it to work on time~ never could run in the AM. i admire you!! great looking quinoa. dang.. 3 words? sarcastic. optimistic. happy. have a great weekend, girl! xoxoxo

  2. Don’t worry about the 1/2 marathon! If you decide to train for it, you can increase the mileage when you need to 🙂
    3 words to describe my personality: down-to-earth…I guess that’s 3 words haha

  3. even though you were super busy, your eats are still FAB! dont you love a ripe nanner? it DOES make all the diffuerence! great job on gettnig the run in!
    1. social/friendly
    2. motivated
    3. caring

  4. I agree, you can’t beat that post-run feeling. Also, I want some of that soup so badly…right now. And it’s only 9:40am.

    In three words: organized, sweet, hungry.

  5. I know what you mean about finding the right time to get up in the AM. 6am isn’t too bad. I think in order to get things rolling, I’m going to have to get up at 5am now that school will be back in session. Ugh. 😀

    Three words: Driven, Smart, Happy

    P.S. I’m having my very first Eat Move Write contest for exotic fruit bars. I’m excited. Check it out, if you can! xoxo

Leave a Reply

