Blog Focus?

I decided today, that I’d really like for this blog to start taking on a bit more nutrition topics.  I mean, why not, right?  I’m not exactly sure which direction that means, but I’d like the input of my readers.  What are your thoughts?  Should I make more comments about why I choose the foods I do?  Should I keep writing the way I do and only include “special edition” nutrition topics?  Should I stop asking questions and just start blogging already?  :mrgreen:  Really, I want to know what you guys think!  And I always appreciate honesty. 😀

7:00

It’s going to be really, really nice having Mondays and Fridays off this semester.  I woke up this morning, realizing that today felt like a Saturday.  And best of all is that Sunday will seem like a Saturday.  Love that! 😀  Of course, I still have to make sure I’m productive with homework and the rest of life, so I woke myself up at a reasonable hour and made breakfast!

A whole wheat bagel with 1 T. almond butter and a banana, with a glass of milk and lots of water.  Absolutely delicious.  It immediately brought me back to the morning of the 10k race, which now seems so long ago! 😀

10:00

Strength training has been going well.  Mind you, it’s really only the second time this week that I fit it in, but I’m feeling like this will easily become a habit of mine.  I had a hard time just getting started, but once I started moving and sweating, I felt really, really good.  I believe in setting mini-goals that are attainable.  Two strength training sessions a week are completely doable for me, so that’s what I’m starting with. 😀

Afterwards, I snacked on a 6-oz container of plain, fat-free yogurt with 2 T. crushed flax and some pumpkin flax granola on top.

12:00

I don’t know why, but this salad tasted simply amazing.  I think I was craving fresh greens for lunch!

  • carrot
  • cucumbers
  • tomatoes
  • red onions
  • green olives
  • 1 tsp each of balsamic, olive oil, orange juice and garlic powder + dry mustard

Sorry for the leftovers!  What can I say, I have this drive to be as economical as possible.  I get a crazy satisfaction out of it. :mrgreen:

+ dessert

3:30

It felt good to walk this afternoon.  I was feeling mildly grumpy after too many hours of being cooped up on the couch with my schoolbooks.  The material was incredibly interesting (Nutrition Counseling) but I felt achy and sore—desparately needing to stretch and move.  An afternoon walk can feel so therapeutic sometimes. :mrgreen:

I was starving upon my return, and broke into the mixed nuts.  A small handful goes a long way in keeping me full.  Especially when paired with a fruit—this orange was so incredibly juicy and sweet!

Dinner, I admit, looks rather sorry.  Blame it on the low lighting!  But honestly, it tasted delicious.  I took a Turkey Meat Pie recipe from Cooks Illustrated Light, and used the leftover turkey meat from Thanksgiving!  I love how convenient that made this meal.  On the side I sauteed a bunch of beet greens (which don’t actually amount to much once they’ve cooked down!) with a dollop of cranberry sauce.

I went back for seconds.  This meal could definitely use a bulky side dish to make it more substantial.  Asparagus or roasted brussels sprouts maybe? 😀

I noticed that caring was one of the major personality traits that you all listed for yourselves.  Love that!  From what I’ve seen, I’ll bet that a vast majority of food bloggers are caring people. 😀

(p.s. I’m making a yogurt snack while we speak.)

(p.s.s. It’s FRIDAY! :mrgreen: )

Happy weekend!

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

13 thoughts on “Blog Focus?

  1. I think you should blog how you want to blog. It is yours afterall 😀 But I definitely wouldn’t mind hearing random nutritional factoids about the food you eat, even if they’re randomly interspersed. I’m definitely a nutrition nerd for things like that

  2. I think you should do what your feeling at the moment with the blog! If your feeling like typing up why you choose the foods you choose or a nutrition tip go with the flow! 🙂

    No worries about the leftovers.. all my food is pretty redundant!

  3. I think your blog is perfect already, but it wouldn’t hurt if you added nutrition facts too. 🙂 I think that right now, you really appeal to people who already have a nutrition foundation. They know why you eat what you’re eating and appreciate the ideas / support you offer. By adding more nutrion info, you’d probably draw in a different crowd — people who want to eat healthy but don’t really know how to make the best food choices. Whatever you decide to do, I’m sure it will be great!

  4. Hi!
    Just wanted to let you know that I LOVE reading your blog! Its great the way it is but nutrition facts are always fun too =) and it’ll help you remember this stuff for school too!
    Have an awesome weekend!

  5. Hey girl…ive never commented on your blog before but i think its awesome! your daily always look amazing and healthy and your photography of the meals is even better!! i think your blog is great as is but adding nutritional facts/tidbits would be awesome also!

    Erika

  6. I think you should do whatever feels right to you. It is YOUR blog and if you are getting the feeling that you want to put more nutrition information in because that is what is on your mind these days, then do it! Your blog is awesome right now but you want to do whatever makes you ENJOY blogging the most. 🙂

  7. Keep doin’ whatcha doin’ !! Your food looks all so beautifulll and yummy 🙂 Add little nutritional tidbits here and there though, if you want!!

    That salad does look so fresh–i’ve been dying to try your little dressing concoction, but will have to wait till i’m home with all the supplies!

  8. It would be great to read more nutrition tips as you learn them! I don’t think you have to explain why you eat what you do, just maybe list some fun facts from time to time.

Leave a Reply

