Shhh…it’s a secret!

The SECRET to a filling breakfast:

Combine protein with fiber and include a bit of fat.  You can’t go wrong! 😀  This morning I wanted a super filling bowl of oats to hold me over during a weekend long-run, so I went with this combo:

  • 1/4. c. each of oatbran and oats
  • 1 c. milk + 1/2 c. water
  • cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves
  • 1 smallish apple, diced
  • 1 T. raisins
  • 2 egg whites

On top I added 2 T. walnuts and some granola.  It was such a fluffy bowl of oats. :mrgreen:

My three SECRETS of success for today’s long run.

  1. A snack.  Even if you’re not thinking you’ll be gone that long, it’s wise to bring something along if you’re going to be out for an hour or more.  Today I stashed a handful of cheerios with about 2 T. of raisins and cranberries. 
  2. A cellphone.  You never know when you’re going to need it.  And, being a girl, I feel a little safer with it.  I stowed both the snack and cell in my running mittens for easy portablity. 😀
  3. A good support team.  My dad was awesome enough to drive out and meet me at mile 7, which is when he brought some water and checked up on me to make sure I was okay.  It helps to have that support! 😀

Mile 1-3: I was running behind a three-some of runners who were keeping my pace.  It was nice having that landmark in sight, which got my mind off of trying to figure out my personal pace.  I just stayed with them at a comfortable pace.

Mile 3-6: This part of the run was so level, and I loved every second of not having hills! :mrgreen:  I took advantage of it, but didn’t increase my pace too much because I wanted to conserve my energy!

Mile 7: Dad met up with me to bring some water, and that’s when I took half of my packed snack which seemed to give me a surge of energy.  I’m not sure if that was psychological or my body was actually reacting that quickly to the energy, but it sure felt good!

Mile 8-10: I actually felt kind of numb by this point.  I wasn’t tired mentally or physically, but I didn’t feel much of anything else either.  It was kind of a limbo stage of not really knowing how I was feeling.  I ate the rest of my snack and kept running towards home.

Mile 10-11.5: By this point, I was still feeling energetic but definitely starting to feel fatigued.  My knees started to ache a little, and my calves were starting to get tired.  Thankfully, I conquered the last of the big hills and was on my last stride home!

I ended right when I needed to, I think.  I felt pretty good overall, but the run was also a lot longer then I thought it was going to be (I was aiming for 8-10.) 

The SECRET to refueling.

Don’t overthink it, but do focus on attaining a balance of carbs and protein after a hard workout.  Milk (regular or chocolate) has been shown to be one of the greatest recovery drinks after a workout because it has that “perfect” balance of proteins and carbs.  For an especially hard workout, you might even consider adding 1/2 a peanut butter sandwich to the mix.

I happen to love a cold yogurt snack after I run.  I went with 6-oz. plain yogurt and added 2 T. crushed flax, a little granola and a dollop of cranberry sauce.  Perfect! 😀

The SECRET to a fun afternoon.

Hang out with the people who make you smile! 😀

My sister is my best friend because not only does she know me so well, I can be completely myself with her.  I was going to treat her to Panera with my giftcard, but it turns out the machines were down today!!  Nicole ended up whipping out the money and paying for both of us.  THANK you Nicole!!  I owe you lunch. :mrgreen:

I ordered the black bean soup with a Mediterranean Veggie sandwich on their tomato-basil bread and an apple on the side.  Everything was delicious, of course! 

The SECRET to Nicole and Nate’s happy marriage.

Having a whole lot of heart. 😉 

We stopped at Target this afternoon and saw these humungous pillows.  We both wanted one!! :mrgreen:

The SECRET to not being a bottomless pit.

Mini-snacks!

Whenever I get that bottomless pit feeling at the end of the day, it’s usually because I didn’t fuel enough throughout the course of the day.  I pay close attention to eating when I’m hungry, especially on the day of a long run.  That usually means having a couple of snacks rather then just one large meal.

Snack #1: orange and almonds

Snack #2: cottage cheese and 1/2 a whole wheat pumpkin ‘n’ raisin muffin

The SECRET to eating (and loving) your veggies

If you have a hard time finding ways to incorporate new veggies into your diet, give vegetable soup a try!  You can make it as creative as you want it to be, and don’t be afraid to double the veggies that the recipe actually calls for.

Have you ever tried a vegetable that you were sure you would hate but ended up loving?  I used to feel disgusted over even the sight of a brussels sprout, back in the day when steaming them was the only way we cooked them.  Once I tasted a roasted sprout, there was no going back and I was forever in love. :mrgreen:

My dinner entailed White Bean and Black Olive soup, courtesy of Moosewood Cookbook, with two small slices of toasted homemade wheat bread ‘n’ butter.

The SECRET to satisfying the sweet tooth

Ever find yourself half-heartedly eating a gingersnap cookie while wishing you could dive into a warm chocolate chip cookie?  Ever tell yourself that you postively can not have that slice of cake and find yourself thinking about it all day long?

It’s okay to eat what you love.  The key is to really think about what it is that you want and have a smaller portion of it.  When you hit all the right notes, it doesn’t take much to satisfy.  The balance of not having too many temptations around the house but also allowing yourself to eat a little when you really want something takes practice.  But many people have found success in this form of intuitive eating, and you can too!

I broke off a small square of Endangered Species dark chocolate with orange for dessert.  The flavors keep on getting better with each bar!  This flavor was fantastic!  And exactly what I wanted, so a square did the trick. 😀

Off to make a snack and watch Rachael Getting Married.  Has anyone seen it?  I don’t know what to expect from it!

Happy Saturday!

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

13 thoughts on “Shhh…it’s a secret!

  1. Wonderful post today!! That is so neat that your dad checked up on you during your run. What a supportive father! 🙂

    And that pillow is too neat! I’d use it to lay on the floor and play on my laptop! haha

  2. Loved this! I am jealous that you are able to eat oats before long runs. I literally can eat a SMALL bit of nut butter or dry toast – even if it is 3 hours before, it always comes back up :-(. Plus, I recently got into this “refuling” thing…I just started eating after workouts (like 30 min. after) and I haven’t seen any effects yet (positive or negative) – so I suppose I will keep that up! Thank you for the tips about that…milk seems like something I could do easily.

  3. Definitely a great combo for a breakfast to hold ya over all morning! My favorite part: the fat! I love peanut butter with breakfast and it tides me over until morning snack!

  4. Congrats on the run 😀 I always eat oatmeal before a long run- it gives you so much energy!

    I felt the same way about brussel sprouts! They have such a bad rep and I avoided them for the longest time until I tried one and I actually liked it! Especially roasted 🙂

  5. Your day sounded like it certainly was a great one. Congrats on doing so well on your run! 🙂 I love love love brussels sprouts, so I’m glad you’ve discovered their deliciouness too. 😉 My boyfriend and I watched Rachel Getting Married, and we personally didn’t really like it. What did you think of it?

  6. Aww I loved this post! How sweet of your dad to meet you during your run–that’s serious support!! I saw Rachel Getting Married—it wasn’t what I expected at all!

  7. oh, this may be one of my fave posts! first, CONGRATS on the run! that is awesome and amazing!

    second, love the heart/tarjay pic 🙂

    third, rachel getting married IS good. its definitely an indy film, does not have a “happy” ending – i LOVED it.

    fourth, your secrets are fab.

    fifth, i want one of everything you ate.

    happy weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

