Doin’ the Friday Dance!

I’ve decided to not call Fridays my “day off” even though technically they are.  This morning I reminded myself that I still had a ton of homework to do, not to mention putting in some more time to work on my dietetic internship essay and application.  This gentle reminder prevented me from (A) sleeping in and (B) meandering aimlessly through my morning.  Chop, chop—no time to waste! 😉

Breakfast was scrumptious.  There’s something wonderful about a hearty, whole wheat bagel with peanut butter.  It keeps me full for hours, and it’s so doughy and dense.  Today I topped it with about a tablespoon of peanut butter and 3/4 of a very large banana…

…and used the rest of the banana to top off my bowl of yogurt ‘n’ flax, along with some blackberries.

I guzzled a ton of water too…don’t know what it is, but I can not get in enough fluids today!

Like I said, it was definitely a very productive morning.  I conquered most of my application requirements, converting all the credits to grade points which was surprisingly time consuming!  I also fit in 30 minutes of strength training for my abs and arms.  I’m pretty sure I’ll be feeling the effects tomorrow. 😉  I was sweating bullets by the end!

After a sweaty morning workout, I went with some juicy honeydew and a cheesestick for a refreshingly light snack.

However, it didn’t take long for me to start feeling chilly again.  It was exactly zero degrees outside all morning long, with a wind chill factor of -15.  Not even the warmth from the fireplace could hide this freezing fact! 

Soup?  Yes, that was exactly what I was in the mood for when lunch rolled around.  Homemade Mushroom and Barley soup to be exact! 😀  Unfortunately there’s a copyright law on it, and I can’t reprint it! 😦  But I can say that the base is chicken broth with some carrots and celery, and that there is a whole lot of garlic, barley and sliced baby Portobello mushrooms going on in there!  Simplicity is key with this soup!  White beans were added towards the end for a lil’ mor protein too.

On the side, I grilled an extremely garlic-infused hummus.  I think being deprived of garlic while at school makes me crave it when I’m home.  Knowing that I can have it makes me go overboard. :mrgreen:  I mashed up 1/2 c. garbanzos, added some cumin and a ton of garlic powder, and splashed on some lemon juice with a bit of water to form a paste.  Topped with lettuce and tomato, in between a slice of whole wheat sourdough bread from Trader Joes. 

Such a satisfying lunch!

+ dessert

I’m pretty sure I’ve mentioned my mom’s insane bread making abilities before, but I think today tops her ‘best breads’ list.  This French baguette was incredible!

I took a slice with a pat of butter.  Talk about the perfect baguette.  Crisp on the outside, so doughy on the inside…yum!

I decided to make that my afternoon snack, and included a handful of almonds so that it would hold me over until dinner. 😀

Tonight’s dinner entailed two of my favorite veggies: roasted turnips and pan-sauteed brussells sprouts. 

+ brown rice…

+ swordfish.

Here’s the scoop on swordfish.  I don’t recommend eating it, especially in high amounts, due to the high mercury levels.  And don’t eat it at all if you’re pregnant, plan on becoming pregnant, or nursing…and young children should also avoid it completely.  The good news, at least, is that the National Fisheries Service claims that there is no longer an overfishing problem on swordfish.  I still don’t like to include it as a weekly or monthly meal (obviously, due to the mercury contamination!) but it’s one of dad’s favorite fish, and it’s been years since we had it last.  I figured it wouldn’t be the end of the world as long as we kept the portions small. 😉

Dad braved the zero degrees outside to cook it up on the grill, and we all enjoyed a delicious candlelit meal.  😀

I hope you’re all participating in the weekly Friday Dance! :mrgreen:

I’m off to make a snack and enjoy a movie in my pj’s near the warm fireplace.  It’s so nice to have a relaxing Friday night after a busy week! 😀

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

10 thoughts on “Doin’ the Friday Dance!

  1. All of the delicious bread in this post is making me want to make my own!
    I’ve probably mentioned this before…but Fridays are “off days” for me too 🙂 Although I wasn’t nearly as productive

  2. Now you’ve got me craving bread! haha.

    And yay for strength training! I hope your not too sore today!

    I never even knew people ate swordfish! What does it taste like?

  3. Yikes, I’m glad I haven’t ever made swordfish for me and Nate. I had no idea it had lots of mercury in it! It used to be my favorite fish, but now I’m in love with salmon!!

  4. I’m with you on the relaxing Friday nights. I fell asleep on the couch at 9:30…already in my jammies. 😉

    Good to know about the swordfish! I’ve never tried it before, but you made it look delicious – in small amounts of course.

Leave a Reply

