Attack of the Appetite

I woke up absolutely starving this morning.  It’s funny, because I was reading this article the other day from a reputable scientific nutrition journal, and they were talking about the possible reasons of why we tend to eat less on the days that we work out.  Many people claim that they’re just not hungry on the same day as working out, and the hunger usually hits within the next few days.  Although the hows and whys of it went undetermined in the article, I have to say…this article does not relate to me!  I eat a lot on the same day that I workout, in response to a huge increase in hunger. 

How about you?  Do you tend to eat a lot after working out or does the appetite “hit” after a few days?

Anyways, back to my morning hunger issues. :mrgreen:  I resolved that problem with a big bowl of banana oats.  I added in some flax this morning, and I have to say I really loved the addition!  It thickened the entire bowl and added a nice touch of “nuttiness.” 

  • 1/4 c. each of oatmeal and oatbran
  • 1 c. milk + 1/2 c. water
  • cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves
  • 1 large banana (1/4 saved for the top!)
  • 2 T. crushed flax (stirred in towards end of cooking time)
  • toppings: 1/4 banana, 2 T. flax, scoop of peanut butter

After breakfast and church, I met up with Nicole to head over to Target.  I’ve been running low on all kinds of necessities (shampoo, mouthwash, etc.) at the same time, so little by little I’m attempting to restock the supplies! :mrgreen:  Nicole and I also had to stop at Starbucks because we are equally in love with the Skinny Cinnamon Dolce Latte.  It was the perfect cup of warmth for a chilly morning. 😀

I arrived home literally seconds before my dad did.  Thankfully we were both in the mood for the same lunch—larger then life salads!

  • mesculin greens
  • carrot
  • 1/2 tomato
  • 1/2 cucumber
  • 1/2 c. black beans
  • 1/2 c. whipped cottage cheese
  • salsa
  • green olives
  • 1 tsp olive oil

+ kashis on the side.  I love adding a teaspoon or so of olive oil to my salads for healthy fats and flavor.  Salads are loaded with healthy vitamins, but many of them are in the form of what is called fat soluble vitamins (vitamin A, D, E and K.)  That means that your body can only use them if there’s a little bit of fat in your meal (think vitamin A in carrots, vitamin K in kale, etc.)  Skip the fat free dressings and add a splash of healthy oils for a boost of flavor and health! 😀

I saved dessert for later in the afternoon and couldn’t resist taking a bite before snapping the pic. :mrgreen:

Afternoon snack:

  • 6-oz plain yogurt
  • 2 T. crushed flax
  • 1/2 c. cheerios
  • 1 tsp cashew butter

Mmm, mmm…eaten in one of my silliest mugs. :mrgreen:

Time to make the simplest pizza dough ever!  Seriously.  I am no bread maker, so if I can make this—anyone can!  I used the herbed cheese pizza dough recipe from the “recipe section” and used all whole wheat flour in place of the white.

I love how foamy and bubbly the yeast mixture gets.  Check out all that carbon dioxide that the yeast are creating!! 😀

When the yeast mixture sits for a while, the other part of the dough gets put together. 

Then the yeast mixture gets added to the flour, and salt is sprinkled on to “kill” the yeast.  A little oil is drizzled in too.

Then its time to knead the dough.  I like doing it on a floured cutting board that I put on top of a clean towel.  It saves a lot of work on cleanup because I don’t have to spend time scraping down any sticky dough from the table.  Easy peazy, that’s my motto! 😀

While letting the dough rise, I chopped the onions and peppers….

…and made a cheater version for the sauce. :mrgreen:

I opened a can of tomato sauce…

…and poured a ton of powdered garlic, basil and oregano into the mix.  The more basil and garlic, the better! 😀

Instead of making these pizzas “individual pan pizzas” like I normally do, I decided to spread the dough out on a cookie sheet instead.  It made it really easy, since one pan pizza made 4 servings (2 slices each.) 

So Good!!!

Since we had salads for lunch, I made an unconventional side dish of sauteed cabbage (1/4 cabbage, 1 tsp olive oil, cooked until caramelizing.)  It was kind of an odd mix with pizza, but delicious all the same. 😀

+ dessert.  I’ve decided that the best part about winter is all the wonderful citrus produce we’ve been getting.  The oranges are at their peak of flavor! 😀

Night-time snack: homemade granola bar

I’m planning on an early morning tomorrow.  I was really productive this afternoon with homework, but I feel as if I still have so much to finish!  A lot of my classes are requiring that I look back and refresh on what I’ve learned over the past 3 years or so.  I love reminding myself of all the information, but it’s a little daunting at the same time!

The question of the day…

Do you tend to eat a lot after working out or does the appetite “hit” after a few days?

I’d love to do more research on that question and see why most people don’t feel hungry on the same day as working out, and why I’m so out of the norm. :mrgreen:

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

15 thoughts on “Attack of the Appetite

  1. Oooo I’d love to hear the reason behind the “not being hungry till days later” question! I’m never as hungry on days I workout. Especially after high intensity cardio (kickboxing, cycling, intervals, etc.) I never have an appetite after those! I’ve always wondered why..

  2. That article describes me to a T. My hunger is completely absent on days I work out & on rest days I’m a bottomless pit!

    Your pizza looks amazingggg and it’s making me want to make pizza this week 🙂

  3. Um…. I am addicted to Skinny Cinnamon Dolce Lattes!!

    And your pizza looks great! Pizza dough is for some reason one of the things that is so intimidating to make!

  4. When I was training for the Honolulu marathon, my hunger didn’t really hit until the day after my long runs. Sometimes it hit on the most random days…like I did my long runs on weekends, and then the weekdays were between 3 and 8 miles, and I might be inexplicably starving on Thursday. I roll with it though, I figure my body knows what it needs!

  5. holy yummo eats – i have been seeing homemade pizza everywhere, and it is seriously making me drool! it looks fab!

    my hunger is weird – either i am not hungry at all on my workout days or a ravenous beast. i believe its probably about 50/50. after a killer weekend of workouts, i am definitely a hangry beast today!

  6. Interesting question. I am not hungry after I do cardio, but I am after I do strength training. I do have a larger appetite a few hours or even days later after a long run!

  7. Pingback: Building the Breakfast Cookie « Running To Slow Things Down

Leave a Reply

