Grrrhelin

I absolutely loved reading all of your thoughts and personal stories about working out and appetites! :mrgreen:  I think part of feeling ravenous on days following a hard workout is related to the fact that we may have underfueled on the days that we did work out and our bodies are just trying to compensate.  But the reasons behind why some of us feel hungry on workout days while others just don’t have that appetite?  It blows my mind how unique we all are. 😀

Another interesting article today was on all the hormones that are involved with our appetite.  Ghrelin is a hormone that tells us we’re hungry (I remember it as: ghrelin = grrrowlin stomach! :mrgreen: )  Different foods do different things with this funny little hormone.  Most of the time, it goes down after a meal.  But certain foods make it go down followed by another spike.  Apples, for example, do this (perhaps partially explaining why some people feel hungrier after eating one!)  Of course, if you eat it with something, it might not have that same effect (such as almonds, cheese, milk, etc.)  Strange, huh?

Anyways, let me tell you, there was plenty of grrrhelin going on this morning.  A hungry girl calls for a big bowl of fluffy oats!

  • 1/4 c. each oatbran and oatmeal
  • 1 c. milk + 1/2 c. water
  • cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves
  • 1/2 apple (+ eating the other half!)
  • 2 egg whites (stirred in once milk was boiling)
  • toppings: 2 T. granola, and a big scoop of melty peanut butter

YUM!

I’ve said it time and time again, but I’ve got to say it again:  I love productive mornings! :mrgreen:  I got so much done, I barely moved from the couch until 11:00 when I decided to head out for a run.  It felt so good to finish a ton of homework!

Pre run fuel: Homemade Bran Flax Muffin and 1/2 a banana

Today’s 6-mile run was perfect.  There was not a thing wrong with it.  The sun was shining, it was a warm 25 degrees (which feels like a heat wave considering what we’ve had the last couple of days! 😉 ), my legs felt fresh, and I literally found myself zoning out into running bliss.  It was perfect, perfect, perfect.  I almost didn’t want it to stop.

Once I returned and showered, it was time to warm up with a hot bowl of the last of the mushroom-barley soup from a couple days ago.  It was even more delicious today, with the mushrooms giving off such a vibrant, earthy flavor.  And since it was the last of it, there was a ton of barley to be scooped up.  I love this chewy little grain!

I paired the bowl of soup with a large salad, which I added about 1/2 a cups worth of black beans for a healthy boost of protein and fiber. 😀

+ kashis!!!

I enjoyed some more sunshine outdoors this afternoon, by venturing out for a walk with mom.  We haven’t been walking together as much lately, with different schedules and such.  But I love it when we do, because she’s always so encouraging.  I can be worried or stressed over something, and she somehow knows exactly what to say which leaves me wondering why I was ever worried in the first place.  😀  Moms are so great!

After our walk, I had a little bowl of about half a cups worth of whipped cottage cheese, 1/2 c. cheerios and a tsp of cashew butter.  Crunchy with the cheerios, sweet with the cashew butter, and salty with the cottage cheese…it was exactly what I was in the mood for. 😀

Tonight we made Turkey Tamale Potpie, a delicious recipe from Cooking Light.  At first there was a little minor hiccup (I accidentally shut the oven off while it was still baking! whoops!) but after taking it out, noticing it was still doughy, and popping it back in at the right temp, it came out divine. :mrgreen:  Aside from the goof-ups, this recipe is easy as can be.  And it comes together relatively quickly too…

Turkey Tamale Potpie

Filling:
Cooking spray
1 cup chopped onion
3/4 cup chopped red bell pepper
4 garlic cloves, minced
1 pound ground turkey breast
1 tablespoon chili powder
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 (14.5-ounce) can diced tomatoes, undrained
1 (15-ounce) can kidney beans, rinsed and drained

Topping:
1 cup all-purpose flour (I used whole wheat)
3/4 cup yellow cornmeal (I used Arrowhead Mill, all natural cornmeal)
1 teaspoon sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup low-fat buttermilk
1 large egg, lightly beaten

Preheat oven to 425�.
To prepare filling, heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Coat pan with cooking spray. Add onion, bell pepper, garlic, and turkey; cook 5 minutes or until turkey loses its pink color. Add chili powder, oregano, 1/2 teaspoon salt, tomatoes, and beans; cook 3 minutes. Spoon turkey mixture into an 11 x 7-inch baking dish coated with cooking spray.

To prepare topping, lightly spoon flour into a dry measuring cup; level with a knife. Combine flour, cornmeal, sugar, baking powder, 1/2 teaspoon salt, and baking soda in a bowl. Combine buttermilk and egg; add to dry ingredients, stirring just until moist. Spread cornmeal mixture evenly over turkey mixture. Bake at 425� for 18 minutes or until topping is golden.

Yield: 6 servings (serving size: 1 3/4 cups)  (I turned it into 4 servings)

NUTRITION PER SERVING (will differ if you use whole wheat instead, and/or turn it into the 4 servings as I did)
CALORIES 329(8% from fat); FAT 3g (sat 0.9g,mono 0.5g,poly 0.4g); PROTEIN 27.6g; CHOLESTEROL 67mg; CALCIUM 120mg; SODIUM 705mg; FIBER 6.8g; IRON 2.4mg; CARBOHYDRATE 47.6g

Served with broccoli and green beans.  Total yumminess! 😀

Off to make a yogurt snack and get my stuff ready for tomorrow’s day at school.  All part of my goal of having a more relaxing, stress-free morning.  I hate rushing, and if that means getting everything ready the night before, then I’m all for it! 😀

Hope you all had a good Monday back into the work/school week!!

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

15 thoughts on “Grrrhelin

  1. I think our mornings were opposite but the same; I was completely productive except for homework, which I got to around 2, haha.
    Speaking of appetites, today was my long run and mine was MIA. Even after 8 miles and having no morning snack, I wasn’t hungry for breakfast. Odd.

  2. Wow- you’re positive attitude about the “warm 25 degrees” makes me want to run tomorrow 😀
    I always feel hungrier after eating an apple! Weird…now I know why

    And I love the little top-hat spoon

  3. The thing is though, it’s hard to refuel on long run days when you aren’t hungry! So is it better to eat in spite of not being hungry on long run days, or simply eat more the next day? Hunger can be such a complicated thing sometimes!

  4. I find appetite fascinating. The way different people react to certain foods- I am still hungry after something like a Lara bar, whereas a protein bar keeps me full for hours.

    Bookmarking the tamale pie recipe- looks delish!

  5. ahh your oats always look like perfection in the morning!! seriously – im getting a little hungry! haha

    I am the same as you – starving the day after intense exercise!

  6. Interesting–I would have never guessed that about apples because they have a lot of water and fiber! What are other foods that raise/lower ghrelin levels?

    • That’s such a great question, and one that I’m interested in as well! 😀 The research is pretty slim right now, but I’ll be digging deeper to see if I can find any reputable journal articles on it. 😀

      Oh and you’re absolutely right, that they’re full of water and fiber which makes them a great snack when you pair them with something. Try adding a bit of protein, such as almonds, glass of milk, etc., and it will keep you full much longer! 😀

Leave a Reply

