Restless Nights

Last night was a restless night of sleep for me.  There wasn’t a thought on the brain.  Nothing.  Nada.  But still, I could not for the life of me get an ounce of sleep.  I used to have a major sleeping problem when I was younger.  There were some nights that I would be at the point of tears because I couldn’t sleep.  Yeah, crazy, I know!  Thankfully this rarely happens anymore.  Once I came to the conclusion that a night of no sleep wouldn’t kill me, I relaxed and slept better.  Amazing how simple a solution can be. 😉 

Anyways, despite the restless night of sleep, I woke up happy and ready for breakfast. :mrgreen:

Overnight Apples ‘n’ Oats

  • 1/2 c. oatmeal
  • cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves
  • 1 diced apple
  • 1/2 c. milk

…put in the fridge…the next morning, mix in…

  • 6-oz. plain yogurt
  • 2 T. crushed flax
  • dollop of peanut butter on top

Strength Training went well today.  I decided that I need to start a journal of my reps and sets though.  I love setting up a unique and different workout depending on what I’m in the mood for, but it would be nice to see where I’ve been, where I am and where I’m heading.  Speaking of which, I love this new arm workout that I learned from the one and only Jillian Michaels.  She calls it the “lawn mower” and it literally replicates the motion of starting the mower, but with weights.  I’ll have to snap a picture of someone—or myself—doing it one of these times and share it with you all.  I can feel my arms burning by the end of the reps and it’s one of my new favorites. 😀

After a quickie strength workout, I grabbed a snack (kashis and a slice of cheese) and headed out the door for a busy and loooong day of classes & meetings.

Thankfully I was well prepared with snacks and meals to hold me over throughout the day.  Lunch was a mix of leftovers, and it actually turned out to be a really tasty concoction.  I loved the grated carrot.  I think grating it made the entire dish taste sweeter and more flavorful.  And it paired wonderfully with the olive oil and balsamic vinegar.  Oh, and letting it sit and soak together overnight was key. 😀

  • 1 c. brown rice
  • 1 c. garbanzos
  • 1 carrot, grated
  • 1 celery stalk, chopped
  • a lil’ salsa (about 2-4 T)
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • splash of balsamic vinegar

I also packed along two snacks for the afternoon, because I knew I wasn’t going to be able to eat dinner until late tonight.  These almonds and an orange were eaten in Counseling class.  I had a nice conversation with my teacher about eating in class.  I felt bad about it, and asked her if it was okay that I was always eating in the classroom.  😳  She started laughing and told me her own personal story of having to eat every three hours, or else her blood sugar dropped too low.  “Always bring your lunch,” she said with a laugh.  Phew…that’s what I love about the nutrition department—crunching is encouraged!!  :mrgreen:

My second snack was another homemade granola bar…the supply is running low on these guys!  I think I’m going to need to find a new recipe or tweak this one to change things up a bit! 😀

Dinner was pretty yummy tonight!  Although, I didn’t really realize I was eating rice for the second time today (!!!) until I was actually done eating…haha.  Ah well! 😀  They were both very different in taste, so I didn’t mind at all.

Turkey Fried Rice (adapted from Eat Well, Live Well)

3 T. low-sodium soy sauce
2 c. turkey, cooked and diced
2 tsp. olive oil
1 c. brown rice, uncooked
2 c. chicken broth
1/2 c. green peppers, chopped
1/4 c. celery, chopped
1 medium onion, chopped
1 egg, slightly beaten
1/2 c. romaine lettuce, shredded

  1. In a small bowl, pour soy sauce over turkey; set aside.
  2. Pour oil into a skillet; add rice and “fry” over medium heat, stirring constantly until rice is toasty brown.  Add chicken broth; cover and simmer for 45 minutes until all liquid is absorbed.  Add turkey, green pepper, celery and onion.  Cook uncovered for 5 minutes. 
  3. Push rice to side of skillet and add egg, stirring constantly until set.  Combine with rice mixture.  Stir in lettuce.  Serve immediately.

On the side, I had a big serving of frozen peas, cooked and some roasted turnips. 😀

And for a dessert/snack, I had a small bowl of honey nut cheerios with 1/2 a banana and some milk.  Totally love the combo of honey nut cheerios and bananas. I wish cereal held me over in the morning, because I would have this for breakfast tomorrow! 😀

I am drained for the night!!  I love having Mondays and Fridays off, but the three long days that I do have school wear me out!  I hope I can get a better night of sleep t’night.

Do you ever have a hard time sleeping, and what are some “remedies” that you’ve used to help?  Like I already mentioned, I usually just tell myself that it’s not that big a deal.  If I can just relax, that’s the most important thing.  Sometimes taking a bath or reading a magazine helps too.  As long as the magazine isn’t too interesting, because then I stay up way later then normal. 😉

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

15 thoughts on “Restless Nights

  1. I used to have a hard time sleeping too! I remember crying when I was younger because I couldn’t fall asleep. My mom would always say “As long as you’re lying down and resting, that’s what matters.” I find that sitting in bed with the computer makes me sleepy

  2. Good eats! I had a period with difficult sleeping, but that has disappeared most of the times, luckily:)

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  3. Oh my goshhhhhhh your O.N. oats look amazing! I have to try adding more to mine, I’m pretty plain jane when it comes to oat toppings, but I’m missin’ out!

    I used to have the same problem when I was a kid! I could never, ever get to sleep. Best sleep remedy: chamomile tea before bed, and a banana! Bananas have a chemical in them that makes you sleepy. My friend’s mom told me about this years ago, and it always works for me! If I want to take a nap, or if I need a good night’s sleep, banana it is!

    Have a great day love!

  4. If you do keep a record of your strength workouts, share them on the blog! I could use some ideas on strength training, I’m much more of a cardio girl.

    I sometimes have trouble sleeping, too, it comes and goes in phases. I read recently on Oh She Glows about counting backwards from 3000 by 3s…I haven’t had troble sleeping lately but it sounds like a good idea!

    • I’ll definitely be posting it up on the blog!! 😀 I’m thinking of posting the pictures of the actual movements too, so that I don’t confuse everyone by posting different titles for different workouts. 😉

  5. Sorry you had trouble sleeping-that’s the worst!! I don’t have a good remedy but I do know if you toss and turn for awhile, getting up for a little bit helps you stop thinking about trying to sleep and lets you start over.

  6. If you would like check out my vegan enerrgy bar recips on my blog-it is really good! I think you may like it……

  7. i usually turn off all electronics about 30 minutes before bed and just read. totally clears my mind.

    hope you get a better nights rest tonight & glad to hear that your strength training session went well 🙂

  8. When I am feeling a little restless at night, I ususally warm 8oz. nonfat milk, two (very finely chopped) dates, 2T. bulgur wheat or brown rice (already cooked), and some cinnamon. I think that preparing, waiting for, and consuming such a soothing thing really helps me relax. It isn’t really much work, but it gives me something else to focus on and helps me relax.

    🙂

  9. I have had so many restless nights this semester, it’s a bit ridiculous. I blame being on campus; but what can be done about that? I do know I’ll get a good nights sleep tonight

  10. I have a hard time sleeping on nights I know it’s important to get a good night’s sleep! Haha. Always the way. Nowadays I procrastinate going to bed until I can barely keep my eyes open so am virtually asleep before I even get into bed.

    I think I could eat rice at every meal 😀

  11. That is so cute that you asked your teach if it was okay if you eat in class 🙂

    My husband and I have both had issues with sleeping, on and off this year. I have to make sure I stop drinking water about two hours before bed (except for small sips) and wear something very light – I am a sweaty sleeper. And… it would be nice if el gatto was sleeping between us and not ON me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

