Body Fat: getting it right

You see it everywhere.  Tips, solutions, supplements, advice…all to help you lose body fat.  I’m here to tell you the opposite story: the upside of body fat. :DFrom a female perspective, it’s crucial that our body fat doesn’t drop too low.  Why?  Well, for one thing, body fat keeps us warm (girls and guys here! 😉 )  But there’s more to it then just that.  When body fat stores are brought too low, nutrient deficiencies can occur, along with an increased risk of stress fractures, amenorrhea (loss of menstrual cycle for 3 or more months,) decreased bone mass, and/or loss of reproductive function.  Basically, it just realy messes up our hormones!  So even while we do have a problem with too much body fat in this country, don’t forget that having a body fat that is too low isn’t healthy either!! 😀

Body Fat Levels   

Guys:     

  • Too Low: <5%
  • Acceptable (low): 6-15%
  • Acceptable (high): 6-24%
  • Too High: >25%
  • Average: 15-18%
  • OPTIMAL: 12-18%

Gals:   

  • Too Low: <10%
  • Acceptable (low): 9-23%
  • Acceptable (high): 24-31%
  • Too High: >33%
  • Average: 22-25%
  • OPTIMAL: 18-25%

BREAKFAST   

I was determined to sleep in late this morning.  But then 4 am rolled around, and I was wide awake with not a chance of falling back asleep.  Thankfully tonight will be different…I’m so determined…haha.  You all had some great tips and I’m glad to hear that I’m not alone in having that occasional restless night of sleep.  I plan on putting your tips to good use! :mrgreen:   

Anyways, I ended up lying in bed for a while before getting up to make breakfast.  Oats in a jar!  Simple bananas and oats in an almost—not quite—empty peanut butter jar. 😀     

   

Then it was time to move, move, move!   

I knew not to expect much from today’s run, because lack of sleep always interferes with my runs.  If I’m tired, it doesn’t make sense to expect myself to run as fast or as hard as normal.  So I cut myself some slack and went out for an easy-paced 6-miles.  I came home feeling way more refreshed and energized then when I left. 😀   

Post-run snack: glass of milk and a crunchy apple.  I guzzled the milk and took the apple to-go!   

   

I hereby promise that this will be the last rice picture you will have to see for a while.  😳   

I have to say, though, that this was definitely one of my favorite rice concoctions yet. 😀   

  • 3/4 c. of last night’s Turkey Fried Rice
  • 1/4 c. brown rice (also leftover)
  • sauteed zucchini, summer squash, and onions (also leftover…noticing a pattern? :mrgreen: )
  • 1/2 c. black beans
  • 2/3 c. green peas
  • 2-4 T. tabbouleh

I literally cleaned out the fridge with this meal.  I have a crazy obsession with eating leftovers and managing to not throw things away…haha!   

   

All packed up and ready to go!   

Also coming along for the ride: carrot sticks, handful of almonds, last of the homemade granola bars, and a pear.  I ate them here and there, scattered throughout the day.   

   

Lunch and snacks held me over really well today, but I was definitely read for dinner tonight.  And with Thursday kind of being my Friday, I just wanted something quick ‘n’ easy that didn’t require much prep-work.    

Thank goodness for Gardnerburger Black Bean Chipotle burgers on such a night. :mrgreen:  I ate it with a slice of cheese, lettuce and tomatoes, between two slices of Trader Joe’s Whole Wheat Sourdough bread.   

   

Served with a side salad, complete with black & green olives + my favorite dressing combo (1 tsp each olive oil, balsamic, orange juice and garlic + dry mustard.)    

It was easy and delicious.  Exactly what I wanted for tonight. 😀   

   

I’d like to crank out some homework tonight since I’m sleeping over my sistah’s house tomorrow.  Can’t wait for that…we’re both excited for taking the night off from cooking and work/homework for a girly night out. 😀   

Question of the Day: What’s your “Go-To” meal when you just don’t feel like cooking?  Tonight I went with the veggie burger, but usually I go with eggs or French toast.  😀

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

14 thoughts on “Body Fat: getting it right

  1. Thanks for posting about the UPSIDE of body fat! It’s refreshing to see 🙂

    I’m also obsessed with eating left-overs. I think my “go-to” meal would be a veggie burger too (with veggies steamed in the micro)

  2. Goto meal: uncle ben’s or kashi’s microwavable pilafs and a veggie burger popped in the microwave. accompanied by a bag of steamed veggies… cooked in the microwave:)

  3. As usualy you’re a girl after my own heart. I LOVE using up leftovers. It’s like the foodie’s equivalent of “being green.” Reuse food people!!!

    I’ve missed you. I’ve been so busy I haven’t had a chance to read your blog. Hope life is awesome, as always!!!

  4. Veggie Burger (or even a bowl of cereal, lol!) is our to-go when we feel lazy.

    I wonder what my body fat is. People look weird when they have a really low body fat!

  5. My go-to meals are usually either some type of sandwich/wrap, or some yogurt/cereal/fruit/nut butter bowl 😀

    Thanks for the reminder about body fat! Also important to remember that fat in the diet is not necessarily going to turn into fat in the body… I fell for that myth for years. I am curious about my body fat % now…

Leave a Reply

