A Quickie!!

This post is going to be super quick!  My sis is coming by and we’re heading out for a girly night at Panera and the movies if there’s something good showing.  I really want to see Dear Jon, but I’m not sure if I feel like crying my eyes out tonight! haha…the book had me sobbing throughout!

There were some interesting points about the Body Fat discussion, one of which was that fat in the diet isn’t the culprit for body fat.  Very true!!  I’m glad that was mentioned. 😀  Another point worth considering is that even while BMI is oftentimes used as a useful indicator for healthy weights, it’s not always an accurate measure of one’s health.  Someone who has a higher BMI might have lower body fat if they’re regularly working out, and this person would be very healthy.  On the other hand, a thin person who is sedentary might have a low BMI but a higher percentage of body fat.  Just some food for thought. 😀

On to breakfast…

I was super excited for oats this morning until I noticed that I had a box of Kashi Go Lean Crunch sitting in my closet.  I haven’t had this cereal in ages, but I love how tasty and filling it is.  I decided to make a yogurt mess out of it. 😀

  • 1.5 c. Kashi Go Lean Honey Almond Crunch
  • 6-oz. plain yogurt with 2 T. crushed flax
  • 1 banana, sliced
  • big scoop of cashew butter

Yumminess!!! :mrgreen:

Mid morning, I had a homemade Bran Flax muffin and an orange.  Perfect pre-run fuel! 😀  Speaking of running, my 6-mile run was lovely today, but I can tell my body needs a rest, so it’s a good thing that I planned on taking the weekend off.  My body will thank me. 😉

Lunch was fabulous.

I’m a huge fan of minestrone soups, but I had never tried making Moosewood Cookbook’s version.  I loved how simple it was to put together—very different then other minestrone soups that have taken me hours to simmer and cook!  The flavors were wonderful too.  The only sub I made was in using barley instead of the macaroni.  Not exactly authentic, but I loved the switch! 😀

+ a grilled cheese sandwich on the side, made with 2 slices of Trader Joe’s whole wheat sourdough and a slice of American cheese.  I love how the holey pockets in the bread soak up all the melted cheese.  Yum! 😀

+ dessert

I decided to eat a snack around 4’ish, since my sis and I are going to be eating a bit later tonight.  About 1/2 a cup of cottage cheese, 1/2 c. cheerios and a tsp of almond butter.  This should hold me over pretty well! 😀

She just pulled in the driveway….later gators! 😀

 ***Edited to add dinner:

I swayed away from my normalcy (ie, black bean soup and the mediterranean veggie sandwich) and ordered a Fuji Chicken Salad.  Funny, because when I first walked in, I was saying how I was in the mod for a salad, but it was just too cold outside!  But then I saw apples and gorgonzola cheese, and I was sold. 😀

On the side I had a whole grain baguette and enjoyed each and every delicious bite.  Yum!!

We ended up watching When In Rome, because neither of us felt like crying over Dear John.  :mrgreen:  We were both laughing throughout the movie.  It was cute, but a little corny at the same time.  Definitely worth watching once. 😉

Tomorrow we have a fun day planned at the mall, so I should go and get a good nights rest. 

Hope you’re all enjoying the weekend!! 😀

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

8 thoughts on “A Quickie!!

  1. Hey girlie, I just discovered your blog and I love your ‘tude!

    And that is the prettiest pic of an apple I’ve seen in a while!

Leave a Reply

