Catch Up Morning

Most Sunday mornings, I’m up early and scramble to get ready for church service.  Today, however, I decided I needed a Catch Up Day.

What is a Catch Up Day?

I started this when I was a freshman in college.  There were long weeks of classes, friends, and everything.  I loved it, I really did.  But I also needed my personal time to catch up.  I would usually take an occasional Sunday and catch up on things: journaling, strength training, just sitting in the warm sun without feeling rushed to go anywhere, e-mailing friends I hadn’t spoken to in ages, cleaning my dorm room, etc.  This week had been super busy and my lack of sleep only enhanced my need for a Catch Up Day.  I loved my slow moving morning.

Do you ever have Catch Up Days/mornings/hours/minutes?  I like taking a few minutes now and again to just sit still and do nothing.  It helps to slow things down. :mrgreen:

I had a repeat breakfast from Friday morning because it’s one of my old faves.  Except I topped the bowl with peanut butter in place of the cashew butter.

  • 6-oz. plain yogurt
  • 2 T. crushed flax
  • 1.5 c. Kashi Go Lean Crunch
  • 1 banana, sliced
  • scoop of peanut butter

I had a Souper Salad Lunch. :mrgreen:

Simple side salad…

+ the last of the homemade minestrone soup with some annie’s whole wheat cheddar bunnies on the side.  Delish!

I spent the rest of my afternoon going for a 3-mile walk and visiting my grandparents.  I brought an apple-to-go. 😀

Then came home to nibble on a quick snack that would hold me over for a later dinner: 1/2 c. whipped cottage cheese, 1/2 c. puffins, and a tsp of almond butter.  I love this snack.  It’s subtly sweet and salty at the same time with a major crunch factor.  😀

I didn’t originally have any plans for the Super Bowl tonight, but last week we asked Nicole and Nate to come over and watch it.  So happy they were able to…it makes it so much more fun to enjoy it with family and friends. 😀

We made things easy by ordering from our favorite pizza place down the street and having munchies on the side.  I loaded my plate up with mixed veggies and went with a slice of mushroom & onion pizza and one and a half slices of ultimate veggie—black olives, peppers, broccoli, and onions.  So chewy, crusty, saucy and amazing! 😀

I made a second snacky sized plate with a handful of doritos, some more veggies (Nicole was laughing at the amount of veggies that I was eating by this point :mrgreen: ) and another small slice of veggie pizza.

Then I grabbed a couple of these chicken skewers.  This was my contribution to the super bowl snacks, and I snagged the recipe from Cooks Illustrated Light.  Super simple to make.  I can’t list the recipe because of copyright, but let me just say that orange marmalade and red peppers go perfectly with chicken. 😀

Off to make a quick yogurt snack and enjoy the rest of the super bowl!!!  Hope you’re all feeling refreshed after the weekend.  If not, take advantage of a Catch Up morning/day/minute.  Even taking a few minutes in the morning to soak up some sun, drink a cup of tea, or journal does wonders for feeling refreshed. 😀

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

15 thoughts on “Catch Up Morning

  1. I lurvvve catch-up days. They really help me get “in the zone” for the week ahead.

    I also lurve your mug with the face on it!!

  2. i used to call them mental health days – for your own sanity, you need to take those days to get everything done you need to…including relaxing and the like!

    glad you had a good one – hope you are having a great monday 🙂

  3. saturdays are my catch up days- i would absolutely die without them! everyone needs a day to just be free the whole day with no pressure, to just put yourself back and recharge (:

Leave a Reply

