Snow Day!

Classes were cancelled today!! :mrgreen:

I took advantage of my morning with a big ol’ bowl of pumpkin oats.  I think I’ll be turning orange soon. 😉

  • 1/4 c. each oatmeal and oatbran
  • 1 c. milk + 3/4 c. water
  • 3/4 banana (other 1/4 saved for top)
  • 2 T. crushed flax, stirred in at end
  • 1/3 c. pumpkin, stirred in at end
  • scoop of peanut butter

The cancelled classes meant (a) I had a full day available for catching up on homework and (b) the gym was now closed since they follow the class cancellations!  I decided to improvise by spending 30 minutes on both yoga and strength training.  I was sweating bullets by the end, and it felt amazing.  Pictures and notes on my current workout routine will be coming soon!  I’d like to keep a log (ur…blog) of the routine.

I also included a mild form of cardio by going for a short walk with mom, plus going out for a leisurely walk in the woods.  I can’t believe I haven’t spent more time trekking through the woods this winter!  I felt incredibly thankful to be able to experience the fresh snowfall. 😀

Everything small and simple seems so beautiful after a snowfall. 😀

When I came home from a gentle excursion, I iced my foot and ate a juicy grapefruit. 

It was time to tackle homework, and I was feeling more then motivated to finish things up.  Last night, I secretly wished that classes would get cancelled because I had so much to do!  It was such a special treat to see that classes were cancelled.  I now feel ten times more on top of things. 😀

Last night, I packed a salad for today’s lunch, so I just poured it into a bowl for an easy meal.  I ended up adding some extra goodies in the form of avocado and cheese too…yum! 😀

  • mesculin greens
  • 1 carrot
  • cauliflower
  • cucumbers
  • red onions
  • 1/4 avocado, diced
  • 1 cheesestick, sliced
  • dressing: 1 tsp each of olive oil, balsamic vinegar, and orange juice + garlic powder, dry mustard, and ginger

+ kashis on the side.  Crunch, crunch, crunch… 😀 

My afternoon snack involved more pumpkin.  I absolutely love yogurt mixed with pumpkin, and this snack was meant to be.

  • 6-oz. plain yogurt
  • 1 T. crushed flax
  • 1/3 c. canned pumpkin
  • 2 T. Pumpkin Granola

So GOOD!

Moosewood cookbook never lets me down. :mrgreen:

Tonight for dinner, we had cauliflower pie.  The crust is delightfully sweet with grated sweet potatoes (vs. the regular potatoes the recipe calls for,) the sharp cheddar cheese enhances the mild flavors of cauliflower, and the herbs bring it all together.  This meal takes some time, but it’s easy to make and tastes amazing!

I had no patience to let it cool slightly after taking it out of the oven, hence the messy slice on my plate. 😉  On the side I had some peas which were the very last of the veggies in the house.  This meal was perfect for a cold, snowy evening. 

Earlier this afternoon, mom had made a homemade whole wheat and walnut bread.  When hunger struck tonight, I topped a slice with a pat of almond butter and blueberry jam.  Such a perfect snack!  This bread is so flavorful and rustic; it’s going to make for an awesome sandwich.  😀 

I have a quiz on Epidemiology and Obesity tomorrow, so I should look over my notes one more time before I go to bed.  And tomorrow I have plans to finally hit the gym!! :mrgreen:

Question of the Day: Snow…love it or hate it?  It seems like everybody is getting snow these days! 😀  Right now, I’m loving it because it provided me with a day off from classes and it’s just so incredibly pretty outside!

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

16 thoughts on “Snow Day!

  1. Hooray for your day off!!

    I can handle snow in October/November. But come February I’m getting tired of it. When it snows into March/April/May, I loathe it. Enjoy it while you can!

  2. I live in alabama…I am crossing my fingers for a snow day Friday!!! My pic on my blog is from the last time I saw snow here and that was march 1 ’09. I absolutely adore it! I love the quiet!

  3. Jeaaaalousss of the snow day! My school is apparently anti-snow day and so I had to crawl through traffic yesterday. A school bus swerved into my lane! Ahhh.
    I like snow until January 2. It’s pretty, fresh, perfect for the holidays until then. After that, we’re done! Haha.

  4. I always loved snow days because they are like a freebie day! However, I am currently stuck in the snow away from work and I am feeling pretty bad about my coworkers picking up my slack!

  5. Hey, who needs spray tans when you can just eat tons of pumpkin?

    And your snow pics are totally gorgeous. I think snow is one of the prettiest things, except when it’s blowing 20mph into my face!

  6. snow days are the best! seriously. i always feel so much better once i can catch up on things.

    annndddd…i am totally loving all the pumpkin goodness in this post. is it weird that i secretly kind of want to turn orange to see what happens?

    annndddd…i need that cauliflower pie. what all goes in it?

    snow – its 50/50. somedays i love it, somedays i could not hate it more. have a great day girl 🙂

Leave a Reply

