Night at the gym :)

I found a copy of the Cauliflower Pie online!!  :mrgreen:  Again, the only sub I used was in using sweet potato in place of the white.  I love the sweet flavor mixed with sharp cheddar cheese.  Amazing. 😀

I wanted to use up the rest of my canned pumpkin before it went bad, so I decided to make a pumpkin breakfast cookie!

  • 1/2 c. oatmeal
  • cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves
  • 1 banana, mashed
  • 1 T. peanut butter
  • 1/4 c. canned pumpkin
  • 2 T. crushed flax

It was much softer then normal due to the pumpkin, but I loved it that way!  It tasted like a mix between pumpkin bread and pumpkin pie. 😀

Mom and I headed out for a short walk this morning, and my foot felt relatively pain-free.  I taped it up during the walk and iced it well upon my return.  I’m still keeping it easy on my foot as much as I can, but it felt incredibly refreshing to go out for a leisurely stroll! 😀

Then I ate this snack of cottage cheese and an apple in about 5 minutes flat before dashing out the door to drive to my classes…

I love having leftover brown rice in the fridge, because the possibilities of lunch options are endless!!  Today I threw together the following:

  • 1 c. brown rice
  • 1/2 c. black beans
  • about 1/4 c. salsa
  • 1 carrot, thinly sliced
  • handful of cauliflower, chopped small
  • 1/4 avocado, diced
  • celery

On the side I had a cheesestick. 😀

This afternoon I packed an orange and some almonds.  Definitely need to find a more green friendly way of packing my snacks.  My lunches are always easy to put into a plastic container, but I could use some smaller boxes for packing my snacks.  I’d rather not be wasting! 😀

I received my advisor’s letter of recommendation today which means I can send in my dietetic application tomorrow!!! 😀 😀 😀 😀  So excited!  I have the attitude of feeling that whatever will be will be. 😉  In other words, I really, really want to get this internship, but if I don’t get it this year, it’s not meant to be.  There will be plenty of other experiences awaiting me, and I’ll just apply again next year!

I was pretty much bursting with energy after receiving this final letter, which was a perfect way to pep me up for the gym. :mrgreen:  I ate half of this banana manna bar before working out and saved the other half for afterwards.

I had a pretty simple workout, as I felt a little intimidated to be walking into a new gym with equipment that I didn’t recognize. 😳  But by the end of my 30 minutes on the elliptical, I felt much more relaxed and started to explore.  There are so many crazy machines!  I don’t plan on letting myself get bored while going to the gym through this foot injury.  Maybe I’ll even sign up for a biking class one of these times!  Oh the possibilities. 😀

Dinner was both delicious and quick & easy!

There was homemade sauce and homemade bison meatballs in the freezer that were waiting to be put together for a quick dinner.  Yum!!  I love pasta dinners and the extra protein from the bison keeps me full for forever.  Not to mention that it’s a great source of iron…this is especially important for younger females! 😀  On the side of my pasta dinner, I had a side salad topped with black beans, green & black olives, and a splash of balsamic vinegar with orange juice. 

Off to chillax a little! 😀

Do you prefer working out at home, at the gym or outdoors?  Or a mixture of the above?   I definitely prefer being outdoors, but I love, love, love a morning yoga session too!  😀

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

11 thoughts on “Night at the gym :)

  1. I like the gym, if only because it has machines.
    Those meatballs sound yummy
    I always have so many fun ideas for brown rice until I remember it does NOTHING for my hunger 😦 Besides that I love fried brown rice.

  2. I seriously need to try these BFast cookies- yours always look so good!
    That’s so exciting about the internships 😀 I can’t wait to start applying for mine

    I definitely prefer working-out outdoors!

  3. I had that Banana bar last week! Loved it the first bites, hate it after the whole bar…too boring and ‘strange’ for me. I find the bars of that brand not ‘crumbly’ enough, I didn’t like the cranberry either.

    Lovely colors of all those meals!

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  4. That sounds like such an interesting crust idea! I know that you can buy reusable sandwich bags that can are also washable. I think they run at about 5 dollars a bag, BUT you can use them again and again and again, so it may be worth it.

  5. I feel the same way about brown rice-it really helps with lunch fixins and I am battling my constant use of baggies for my snacks too……I prefer to work our outside!
    Have a great day!

  6. Outdoors all the way! But I’m feeling a little stir-crazy after being inside all winter. I can’t wait for those perfect in-between temps in the spring. I do like to workout in group classes inside, though.

Leave a Reply

