It’s official…

Breakfast reminded me of backpacking and camping trips in New Hampshire.  So rustic and hearty! 😀

  • 1/4 c. each oatmeal and oatbran
  • 1 c. milk + 3/4 c. water
  • pinch of salt
  • cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves
  • splash of vanilla
  • 3/4 banana
  • toppings: 1/4 banana, 1 T. each of almonds, walnuts and raisins.

I don’t know if it was the large banana or the combo of mixed nuts, but I was full by the end of this bowl!

Today was full of official things. 

First, it’s officially Friday, which I’m sure you are all aware of (and celebrating, via the Friday Dance :mrgreen: )

Second, it’s officially been a week since my last run.  Honestly, I think it’s the best thing for me in the long run (no pun intended.)  Once I’m recooped and recovered, to the point where I can walk without pain, I’ll reintroduce running slowly.  Running is a learning experience, and this time I’m learning to be more in tune with my body when it’s trying to tell me to take a break. 😉

Third, I’m officially starting to enjoy strength training.  I never thought I’d say that, but it’s true.  This morning, my workout had me sweating bullets by the end, and I felt so energized. 

Lastly, I officially sent in my Dietetic Internship application form today!!  It was painful to slip it into the mail, because I didn’t want to let it out of my sight. :mrgreen:

That’s officially the end of my official “official” list.

Time for a grapefruit.

I’ve made this Gypsy Soup (click for recipe) from Moosewood Cookbook countless times before, but somehow it still always surprises me with how flavorful it is. 😀 

On the side, I toasted a slice of mom’s homemade whole wheat and walnut bread.

I officially (okay, I’ll stop now) finished a ton of homework today.  The last couple of days have been flooded with assignments being handed out, and I have more then a couple of presentations coming up within the month.  This morning I asked myself why I was stressing over it.  I mean…really.  As the old saying goes, worrying is like a rocking chair…back and forth, back and forth.  But you never get anywhere. 😉  The real solution was to just do something about it, which resulted in a productive afternoon.  I love feeling so caught up with things! 😀

Speaking of catching up with things, I wanted to catch up on some good ol’ outdoor time as well.  Mom and I threw on our walking sneaks and went for a lovely, warm 4 mile walk (it’s 32 degrees out!!)  My foot was feeling pretty good overall, but it definitely started to feel a little sore by the end.  I RICE’d it at home, but could not find the safety pin for this ace bandage anywhere.

So I improvised with a hair clip.  I decided it’s totally okay to look silly when you’re injured.  Right?  :mrgreen:

A snack while I iced…yogurt with crushed flax and granola on top…

…plus a crunchy carrot. 😀

Tonight for dinner, I wanted something simple.  I think that happens almost every Friday night. 😀  I went the easy route and made some home fries (1 medium potato, diced + 1 tsp olive oil + garlic powder and paprika, mixed together…heat at 425 for 20-30 minutes, mixing halfway.)  Plus my favorite egg concoction:

  • 1 whole egg + 2 egg whites
  • splash of milk
  • salt and pepper
  • handful of baby spinach
  • 1/4 green bell pepper, diced small
  • 1/2 c. black beans
  • a couple scoops of salsa

The salsa gives this mix a slightly funny color, but the flavor makes up for it.  Salsa in eggs is delicious! 😀

On the side, I had a simple salad for some more veggies.

I heart Friday nights.  It’s official.

Question:  Ketchup…veggie or not?  Did you know that in some school lunch programs, ketchup counts as a vegetable?  I’m wondering what the portion has to be in order to count for one full serving of veggies. 😉

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

11 thoughts on “It’s official…

  1. Ah, I’m so sorry about that foot. But it could DEF. be worse 🙂

    Ok, once for a project or something a long time ago, I analyzed a serving ok ketchup and it was equivalent to 1/10 a tomato…haha I don’t consider that a veggie!

  2. Yuck. Ketchup is NOT a vegetable. It is loaded with sugar! Ha ha.

    I am happy you are getting into strength training while you are healing. I bet that helps a lot. 🙂

  3. That dinner looks tasty. I’d say no on the ketchup as a veggie though, haha. I’ve been looking for a soup to make, so thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

