No pumpkin, no problem!

Carrot Top Oats

  • 1/4 c. each oatmeal and oatbran
  • 1 c. soymilk + 1/2 c. water
  • cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and a splash of vanilla
  • 1/2 apple
  • 1 medium carrot!!! shredded finely
  • 1 T. raisins
  • toppings: 1/2 a pumpkin muffin and 1 T. Teddy’s peanut butter

The soymilk added some sweetness, but so did the carrot!  It also plumped up the volume and offered pizzazz to the whole bowl.  Loved it! 😀  I think the secret is to grate the carrot very finely.

This morning I was plopped on the couch, with my books in hand.  It was torture making myself get through another full-fledge homework day after yesterday’s marathon of studying…but then the phone rang.  Nicole was heading to Target, and asked me to tag along…it was all the coaxing that I needed!!! :mrgreen:  It was so nice to have a morning out and about, which included a tall vanilla latte.

These cute Starbucks Christmas cups are still here!! 😀 

Of course, once again, I forgot to ask for decaf.  I think it has to do with my subconscious desire for an afternoon caffeine boost. 😉  No better time then now to workout!

I decided to take the risk of freezing, and headed out for a 6-mile bike ride.  My legs were burning up the hills, it was such a great workout.  It’s been about a year since I biked last, so it’s definitely going to take some time to get myself adjusted again. 😉  Once I pedaled into the driveway, I started walking out my legs on a flat spot of the road.  Then I kept walking.  And then–then!!I started trotting.  Very slowly at first, bumping up and down at a turtle pace.  There was an inkling of pain, and I told myself that if it progressed, I would stop immediately.  But it stayed the same, and I found myself running/walking 2 miles.  It was exhilerating, refreshing and absolutely amazing.  Mind you, my legs were not used to running at all and even the 2 miles seemed rough.  But I ran.  Without pain.  I didn’t push it, and I don’t plan on introducing a regular running pattern for a while.  But I did love every second of every single step. :mrgreen:

When I came home, I took an ice bath.  😯

And yes, it’s as painful as it sounds. 😉  If I hadn’t alread put together this salad beforehand, I probably would have opted for a warm bowl of soup instead.  But my legs did feel very relaxed after the icing.

Salad

  • mesculin mix
  • carrot, sliced
  • cucumber slices
  • 1 tomato, diced
  • a few green and black olives
  • 1/2 c. kidney beans
  • splash of balsamic and orange juice

+ a toasted slice of whole wheat and walnut bread with a slather of almond butter

This afternoon I made a favorite yogurt combo: plain dannon yogurt, 2 T. crushed flax and some granola on top. 

Dinner.  Was.  Amazing.

This dinner easily wins my favorite meal of the week. 😀  I made some vegetarian sushi with brown rice, avocado, carrots and cucumbers.  Check out my sushi tutorial for more info on the how-to’s of sushi. 😀

I think the real winner of this meal, however, was my dad’s veggie stir-fry.  When my mom asked him where he got the recipe, he simply stated that he threw a bunch of veggies together, added some seasonings, and that was that!  He kept the wok on a really high temperature too, which caramelized the vegetables and shrimp.  Total yumminess!!  Here’s what went in:

  • 1/2 cabbage, sliced thinly
  • 1/2 bell pepper, sliced
  • 1 bunch of asparagus
  • 1 package of shiitake mushrooms
  • 1 lb. shrimp
  • baby corn
  • water chestnuts
  • bean sprouts
  • sauce: 1 T. soysauce, crushed red pepper, 1 T. sesame oil

We were all mmm’ing our way through the meal. 😀 

Loved all your opinions on ketchup, by the way…I think it’s unanimous that ketchup does not count as a vegetable serving. :mrgreen:

I’ve decided to do one of my presentations on coconut fat.  I’ll be researching a ton of nutrition journals to put the presentation together.  Since coconut fat is mainly saturated, it has been on the “bad” list for fats.  However, there are some other research articles showing that the type of saturated fat in coconuts is different.  Most of the saturated fat is in a form called “lauric acid.”  Lauric acid is a “medium chain triglyceride,” which means your body can more easily break it down and use it.  The current study that I’m looking at from a journal on Lipids shows that it may even improve cholesterol levels, although there is not enough evidence to prove this fact.  So in other words, don’t start gorging on coconuts.  😉  More research is needed, but I think it’s an interesting topic to look at!

What are your thoughts on coconut?? 

This entry was posted in 1 and tagged , , , , , by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

11 thoughts on “No pumpkin, no problem!

  1. Coconut is my newest obsession. I’m convinced it’s a miracle fat. I’d love to hear any info you dig up on it!
    I tried carrots in my oats once, but they were still very large in size so it did not work out at all 😦

  2. Interested to hear about your project on coconut – I love it! I haven’t tried carrots in oats, I’m skeptical of carrot cake in general but I can see how it would add some sweetness. Your sushi looks awesome, I’m about to check out your tutorial as I plan on making it tomorrow!

  3. I would love to experiment more with sushi, I love the idea that I can personalize it as I wish! I tried linking on your method of making sushi, as yours look beautiful, but it didn’t work. Would you mind posting it again?

    • Sorry about that! I posted it in the Recipe section under “Entrees” too. Let me know if you have any more problems with the link!

  4. Mmm…sushi! I find pumpkin and carrot pretty comparable in taste, they go well together too. Still have to try carrots in oats!

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  5. Wow what a “crazy” and brave idea to add carrot to oatmeal. Love it! Your dinner looks delicious too.

    Please tell us more about coconut oils. I have just starting experimenting with it and am still on the fence.

    Have a great day!

  6. I’m currently on the fence regarding coconut. I LOVE its flavor, so I WANT to gorge on it, but every nutritionist I ask about the coconut issue seems to give me an inconclusive answer. Until there is more research done, I’ll still enjoy coconut in moderation.

Leave a Reply

