Thick as Pea Soup

Happy HEART Day!! 😀

My oats this morning were absolutely wonderful!!!

  • 1/4 c. each of oatbran and oatmeal
  • 1 c. milk + 3/4 c. water
  • cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves
  • 1/2 banana
  • toppings: cranberries, tsp dark chocolate chips, sprinkling of sweetened coconut and a spoonful of cashew butter

It tasted so indulgent. :mrgreen:

I haven’t been feeling well for most of the day.  😦  My throat is thick as pea soup, so I figured leftover mushroom and barley soup would be an appropriate lunch for me to have. 😉  The warm liquid and soft barley felt so good on my throat.  And since my appetite is still around, I added a grilled cheese sandwich on the side.

Eating this comforting bowl of soup reminded me of the book Mindless Eating and how much we can relate emotioin to food.  Soup, for example, always reminds me of being taken care of as a kid when I wasn’t feeling well.  So it just naturally feels comforting to eat it when I’m sick.  Funny how that works. 😀

Do you have any foods that you tie together with certain memories?

Dad and I went out for a 3-mile walk in which I did not feel an inkling of foot pain!!  But when I came home, my middle toe started feeling numb.  Now that I’m noticing it, my toe even looks a little crooked.  I asked my dad if my feet looked normal to him, and he answered by saying that we all have funny, squishy feet. :mrgreen:  After tomorrow though, I may end up calling the hospital to get it checked out.  I’m wondering if it’s related at all to my arch pain.  And besides that, I’d really like to get a second opinion on whether it’s okay for me to be walking on it and whether I can start reintroducing running or not.

Post walk, I snacked on 2 juicy clementines and a small handful of pistachios.

As much as I wanted hot for lunch, I wanted cold for dinner.  It’s been so long since I had a smoothie!

  • 1 c. soymilk
  • 2 c. spinach
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1/2 c. frozen blueberries
  • 1 T. crushed flax
  • 1 carrot, grated finely
  • topping: 2 T. flax granola

I felt so invigorated after this sweet blend of produce was in my belly. :mrgreen: 

I always have to satisfy that need to chew too!  Did you know that the very act of chewing releases serotonin, a feel good hormone?  I don’t know about you, but a smoothie just never satisfies me unless I have something to chew along side. 😀  I toasted a slice of whole wheat sourdough bread with a pat of peanut butter.

Green?  Blue?  What color is that smoothie?

Questions:

Smoothie…satisfying as a meal/snack or not?  I love it for dinner as long as I have something to chew with it. :mrgreen:  For some reason, it doesn’t do the trick for keeping me full in the morning hours though.

Do you have any foods that you tie together with certain memories?  Like I said earlier, soup reminds me of being a kid, not feeling well, and having my mom pamper me with toast and chicken noodle soup.  😀

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

13 thoughts on “Thick as Pea Soup

  1. I am glad you are having your foot looked at. I would do that too. Sometimes you don’t get any good feedback, but it never hurts!

    I hope you feel better soon.

    I always think of my mom when I hear someone talk about goulash. I hadn’t had it in years until I made it with her this week!

  2. I’m the same way–if I’m going to have a smoothie for a meal, I have to do it for dinner! I just don’t need as much energy at nighttime, so it’s a perfect small meal. I’ll have one in the morning if it’s pre- or post-workout, depending!

  3. I don’t know about memories, but I have really odd habits. I only like to have milk chocolate peanuts or peanut butter cups with soy yogurt. it makes no sense but that’s how I love it!

  4. I think a smoothie can be a good meal but I also need something to chew with it!

    I think pb on toast reminds me of being a kid because I was practically raised on that 🙂

  5. oooh I hope your food its okay! I’ll be thinking about you…

    Smoothies actually remind of my mom making me quick breakfasts…I always feel “homey” when I make smoothies – which don’t keep me full very long either. 😉 But I love them.

  6. Smoothies only work for me when I’m running late for work and I need something for the drive in… 🙂 Other than that, I usually need something with more substance. Hope your foot feels better soon!!

  7. Smoothies work for any meal when I am craving something light…..
    Glad you are getting your foot checked out.
    Have a great day!

  8. Glad the foot is better!

    Food memories–Chicken and Dumplings. That is the one thing that I never learned to cook before my Grandmother passed away. I grew up with a stool pulled up to her stove and working in her bookstore. To this day, I always think of her when I see chickin’ n’ dumplins (as we say in the south). Those are some fantastic memories. 🙂

    Smoothies—I would love to get past the green color in those green monsters I see you and Kath making. I do like citrus ones. I use a protein drink/smoothie after a very hard weight workout and occasionally after a run. I have to wait a while before eating, but I can usually drink something within 30 min. of weights. I try to get a protein smoothie in that way. I really think it helps with muscle recovery.

    • Love the memory of you and your grandmother!! I used to love watching my memere cook and her recipes always bring a flood of memories too. 😀

  9. Tons of food memories! I remember my Dad would fix me the chocolate cook and serve pudding when I was sick. Oooh, I miss that! He would also put butter on saltine crackers for me. Hey that is better than it sounds, trust me 😮
    Hpe you’re not getting sick!

Leave a Reply

