Livened up Leftovers

My morning included a chocolate mocha breakfast cookie, 20 minutes of strength training combined with yoga, and reading blogs.  I’m still getting through this cold/flu, but usually after the 4th day, I start feeling better *knock on wood*(!!)

Chocolate Mocha Breakfast Cookie:

  • 1/2 c. oats
  • 1 banana, mashed (saving 1/4 for the top)
  • 1 T. Teddy peanut butter
  • 2 T. unsweetened cocoa
  • splash of soymilk
  • 1-1/2 tsp. instant coffee

Mmmm…totally loved this combo! 😀  It was so intensely dark.

Now that I know my teacher is completely okay with my eating lunch in class, I’ve been straying away from sandwiches as much as possible and including more variety through leftovers.  I like saving the sandwich combos as my “back up plan.”  As far as making these concoctions, I’m sure there will be a few flops along the way, but this lunch was not one of them.  So incredibly yummy! 😀

  • 1/2 large sweet potato—cooked and diced
  • 1/2 c. garbanzo beans
  • large handful of spinach
  • 2 T. dried cranberries
  • 2 T. walnuts
  • splash of balsamic

Awesome!  I loved the sweetness of the potatoes mixed with the tart cranberries.  And the balsamic added just the right note of flavor. 

Packed and ready to go!

I also brought a pear for dessert and an apple for the morning ride.  The packed almonds went uneaten, but they’ll be there for tomorrow. 😀

Have I ever mentioned how much I love my Nutrition Counseling class?  I feel as if I’m absorbing all the information from the class and wishing I could absorb more.  I love watching counselors in action and watching how they feel out different situations and different clients.  Still not sure if counseling is where I want to end up, as far as my future career is concerned, but it’s a fun idea to think about! 

When I came home from classes, I was worn out.  I hate to admit that I had two sets of leftovers in one day, but…ur…it happens. 😉

I put together a quick salad with the last of the lettuce greens, a carrot and some leftover roasted turnip cubes…

And reheated the frozen lentil taco ‘s (click for recipe), which I ate with a whole wheat burrito and some 2% sharp cheddar cheese.  This stuff really reheats well!

I was dreaming of oranges and ginger ale all day, so I was super excited when mom presented me with a couple of  oranges and some diet ginger ale from the store.  Refreshing!

This week is simply flying by!  I need to finish up some homework assignments before I can relax for the rest of the night.

Simple Question (since my brain does not function properly when I’m sick :mrgreen: ): Favorite Fruit?  I always say bananas, but I actually can’t eat them unless they’re in something.  Weird, I know!  My favorite fruit that I can eat all by itself would have to be the orange and fresh, summer blueberries. 😀

This entry was posted in 1 and tagged , , by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

12 thoughts on “Livened up Leftovers

  1. Feel bettterrr!!!

    Your cookie looks like a pie served in that plate! Yum yum.

    Fave fruit would be peaches, but the fruit I eat most often are apples. Can’t wait for peach season!

  2. Your banana confession isn’t weird at all! I love the texture of bananas and it matches so many things so well, oatmeal, yogurt, sandwiches, peanut butter, frozen yogurt…that I feel like I’m “wasting” a banana that could have been matched with something else! So yes, I love bananas and fruits like cherries

  3. I am the same with bananas! I typically only like to eat berries, melon & pears by themselves.

    I think I would love to do Nutrition Counseling, just not sure when I could go back to school to get the degree it would require……..maybe some day…..I am only 32 years old! =)

Leave a Reply

