Full of Sunshine

 The old adage about only missing those things that we know we can’t have is so. very. true.  I’m not even talking about things like chocolate or pies, as true as that is too (hence the no deprivation/all moderation policy that I strongly encourage!)  I’m talking from personal experience about these two:

1) Running.  You’ve seen me running over the past week or so, but after waking up this morning with knee pain on my left inside knee, I raised my white flag and hung up my running shoes.  Just for a little while.  I’m going on at least a full week hiatus of just walking, biking, and strength training.  Part of me is looking forward to this new challenge of staying active without my running shoes, but the other part of me is already missing it!

2) Sunshine.  We’re expecting a full week of snow and rain this week!  I know I’ll be missing it as soon as it goes away, so upon waking up this morning, I made a pact to spend as much time outdoors as possible.  😀

Thankfully I’ll never have to do without blueberries.  The freezer is full of ’em. 😀

  • 1/4 c. each oatmeal and oatbran
  • 1 c. milk + 3/4 c. water
  • 1/2 banana, sliced thinly
  • 1/2 c. blueberries, frozen and dethawed–added at end
  • toppings: 2 T. walnuts, 2 T. granola, sprinkle of coconut

This bowl of oats was so fluffy and marshmallowy!  I wanted the sweetness of the banana to permeate throughout the bowl, so I sliced it extra thin.  I think that’s the secret for a pillowy bowl of oats. 😀

As an FYI, I always cook my blueberries first before adding them to my oats at the very end.  It dethaws them which prevents the oats from cooling down and becoming too watery.  I also separate the berries from the juices that leak out upon cooking. 

Ever since I had the tropical macadamia KIND bar, I’ve been wanting to try the rest of the flavors. 😀  Although I wasn’t too excited about that particular flavor, I absolutely loved this Almond Cashew bar!

My mom had been eyeing this flavor for a while too, so I split it between the two of us and had an orange on the side.  😉

The flavors were spot-on with sweet dates and cashews.  And I loved how chewy each bite was, along the crunch from the almonds.  The nutritional stats were pretty stellar too. 😀

With an effort to get my fill of sunshine, I finished up a good two hours worth of studying for my Human Resource Management exam and got ready for a bike ride.  The temperature reached 44 degrees this afternoon, so all I needed were my running tights and shorts, a light, long-sleeved T and a thin wool hat & gloves for warmth.  

My 11-mile ride was so delicious in every way.  It felt so good to have an energy outlet, and I really felt incredibly appreciative of the fact that I was exercising without any foot or knee pains.  My bike always seems to carry me through my injuries. 😀

When I came home I was absolutely starving for lunch!  I made a plate of steamed cauliflower, roasted brussels sprouts, a bit of brown rice (saving the rest for tomorrow’s packed lunch!) and baked cod.  The cod was cooked in one of my favorite ways.  Melt about 1/2 T. butter and add about 5 crushed, Organic Late July crackers with a bit of parsley.  This is enough for 1 pound of cod, and 1 pound of cod is about enough for 3 hungry people.  😀 

+ dessert

Mom and I went out for a leisurely conversation walk after lunch.  I savored the sunshine and mom-daughter time. :mrgreen:

I can’t get enough of this afternoon snack combo!  I think I’m re-falling in love with (raw) bananas.

  • 6-oz. plain yogurt
  • 2 T. crushed flax
  • 1/2 banana, sliced
  • 2 T. granola

After a chilly bowl of yogurt, I made myself a cup of tea. 

This is my current tea obsession.  It’s incredibly sweet despite not having any added sweeteners, and the cinnamon would make you swear you’re drinking a mug of spicy apple cider.  It satisfies my sweet tooth every time, and I especially love drinking a cup at night while I’m watching tv or reading. 😀

I couldn’t decide what I wanted for dinner tonight, and I finally settled on a “snack-styled” meal and went for a little bit of everything!

Simple side salad with about 1/2 c. garbanzo beans, a carrot,1/2 a tomato, and a few green olives…

A lil’ bit of leftovers from yesterday’s European cabbage and noodle dish, about 1/2 c. cottage cheese, and some Doctor Kracker Seeded Spelt crisps for dunking and crunch. 😀  It made for quite the unconventional meal, but it was exactly what I was in the mood for.

+ a night snack of All-Bran Strawberry Medley and milk. 😀

Have you ever noticed how white vegetables get a bad rap?  Think about it.  White cauliflower, white potatoes, parsnips, etc.  They’re all white in color and oftentimes are thought of as less nutritious then their vibrant counterparts.  However, they shouldn’t be avoided…good advice is to include all different colors on your plate for maximum nutrition.  And white is still a color! 😀 

  • 1 c. cooked White Cauliflower: 40calories, 5 g. fiber, 3 g. protein, 94% vitamin C, and 27% vitamin K.
  • 1 Medium White potatoe: 160calories, 5 g. fiber, 4 g. protein, 70% vitamin C, and almost 30% potassium (among other things) 
  • 1 9″ Parsnip: 110calories, 6 g. fiber, 2 g. protein, 35% vitamin C, and 23% folate.

What color are your favorite veggies?  I tend to eat a whole lot of orange and dark green!  Once summer rolls around, I can’t wait to start eating more purple in the form of fresh eggplants from the local farmers markets. 😀

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

13 thoughts on “Full of Sunshine

  1. ahhhh your pictures are always so gorgeous – they make me immediately hungry even if i have just eaten!

    thats so funny you mention about color, because i am pretty sure cauliflower is my fave veg and i always joke that ironically i love the one that is most “nutritionally void” a.k.a. white.

    and yes, we love to have things when we can’t. like warm temps, which i am craving now!!!

  2. Love your eats todsy!
    You’re right, white food does get bad press 😦 which is stupid, particuarly re parsnips – 100g of parsnip has more potassium than 100g banana!! Plus they are D E L I C I O U S!! My favourite colour veg is orange though – kabocha squash! Couldn’t live without the stuff 😀

  3. My fave veggies are dark green – broccoli!

    I felt that way when I couldn’t run for two months – so left out, so sad… I should have gotten into biking sooner. It’s great you could still go out for a long ride! 🙂

  4. Love the action shot of the milk being poured on your cereal. So pretty!
    My favorite veggies are also either orange (pumpkin, SP, carrots, squash) or green (broccoli, spinach, zucchini).

  5. wow everything looks delish, I totally know how you feel about the running I hurt my back over new year and haven’t been able to exercise properly since, I’m just starting to get better now. I can’t WAIT to run again and just exercise like normal!
    I think I love all the veggie colours variety is key x x

  6. Oh girl, I know allll about missing the things you can’t have (running!!). I had to take a break for many months this past summer. BUT it sounds like you are being smart and nipping that lil knee pain in the bud. Feel better soon!!

    Love the orange – it’s arranged so prettily 🙂

Leave a Reply

