Snowed In!

I don’t think I sleeped a wink last night!  The coconut presentation that I was preparing to do for this morning kept rerunning its way through my head.  This happens every time.  I don’t get nervous as much as I just want to make sure everything is perfect.

I ended up rolling out of bed at around 6 and made a big ol’ bowl of apples ‘n’ oats ‘n’ egg whites. 😀  This breakfast is so filling which is exactly what I wanted for this morning.

  • 1/4 c. each oatmeal and oatbran
  • 1/2 apple, diced
  • 1 c. milk + 3/4 c. water
  • 2 egg whites, stirred in at beginning and cooked with oats for 7-8 minutes on low
  • 2 T. crushed flax
  • toppings: 2 T. each of walnuts and granola

So fluffy!!

Then I checked the school’s website and lo and behold…classes were cancelled for a snow day!  There is at least a foot of snow outside and the thought of not having to un-bury my car and trek across campus made me more then happy. :mrgreen:

I decided, however, that I needed to take full advantage of my snow day in lines of homework.  I was feeling a little overwhelmed at the beginning of this week from having so much to do, so having this extra day to get things done came just when I needed it the most. 

Even though I had a bunch of packed snacks planned for today at school, I subbed in a dish of cottage cheese, half an apple and some cinnamon.  Love this combo!

Spending the day at home also meant I could be a little more creative with lunch.  I rummaged through the fridge and pulled out a ton of veggies and some Al Fresco Sweet Apple Chicken Sausages.  Time to roast!

  • 1.5 red bell pepper
  • cauliflower
  • broccoli
  • onion
  • 4 chicken sausages, diced
  • 1 T. olive oil
  • salt and pepper

I combined all the ingredients in a big bowl, placed on a sprayed cookie sheet, and roasted at 450 F for 25 minutes, flipping once in between cooking times.

While the veggies and sausage were roasting, I heated some brown rice in vegetable broth.  When everything was ready, I topped the rice and the roasted mix with some grated Asiago cheese.  This was so simple to prepare and super flavorful!  I almost added some maple syrup to the mix, but I’m glad I didn’t.  The sweet sausages shared their sweetness with all the veggies and the roasted veggies had a sweetness all of their own.

The entire mix served 4 hungry people. 😀

+ a cup of sweet apple cinnamon tea

Today was mostly a rest day, but I did manage to squeeze in 20 minutes of arms and abs.  Followed by a delicious snack of Doctor Kracker Seeded Spelt crisps, which I topped with a laughing cow and a dab of homemade blueberry jam.   This snack will never get old. 😀

+ a juicy pear

Knee update: I’m still laying low on running or doing anything to bother it (i.e., bicycle crunches, running down stairs, squats/lunges, etc.)  If it’s still in pain by Monday, I’m bringing my knee and foot problems to the doctor.  I don’t mind taking a rest from running as long as I know I’m doing everything possible to get back to normal in the meantime. 😉

After a quick walk in the woods (and snow–so much snow!) I made dinner, which included a large salad (1/2 c. black beans, carrot, 1/2 red bell pepper, mesculin mix, and olive oil with balsamic and garlic) and Southwestern Quinoa (click for recipe.)  Even though the red quinoa tasted the same as white quinoa, I loved the red color for a fun twist. 😀  

+ a night snack of All Bran Strawberry Medley and milk

I’m super sleepy tonight, but expect a breakfast cookie tutorial very soon! :mrgreen:

G’night!

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

17 thoughts on “Snowed In!

  1. Ah I hope we don’t get any more snow. I don’t think I can take being snowed in again!

    I wish there were a vegan version to this eggwhite method!

  2. Okay, silly question. You said that your baked chicken sausages and veggies (which looked amazing, by the way) were enough to serve 4 hungry people. Who was the mystery fourth person? Is Matty home? Sooooo glad you had a snow-day, because it was awful out there yesterday!!!

    • Haha…I think I was tired last night. 😉 I meant to say *three* hungry people…with one leftover meal [for someone who is hungry, maybe? ha :mrgreen: ]

  3. WHat a great day! It reminds me of stolen time…..A walk in the woods sounds great. I miss those days of utter peace and quiet and lots of snow to play in. I used to get my snow shoes out and go……Hope your presentation goes well!

  4. oh man, that lunch looks AMAZING! do you ever have times where you eat a big handful of chocolate or candy? i feel like you are so balanced all the time, i have to wonder!

    have a great day girl 🙂

    • Haha…yes, I totally have moments like that! Usually it happens around midterms and finals when I’m craving sweet carbs with a capital “C”. :mrgreen:

  5. Do you get all your produce from a regular grocery store, farmers market or CSA? I’m finding regular grocery stores dont really have good quality produce… at least out here in Cali.

    But when i was on the EC last year it was even worse.

    • I’ve been lucky enough to find some decent produce around here in the regular grocery stores, but it’s kind of off/on. Some weeks they are full of great produce, and other weeks I skip over the tomatoes/cucumbers because they’re way too soggy. Once spring rolls around, I’ll be switching to more local things that I can find in farmers markets. 😀

Leave a Reply

