Spring Vacation

**Tomorrow is the last day of the sweet potato challenge! 😀  Remember, nothing is too small or too great to be entered. 😉  Just let me know when you post the picture on your blog, and I’ll post them all up on Saturday for all to admire. :mrgreen: 

Twas a busy morning, but I was totally a-ok with that, because it’s also the first day of spring vacation after my 4pm class.  :mrgreen:

I started the day with two large slices of French toast.

  • 1 whole egg + 2 egg white
  • splash of milk
  • cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves
  • 1 T. flax
  • 1 T. raisins
  • 2 large slices of whole wheat sourdough bread (dunked in the above mixture)
  • toppings: 1 T. peanut butter + 1 banana

With a belly full of breakfast and a cup of coffee, I was ready for the gym!

Elliptical: 2.5 miles, resistance 11
Treadmill: 1.0 mile, 5.0% incline, 4.4 mph
Elliptical: 1.5 mile, resistance 11-12 intervals
Stairmaster: 10 minutes, 8% incline

I’m trying to extend the time that I spend on the elliptical in one go.  I have a tough time mentally staying on the machine for much longer then 15-20 minutes, but I think if I can get through this, it will help me hold on to more of my running endurance. 

Once home, I quickly set out to do my knee and foot stretches.  I’m curious to see what the physical therapist will give me for “homework” tomorrow morning! 😀

I made good use of my knee icing time by studying for today’s quiz and munching on a snack: 6-oz. plain yogurt with 1 T. crushed flax, 1/2 a chunky bran muffin and a tsp of peanut butter. 

Thursdays usually throw me into an “end of week” economic mindset, as I clean out the fridge and combine whatever leftovers I can find to call it lunch. 😀  Today’s hodge-podge included:

  • leftover brown rice with peas (about a cup)
  • 1/2 c. garbanzo beans
  • leftover broccoli and carrots, steamed (about a cup)
  • “dressing”: 1 tsp olive oil and balsamic vinegar (because what doesn’t balsamic taste good on? :mrgreen:)

Sometimes I forget to add a bit of oil to my lunches, but I try to remember.  Not only does it add such a great mouth feel to the entire dish, it also aids in the absorption of the important fat-soluble vitamins.  If the meal itself doesn’t have fat in it, it’s a good idea to add a bit through healthy olive oil, avocados, nuts, etc. 😀 

Along with my concoction, I packed an orange as well as a pear with some almonds for an afternoon snack.  I ended up stopping by Starbucks for a tall soy misto too since I had some extra time between classes.  It was so nice sipping a hot misto while reading some fresh new magazines.  😀 

Once my last class was complete, I happily drove home with the country music blaring on the radio.  Vacation leaves me just a little on the happy side. 😉

Soon enough there was pizza on the table, along with a huge side salad.  I was absolutely starving tonight for some reason…I’m pretty sure I could have eaten an entire pizza if it was put in front of me. 😉  I ate the first slice, then moved on to the voluminous salad which slowed me down.

Still feeling a little grumbly, I went for a second slice.  So delicious…it was piled high with green peppers, broccoli, mushrooms, onions and black olives.  My absolute favorite toppings. 😀

Tomorrow morning I have an early physical therapy appointment.  I can’t wait to hear what they have to say and I plan on asking them about the causes of my knee pain so I can prevent it in the future.  I have a feeling it’s related to week quad muscles, and possibly overpronation of my foot.  I haven’t ruled out weak hips either, hence my adding hip strengtheners to my daily stretches too.

Ready to do some R-E-L-A-X-I-N with tea, LIFE cereal and Everybody Loves Raymond reruns. :mrgreen:

Question: Favorite Pizza Topping?  I love any and all veggies on my pizza…especially ‘shrooms and broccoli!   Pineapple is a nice addition too. 😀

This entry was posted in 1 and tagged , , , by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

12 thoughts on “Spring Vacation

  1. Ahhh I forgot about the sweet potato challenge!! Booo…maybe I’ll have time to squeeze in a recipe tomorrow. Otherwise, I DID include veggies in a fantastic veggie bowl yesterday on my blog, does that count? I’ll email you with a real entry it I have time tomorrow. 😉

  2. Mmm french toast – I’m having it for bfast tomorrow!

    And I’ve had sweet p’s every day this week and posted pictures. I don’t know if that “qualifies” but I’d love to be involved!

  3. gosh i had all intentions of participating in the challenge even bought my sweets but never got around to it! sorry…..it was a fab idea though 😉

  4. As long as there is no meat and the crust is nice and toasty on the bottom, I can’t even be bothered to notice what is ontop of it all!

    🙂

    Good luck with your doctor’s apointment.

Leave a Reply

