St. Patty

We’re celebrating St. Patrick’s Day a little early this year in my house, which means I’m feeling a wee bit on the Irish side today. :mrgreen: I considered going green with breakfast too, but that will have to wait until the “official” holiday. 😉

This morning it was part raining, part snowing.  And it was dark.  And I was tired.  And my alarm was going off.  And I had planned on going to the gym.

Yep, it took some serious energy to roll out of bed, but I finally did.  Having a yummy bowl of overnight oats to look forward to helped out just a [wee] bit. 😉

  • 1/2 c. oatmeal
  • 1/2 c. canned pumpkin
  • 1/4 c. milk
  • cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves
  • next morning: 6-oz yogurt and topped with a scoop of peanut butter and cranberry sauce

My Nutrition Counselor professor had said something that rings so true: “People oftentimes say that they don’t work out because they don’t have the energy…they’re just too tired.  People who exercise know that the opposite is true.  Exercising gives you energy.”

This was exactly what happened to me this morning.  I walked into the gym still half-asleep and left feeling so invigorated. 😀

Elliptical: 3 miles
Treadmill: 1 mile, 5% incline, 4.4mph
Elliptical: 1 mile

I quickly showered and headed over to my Physical Therapy appointment.  I ate this new Natures Path Berry Strawberry Granola bar that I had packed as an emergency snack too…

I really liked it!

It reminded me of the Special K bars, only it seemed larger to me?  It was super sweet and probably wouldn’t keep me full for very long, but it was perfect as a little snack to tide me over until lunch.

I receieved a ton of homework from my Physical Therapist today.  Between stretching, exercisin, strengthening and icing, I’m going to be a busy girl. 😉  I’m supposed to do this repetition of events at least twice a day to help loosen up my quads. 

Quick lunch, since I came home much later today than I was planning!

  • mesculin mix
  • carrot
  • cucumbers
  • tomatoes
  • garbanzo beans (about 1/4 c.) 
  • 1/4 block of raw tempeh
  • 1/4 avocado
  • topping: balsamic and orange juice

+  a cheesy quesadilla with some chunky salsa

And grapefruit slices for dessert!

My mom was driving my grandmother to the doctors today, which means I suddenly realized that I was in charge of cooking the St. Patty’s Day Boiled Dinner and an Irish Soda bread!  I was a little skeptical, but took Nicole’s words to heart.  A boiled dinner is supposedly easy to make, so I convinced myself that it was totally possible. 😉

I had a st patty “inspirational” snack in the form of green.

  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • huge, huge handful of spinach
  • 1 c. milk
  • 1/4 c. wheat bran
  • topping: last of the Vanilla Almond Galaxy Granola (about 3 T.)

So.  Much.  Fun. to eat the granola off the bottom of the bowl.  I pat it down and let it sink, because it’s the best way to finish a Green Monster. :mrgreen:

My fear over preparing the holiday dinner was totally not worth it.  A boiled dinner is really super easy to make.  Simply throw the meat, the carrots, the cabbage and a few onions into a large pot.  Bring to a boil, and simmer for 2-1/2 to 3 hrs.  It doesn’t get any easier!

The Irish Soda Bread was super easy too, courtesy of Bon Appetit! 😀  It came out hearty, rustic and crumbly— like a mix between scones and biscuits! 😀

The boiled dinner tasted fabulous.  Corned beef is not the leanest of meats, by any means, but it’s a fun once-a-year treat.  I look forward to it on every St. Patricks’ Day. 😀

On the side, we had boiled red poatoes.

My dad has converted me into loving seedy mustards.  Perfect with corned beef!!

+ a teeny glass of Guinness–of course!

This glass holds literally about two sips.  I’m not one for drinking a full glass, so this is the perfect way to “just taste it.”  😉

Night snack! 

  • 6-oz. plain yogurt
  • 1 T. crushed flax
  • 1/2 whole wheat pumpkin and raisin muffin
  • 1/2 banana

I am super tired tonight!  My room is being completely revamped, and I’m quickly discovering that it’s exhausting.  But in a good way, because it’s really starting to take shape.  I’m going after a light and airy beachy theme. 😀 

Busy shopping today planned for tomorrow, so I’m off to relax! 😀

Question: How do you celebrate St. Patrick’s Day?  Or, if you don’t usually celebrate it, what’s your favorite green food? 😀 

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

18 thoughts on “St. Patty

  1. I celebrate it by celebrating my birthday, which is the same day 😀

    This year, I’ll be with my mom and grandparents, which is good because for the first time, I’m hating turning older. So, we will be shopping, trying new recipes and eating birthday enchiladas! I’ll have green beads on even during my morning run.

  2. Ohh I’ve never had irish soda bread! Maybe I should bake something for St. Patrick’s day??

    My favorite green food would have to be BROC and guac (hah that rhymed :D)

  3. I usually celebrate with corned beef and cabbage. But this year I might use St. Patty’s Day as my first shot at making a green monster. It seems like everyone LOVES them but I’m skeptical on if I’ll like the taste!

  4. Corned beef and cabbage will be on the menu tomorrow night. And as far as my favorite green food? I love brussel sprouts! I just realized how many green things I like.

  5. My husband is Irish. We lived in Dublin but we’re now in Canada so our St. Patrick’s Day celebrations are much calmer than they used to be!

    A few pints of Guinness are usually had…though I think I’m off alcohol this week so it’s going to be very, very strange.

  6. Aahh you got me so excited for St. Patty’s Day! I absolutely love corned beef and cabbage and the thought of eating green foods! Your smoothie looks great and so does lunch- love tempeh and avocado salads! Have a great day!

  7. I plan on some steel cut oats (from a tin!) for breakfast, a special tea cup full of Irish breakfast tea, some Irish soda bread & Kerrygold butter, and some other Irish fare.

    Your bread looks so perfectly Irish!
    🙂

  8. MMM I LOVE Guinness! I miss beer : (

    I’ll be wearing my green on St. Patty’s for sure, but otherwise it’ll be a pretty standard day for moi.

  9. never seen those nature’s path bars, but i love all their cereals so i am sure i would be a fan. love the way you eat grapefruit! happy st pat’s!!

  10. I’ve never celebrated St Patrick’s Day before. Coming from an Asian culture, it’s kind of hard to be exposed to these festivals! But! Next year I WILL try it! I love the green in that bowl with the granola…and ah, what a great dinner!

  11. Wow. All your food looks fantastic! I never thought of cranberry sauce in oats, but I imagine it would be delicious! I’ll definitely try it sometime. I love Soda Bread and could eat an entire loaf myself!

    I haven’t really celebrated the day since college, but I will be checking out some of the parade today! Kale is my new favorite green food. That or pistachio ice cream!!

  12. i have to say – that comment about exercising is SO TRUE. whenever i feel tired, i remind myself i will feel SO MUCH MORE energetic after working out!

    and i love the irish dinner – and that beer cup is adorable!

Leave a Reply

