Filled with G-R-E-E-N

So.  Much.  G*R*E*E*N!

I could not get enough GREEN today!

Unfortunately, my Green Monster came out with more of a blue/gray hue, due to the blueberry addition. 😉  Totally okay though, since it tasted especially yummy today!

  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 2 c. kale (not for the newbie to the green monster…you can definitely pick up the kale flavor in these smoothies, but I like it that way! 😀 )
  • 2 c. spinach
  • 1/2 c. frozen blueberries
  • 1/4 c. wheat bran
  • topping: 1 T. Galaxy Granola

On the side I had two slices of my homemade Irish soda bread, toasted, with about a tablespoon of cashew butter and a teaspoon of strawberry jam. 

This bread is fabulous toasted.  It tastes exactly like a scone. 😀 

Yummy breakfast!

The sun came out to play today, and I couldn’t resist going outdoors! 

At first I considered going out for a bike ride, because the warm weather was perfect for it.  However–and here’s a confession–I don’t have a bike helmet!  I know it’s horrible that I was biking previously without the much-needed protection, and today I decided that there will be no more bike rides until I make that investment.  When it’s for safety, there really shouldn’t be any messing around!

Second choice?  Gym.  But the weather was much too nice for that.

Instead, I ended up going out for a long walk/run.  There’s been a lot going on with my Memere lately, and she’s really been having a rough time with her health.  The entire family is going a bit crazy with worry, and I silently prayed that I could run without pain.  “Please, God, just let me run…I need to run.”  I found some level spots and started trotting along, while wearing my knee brace and I felt absolutely no pain whatsoever (YAY!)  Walking and running in the sun was such an outlet for me today and I felt eons better by the end.  

Quick snack: orange and some almonds with plenty of icing thrown in for good measure 😉 

Tuna melts have always been one of my most favorite sandwiches.  It was my signature sandwich that I always ordered whenever going to the restaurant, Friendlys, as a kid.  I still enjoy the homemade version just as much…there’s something about ooey-gooey cheese melted on top of tuna with a crispy, toasted bread.  Yum!

  • 5-oz can of chunk light tuna (always choose light over albacore…much, much less mercury!)
  • diced green bell pepper (all out of celery :mrgreen: )
  • 1 tsp mayonnaise

I also wanted to incorporate some of this into my lunch.  I am not a salsa person ( you guys know me and my dislike for spicy foods :mrgreen: ) but my Dad picked this one up at the store last week, and I really like it.  It’s a bit on the spicy side, but it’s so chunky and has a deep red color that reminds me of fresh summer salsa.  And the ingredient list is so simple. 😀

So I topped about 3/4 of a green pepper (green, green, green!!) with the stuff.

Loved this lunch! 

Lots of homework this afternoon!  And a yummy snack too: chocolate rice cake with chunky peanut butter

Mom and I both needed an excursion outdoors this afternoon for some sunshine and warmth.  So we headed out for a slow-paced 4-mile walk which felt so refreshing and energizing.  I absolutely love long walks.  Especially when it’s 63 degrees out—that always helps. 😉

Dinner involved more—you guessed it–-green.  I sautéed one whole zucchini with balsamic vinegar, basil and garlic powder.  There was also steamed asparagus on the side, which I topped off with a spritz of lemon and salt & pepper.  Asparagus goes so well with the citrusy zing of lemon! 

I made some homemade hummus, but was much too lazy to pull out the food processor.  Instead I made the “cheater version,” which is simply chickpeas mashed really well with a fork. :mrgreen:  Into the mashed bowl, I added some lemon, balsamic vinegar, cayenne pepper, garlic powder and cumin.  I never would have guessed that hummus is good on top of a sweet potato, but now I’m totally addicted. 😀

Nicolie bought me this mug a long time ago, and I totally adore it.  Usually it’s my tea mug, because it holds a good amount of hot water (although I’m thinking it would make the perfect coffee mug 😉 ) but tonight I turned it into a snack mug.

  • 6-oz. plain yogurt
  • 1 T. crushed flax
  • 3/4 c. Trader Joe’s Berry O’s (tastes like honey nut cheerios with freeze-dried berries!)
  • 1/2 banana

While snacking, I settled down and helped my mom make a big batch of jam cookies for my Memere (the recipe is under the “Recipe” section at the top of the blog, if you’re interested!)  This is an old French-Canadian recipe that calls for Crisco which felt so funny to use.  But at the same time, it felt so wrong to use anything else!   I remember watching my Memere make batch after batch of cookies.  She’d throw random ingredients into a big mixing bowl, never measuring a thing.

They come out plump and golden every time. 😀

Tomorrow is a busy day, but it’s also supposed to be sunny and gorgeous as ever.  I think another long walk is going to be in order, along with some strength training and yoga.  And maybe a trip to pick up a bicycle helmet. 😉

Hope you’ve all had a Happy St. Patty’s Day!

Question: What is the perfect temperature?  72 degrees and sunny… 😀  Although, if I’m running, the “perfect” temperature would be about 60 degrees.

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

24 thoughts on “Filled with G-R-E-E-N

  1. Oh, and I totally have a bike helmet that you can borrow until you buy one of your own. I have the helmet but no bike at this point, so I won’t need it for a little while. 🙂

  2. 60 degrees is the perfect running weather. Cool enough when you start, but you still have a good sweat by the end!

    I had leftover soda bread this morning too, so good.

    I’m so sorry to hear about your grandmother, I am thinking of you and your family.

  3. Thanks for giving me permission to eat peanut butter (or other nut butters) twice a day. For a while I wouldn’t eat them AT ALL, but they are so good and healthy, so I allow myself 1 tablespoon a day. Sometimes I want more though! And your cookies look fantastic.

  4. Was that Teddy’s PB I saw? Love Teddy’s!

    Too many good eats in that blog. I just had breakfast but you’ve created an awful lot of cravings in this bod!

    My perfect strolling temperature is about 78 F.
    For running, about 45 – 55 deg. I’m so not an extremes person. Not too cold, not too hot. I should move to California!

    • Teddy’s is amazing, isn’t it? I can’t enjoy any other peanut butter in quite the same way. 😀

      Oh, and I’m with you on the Californian weather. That sounds so perfect. 😀

  5. I’m glad you were able to get your stress out with your walk/run. It’s so nice to be able to move around outside again without freezing our buns off!

    And that dinner looks so fab.

  6. That’s great that you were able to run pain-free! I’ll be keeping your Memere in my prayers and thoughts!

    And those jam cookies look amazing!!

    78 degrees and sunny all the way. Running? 65ish.

  7. Those cookies and dinner look so good!
    I am loving the recipe for your lazy hummus and will be having that very soon. 🙂

    I hope things get easier for your Memere.

  8. green bel pepper in tuna instead of celery is genius! can i steal that idea?! love all your greeeeen eats! i like 70’s for temp. utah is perfect in the summer.. not too hot!

    • Would you believe me if I said that I’ve actually never tried tahini? Crazy, right? I need to add this to my list of foods to try. 😉

  9. I’m so glad that you could run! Sounds like it was much needed – you and your Memere are in my prayers. 🙂

    Perfect temp…HOT, like 90* and super sunny. I’m not comfortable unless I’m completely warm. And I don’t get warm if it isn’t hot outside.

Leave a Reply

