SUNday

Last night I put together a gingerbread breakfast cookie (check the recipe section!) so that I could sleep in a bit later this morning, knowing that breakfast would be quick ‘n’ easy.  I ended up getting up early anyways, and was able to fit in my knee exercises before leaving for church.  A good, productive morning—love that! 😀

Served with a glass of milk for its protein boost!

+ lots of water—I felt dehydrated this morning!

Before lunch, I headed out for a 3-mile walk, after snacking on a cheesestick with some crackers…

Lunch was yummy!  I made a grilled cheese sandwich with two slices of whole wheat bread and a slice of American cheese.  Then I threw a couple slices of turkey onto the frying pan to heat it up, and layered it in the sandwich with some lettuce and tomato.  Plus some kale chips and a carrot on the side.

The kitties needed another bath today, so I made my way over to Nicole’s house to help her out.  Once the job was done, we settled down and chillaxed with one of Nicole’s newest cookbooks, mmm’ing over all the possibilities.  Fresh new cookbooks are so fun! 😀

While browsing through the recipes, we sipped on our ice coffees (1 c. chilled coffee + 1/2 c. milk + 1 tsp sugar).

And I snacked on one of Nicole’s homemade Snickerdoodles.  These were soooo yummy!  Crunchy on the outside, chewy on the inside.  And full of cinnamon bliss. 😀

The afternoon practically flew by, but—thanks to the time change—there was still plenty of daylight when I came home.  I quickly grabbed half an apple and went out for a quickie pre-dinner walk with my dad.  Fun walk! 😀

Special pre-dinner treat: shrimp!!

I love shrimp.  It’s such an awesome, lean protein choice, and it always feels like a real splurge because we only buy it every once in a great while. 😀  The three of us split this yummy shrimp ring.

Easy Peazy dinner!!

Leftover minestrone soup and a slice of ciabatta with a pat of butter.

Slice #2!

Fruit makes the perfect dessert.  A sweet and juicy orange completely hit the spot!

Tonight I had a crunchy bowl of Shredded Oats and milk for a night snack…yum!

I have an early morning planned tomorrow (i.e., physical therapy and gym!) so I’m off to relax before bed! 😀

Question: Do you prefer your sandwiches grilled or served cold?  Definitely grilled!  I like my sandwiches crispy. :mrgreen:

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

19 thoughts on “SUNday

  1. Nicoles snickerdoodles Look picture perfect–it’s a bit scary really 🙂
    My sandwiches are always cold. Come to think of it, I don’t eat sandwiches much, either, so I’d be a bad judge of temperature.

  2. mm- looks like a day of delicious eats! I agree – those snickerdoodles do look perfect, and that shot of the iced coffee is giving me the itch for one!
    I grill (actually – panini press!) just about every wrap I eat, no matter what, haha. I guess the exception is if it’s an egg white & hummus wrap, where I prefer it cold. If I don’t have any hardboiled eggs, though – it’s a fried egg instead, and that puppy’s definitely panini’d 🙂

  3. Grilled – Gluten free bread is so much better that way. Or freshly baked bread still warm.

    And Sarah, please excuse this silly question, but: Why do you always have a post dinner snack? Are you hungry before bed?

    • Yep, I’m always a little hungry before bed. Dinner is at 5, which means there’s a good 5-6 hours of doing stuff before hitting the hay. I can’t remember the last time that I felt I *didn’t* want a night snack. 😉

    • Crate and Barrel! They have tons of cute spoons and silverware. Every time I go in there, I have to force myself not to buy out the entire store. 😀

  4. Love shrimps, especially with cocktail sauce and garlic sauce…reminds me of summer!
    Have a great week!

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  5. Yum! Your eats look good! I think it depends on the sandwich though. Yesterday, I had my bread toasted but some things are better cold.

  6. My sandwich preferences change with the season – in the winter, grilled sounds so much more appealing, but in the summer – cold is more appetizing!

  7. I definitely prefer mine warm/hot. That is actually how I like most of my foods- I even let my ice cream sorbets get melty before I enjoy them. I think that maybe it is because heat accentuates flavors or something. That, or I just like warm things in my tummy.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

