Black Bean #1

I had an early morning of classes this morning, but I also wanted to fit in a workout and a big bowl of oats.  No problem!  Last night I prepared all the oat ingredients so I could simply get up and cook them on the stovetop.  This gave me a little extra time to sit down and eat s-l-o-w-l-y this morning, which is always a good thing! 😀

  • 1/4 c. oatmeal
  • 1/4 c. oatbran
  • 1/4 c. wheatbran
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1 c. milk + 1 c. water
  • toppings: 1/2 whole wheat pumpkin muffin, dollop of cranberry sauce and a scoop of creamy peanut butter

Then it was time to fit in a fun, sweaty workout!

  • Elliptical: 3-miles, resistance 10
  • Treadmill: 1-mile, 4.4 mph
  • Elliptical: 1-mile, resistance 10

Followed up with lots of knee and leg exercises + ice, ice, ice!!  Can’t wait to pick up a foam roller of my own by the end of the week. 😀

There was a bit of rushing and scrambling to get ready when I came home.  At least I had time to make a green monster-to-go!  This one was super yummy and was made up of 3 c. spinach, 1 c. milk, 1/2 banana and a splash of vanilla.  It was fun to sip on route. 😀

Black Bean Challenge!!!

This is entry #1 for me.  And my, oh my, was it a yummy one!  Highly recommend trying this black bean dip! 😀

  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 T. olive oil
  • 1 T. lime juice
  • 2 big scoops of salsa
  • liberal amount of cumin
  • liberal amount of garlic powder

It came out fluffy and perfect!  The flavor was all there.  Don’t be skimpy on the garlic and cumin! 😀

I turned it into my lunch!

  • 1/3 black bean dip
  • 1/2 cucumber, diced
  • 1 carrot, shredded finely
  • 1/4 c. feta cheese
  • cajun powder sprinkled on top

It made a fabulous dip for my kashi crackers! 😀

I also packed a pear, an apple, some almonds and a cheesestick to carry me through my afternoon classes.

Dinner tasted awesome tonight!

  • baked cod with a bit of butter and organic “ritz-like” crackers
  • brown rice cooked in vegetable broth
  • steamed asparagus
  • cramberry sauce
  • sauteed summer squash and onions in a bit of olive oil

Yummy and satisfying! 😀

This morning, my mom had baked my Memere some homemade vanilla custard.  There was one small portion left in the fridge, which I was pretty excited about.  Custard is such a unique dessert.  The main ingredients are eggs, milk (1% was used) and a bit of sugar, topped off with a sprinkle of nutmeg.

It tastes brilliant when chilled!  I think custard is one of those things you either love or hate…some people are put off by the texture and sweet, “eggy” flavour. 😉  I think it’s delightful and creamy!

I topped mine with a bit of peanut butter—totally not authentic, but totally delicious! :mrgreen:

Off to make a snack and get my stuff ready for another busy day tomorrow! 

Question: Since it’s raining out where I live—What’s your favorite part about a rainy day?  I love the calmness of it!  Going for a walk in the rain is actually one of my favorite ways to enjoy it. Everyone is indoors where it’s warm and dry, and there’s just something really cozy about it all. 😀

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

16 thoughts on “Black Bean #1

  1. My favorite part about the rain is the water! That sounds silly but I grew up on an island with cisterns and you have to buy water if you don’t get enough rain.

    I loooove custard, yours looks delicious!

  2. I love the black bean dip! I’m still brainstorming on my creation 😉

    I actually like rainy days every once in a while. It’s good to watch movies or listen to music 😀

  3. I LOVE that black bean dip lunch you made – so fresh looking! Yummmmy. Also, I love custard, I’ve never made it, but that pictures makes me want to!

  4. great workout and i love your black bean dip!
    i like the calmness about a rainy day too and sitting in front of a fire with some good tea 🙂

  5. Ugh it rained here for 48 hours straight. But now the sun is shining – yay! So I guess I’d say my favorite thing about the rain is when it stops and the sun comes out!

  6. Could you please post the instructions on how to do “Oats In A Jar”???

    As I have 2 empty jars of peanut butter in my cabinet waiting to become “Oats In A Jar”, however I have never done it so I need some help!

    THANK YOU, Laura =)

    P.S. Great “healthy eats” as always…..

  7. Pingback: Best for Last « Running To Slow Things Down

Leave a Reply

