Best for Last

Fast-paced morning!!  Still fit in some oats though. :mrgreen: 

  • 1/4 c. oatmeal
  • 1/4 c. oatbran
  • 1/4 c. wheat bran
  • 1/2 banana, sliced
  • cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves (mad dash of each)
  • 1 c. milk + 1 c. water
  • toppings: 1/2 whole wheat pumpkin muffin, big scoop of peanut butter and a dollop of cranberry sauce

I have a tough time going to the gym more than two days in a row, so I decided to take this morning to stay home and catch up with yoga, strength and knee exercises.  I felt so wonderfully loose afterwards.  Funny how I used to hate strength training, and I’m now growing to love it.  There are always new moves to try, and it doesn’t take long to see effects or to realize that—yes!—I can do more repeititions than when I first started.  Awesome, sweaty workout! 😀

Spending time at home to workout also saved me 40 minutes of there-and-back commuting, which means I had a bit of extra time for homework.  Double bonus!

I packed my lunch so I could eat while in my Nutrition Counseling class today.  Started with a simple side salad topped with garbanzo’s, a carrot and a spritz of balsamic & orange juice…

…rounded out with the last of the black bean dip sandwiched between a sweet potato.

…and finished with a juicy pear.

I also packed along some snacks for the afternoon: an orange, a cheesestick and some almonds.

I seriously love this time change.  It took me forever to adjust to the change, but it’s been so nice to come home and have the extra time to go for a pre-dinner walk!  This was even after visiting my grandparents (i.e., 6:00)  Oh how I love the spring and the longer daylight hours. 😀

We have an (over)abundance of eggs in the house right now—don’t ask me why.  It definitely gave me good reason to cook up some fried eggs though! (well—that, and the fact that I was cooking solo tonight 😉 )

  • 1 whole egg + 2 egg whites
  • 1 whole wheat english muffin 

Post-photo, I promptly oozed on some ketchup. :mrgreen:

On the side I had a dish of yogurt for some sweetness…

  • 6-oz. yogurt
  • 1/2 c. frozen blueberries (popped in the microwave for 20 seconds)
  • 1 T. Galaxy Granola

Love this combo!

But tonight, I saved the best for last!

Roasted veggies are so yummy and healthy!  And it’s hard to mess things up.  Throw your favorite random veggies together, add some spices and bake at 425 until browned and tender, flipping now and then.  Simple!

Veggies are running low in my house, but I conjured up 1/4 a cauliflower, 1/2 an onion and a carrot.  I added a tsp of olive oil for some healthy fats (and to add that nice texture!), and sprinkled on some salt & pepper, paprika, and garlic.

Yum…YUM…Y-U-M!!!

My last Endangered Species Chocolate Bar happens to be Milk Chocolate.  And tonight I just so happened to be in the mood for milk chocolate (this is a rare moment for me…I’m a dark chocolate kind of girl!)

But this went perfect with a bit of peanut butter—my sweet tooth was completely satisfied. 😀

+ night snack: Trader Joe’s raisin bran with milk

Tomorrow’s plans?  Early morning gym and a major exam.  After that, things will start to slow down for the rest of the week which means I can finally catch up on some blog reading! 😀

Question: Do you change your eating habits based on stress/business levels?  I don’t, unless I get extremely overtired.  That’s when I tend to mindlessly eat or crave foods that I normally don’t even like!!  In other words, this girl needs her sleep. 😉

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

12 thoughts on “Best for Last

  1. I love having scrambled eggs for dinner – or anytime!

    I also am curious about wheat bran. What is the taste/texture like and how do you cook it?

    When I’m stressed I usually forget to eat. Bad, I know!

  2. LOVE the look of that potato/black bean sandwich. Gonna put that on my lunch menu. I tend to eat food that doesn’t take long to make (like yogurt/granola) when I’m super tired. But, since I have kids, I can’t NOT make dinner, pack lunches, whip up breakfast, so there is usually something fairly healthy I can grab. I’m with Christine, though. A bottle of red wine can be heard popping open after kids are in bed if I’m exhausted and need to crawl in bed with a book.

  3. I am loving that sweet potato sandwich 🙂 So portable – what a good idea for lunches! I feel like I’m stressed ALL the time, hah, so I don’t really know what my eating would be like if I wasn’t!!

Leave a Reply

