Question & Answer

Time to get to some questions and answers that you guys had over the past few posts! 😀

Q: what does wheat bran do in oats? does it fluff up?

Wheat bran—the outer coating of wheat (kind of similar to that outer coating of an almond!)—is a great source of fiber (6g in 1/4 c.), protein (2g) and contains a ton of other important nutrients (vitamin B6, iron, niacin, potassium, etc.) 

I love adding it to my morning bowl of oats, partially because of the extra fiber and other nutrients, and partially due to the fact that it really does add some serious volume.  If you find that you’re hungry not long after eating your morning bowl of oats, or would like to add some extra fiber to your diet, give wheat bran a try!  Just add it in slowly and drink plenty of water.  Never add too much fiber all at once or you’ll feel the effect through bloating and stomach issues! 😉

Q: I also am curious about wheat bran. What is the taste/texture like and how do you cook it?

The taste in and of itself really reminds me of that outer coating of an almond (in other words, it doesn’t taste like much! :mrgreen:)  It doesn’t change the taste of your oats, and the texture won’t change much either.  It’s super easy to cook.  I add it to my oats during the last minute of cooking, or add it to my oats the night before when making “overnight oats.”  You can also add a sprinkle to your morning cereal or salad without cooking it. 

Q: Could you please post the instructions on how to do “Oats In A Jar”???

Love, love, l-o-v-e oats in a jar!  And best of all, it’s super easy to put together. 😀  It’s as simple as it sounds.  Simply cook your oats as normal and fill up your almost-but-not-quite empty nut butter jar.  I prefer the oats to be hot, but overnight [cold] oats work well too.  So yummy! 😀

Q:  Yes! Those bedtime snacks.  The reason I asked is because food is fuel, and if you are hungry before you go to bed, why eat because then you will be feeding yourself only to sleep?

You’re right—food is fuel! 😀 

I strongly believe in intuitive eating, which means eating when I feel hungry and stopping when I’m full…regardless to the time of day.  I find that a small snack such as a bowl of cereal or yogurt (something higher in protein) keeps me full and content until the next morning.  Of course, it’s not good to feel starving by night either, because it probably means that I underate earlier in the day when I could have used the extra energy. 😉

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Yummy Breakfast!

  • 1/2 c. oats
  • 1/4 c. wheat bran
  • 1/2 banana, sliced
  • 3/4 c. 1% milk
  • pop above ingredients into fridge; next morning—add 6-oz. plain yogurt and top with 1/2 whole wheat pumpkin muffin and a big scoop of peanut butter

I was surprised over how fresh my legs felt at the gym today.  If I had the extra time this morning, I would have pumped out a few more miles on the elliptical. 😀

  • Elliptical: 3-miles—I made it fun and interesting by changing speeds, directions and arm movements (letting go of the hand grips periodically to mimic more of a running motion)
  • Treadmill: 1-mile leg loosener 😀
  • Elliptical: 1-mile of s-p-e-e-d.

I followed up with some icing for the knees and a giant green monster: 1/2 banana, 4 ice cubes, 3 c. spinach, 1 c. milk. 

What was lunch today?

A big dish of cottage cheese.

Not! (although this is making me crave cottage cheese…haha)

I love saving these containers for transporting my lunches-to-go.  Today I added a hodgepodge of black bean madness:

  • 1/2 c. black beans
  • 3/4 c. brown rice, cooked
  • 1 carrot, grated
  • 2 T. walnuts
  • balsamic vinegar
  • orange juice
  • cayenne pepper
  • cumin
  • garlic

I love mixing random ingredients together and having it come out flavorful and fresh.  The walnuts added such a fun crunch!

Packed with an apple!

+ some almonds, a cheesestick and an orange for the afternoon.

This afternoon I picked up a foam roller from Target (it’s like having a deep massage available all the time, whenever I need it most! 😀 )  Time to do some more research to figure out some new ways to use it, in addition to rolling over the side of my leg where I have some serious, serious knots. 

I also stopped by Whole Foods where I spent some time at the cheese counter.  I was looking for a special cheese for my Dad’s birthday party on Sunday, and the guy at the counter was offering me samples until I found one that I really liked (actually, I liked all of them, but he told me I should try a couple before deciding…no argument here.  They were all so yummy! :mrgreen:

By the time I arrived home, I was starving for dinner and started with a simple side salad.

Then it was time for pizza!!  😀

Topped with broccoli, onions, black olives and some mozzarella cheese.  Delicious!

Slice #2…reheated in a non-stick frying pan until the crust was nice and crispy. 😀

Check out what else I picked up at Whole Foods!

A few months back, Coconut Bliss had sent me a couple free coupons to sample their delicious ice creams.  I used one of the coupons before Christmas, but the holidays meant there were always plenty of sweet treats around the house.  I wanted to  save it for a time when I really wanted a special treat, and today was that day! 😀

I decided to try their Mint Galactica!

Favorite.  Flavor.  Ever.

Usually I don’t like chocolate chips in my icecream because I don’t like how hard they get.  Not so in this bowl of creaminess.  They chocolate peices were soft and thin, and the mint flavor was so fresh and light.  Soooo yummy!  I savored a small dish with my smallest spoon as a means of slowing me down. 😉

+ night snack: 6-oz. yogurt, 1 T. flax, 1/2 whole wheat pumpkin muffin [the last of them!] and 1/2 a banana

Stay tuned for a weekend special knee injury/exercise post.  Even if you’re not suffering from knee injuries, these leg strengtheners will add some strength, toning and flexibility to your upper legs.  I plan on keeping them as part of my regular strength routine even after recovering from the knee injuries. 😀

  Question: How much time do you usually spend making and eating breakfast?  A quick breakfast like cold cereal or overnight oats usually takes me about 15 minutes, but otherwise I’ll spend about 30 minutes making and eating my oats.  Weekends are much longer because I love a long, relaxing, drawn out morning. 😀

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

19 thoughts on “Question & Answer

  1. I do the same thing with ALL of my containers! They start to pile up and then I realize I have to start recycling them lol

    I’ve been eyeing that ice cream for a while now! I know what you mean about cold chocolate…now I must find this flavor 😀

  2. Leg strengthening exercises are never a bad idea especially for runners! If you find anything interesting with foam rollers please report back! I have a foam roller but I don’t feel like I use it as well as I hear all these bloggers do! I usually spend 30 minutes making and eating breakfast. But I’m not in school right now, this will probably change next year!

  3. I add wheat bran to my oats, too – when I first started reading your blog, I was glad to finally have found someone else that does this!!
    I’ve SO been eyeballing that coconut bliss – just waiting on warmer weather! Glad to hear it’s not hard choco chips that it’s made with. I hate that, too!
    I tend to have a long, relaxing, drawn out morning every morning. I love it! HATE waking up rushed. I spend about 20-25 minutes cooking, and about that long to eat, too.

  4. First of all, I am very jealous of your legs. Ha, ha!! I am motivated to keep jogging by that pic! Secondly, where did you get that cute container for your smoothies?? I LOVE it and have to buy one… 🙂

  5. Your pictures are really fantastic!

    I miss my banana oatmeal, but lately, I’m sleeping so much more than usual. Time change maybe?

    Foam rollers: it’s like have Mr. Masochism (my PT guy) with me all the time. I use it for my IT band, but also for deep back stretching, sore legs, etc. It’s such a good piece of equipment to have.

  6. hey i was wondering, do you buy those muffin or you make em?
    and yes, breakfast can take me from 20 to 30 minutes, depending if i have classes or something.bleh, i dont like eating in a rush 😦

  7. Is that Coconut Bliss vegan? Yummy!

    I am excited to read the knee post!

    It takes me about 10 minutes to make oatmeal and probably 5 to eat. I need to slow down!

    • Yup, totally vegan!! And you could never tell the difference, because it’s so unbelievably creamy. Love it. 😀

  8. I try to take at least 30 minutes to eat my breakfast, but more often than not it ends up being only 15 minutes.

    I’ve just written down your method for your GM. What was the vanilla one you did a few days ago? Do you remember? I’m going to make my first one this weekend! Thank you, Sarah-
    🙂

  9. Ha, you totally had me fooled with the cottage cheese container! Great way to recycle:)
    My timing for breakfast depends on the day–when I have morning class, it’s about 15-20 minutes total, but when I have some leisure time, it’s closer to 30-40 minutes.

  10. Thanks for answering all those questions. I usually try to slow down when eating…but I’m usually done within 10 minutes due to me always being late in the am!

Leave a Reply

