Friday Morning

One of my favorite things about Friday mornings is that I can sleep in.  Instead of getting up at my normal 6 this morning, I lay in bed listening to the raindrops fall on the roof until 7.  It felt so luxuriant! :mrgreen:

Another one of my favorite things about Fridays is that I can slow down and enjoy breakfast at a normal pace!

  • 1-1/2 c. Natures Place Blueberry Cinnamon Cereal
  • 6-o. plain, fat-free yogurt with 1 T. crushed flax
  • 1/2 banana, sliced
  • scoop of cashew butter
  • sprinklin’ of coconut flakes

Somehow, yogurt always seems more filling with cereal than milk does.  Has anyone else experienced this?

I was planning on a morning bike ride but the 25 degree weather turned me into an instant wimp! :mrgreen:  I can run in these temps, but biking?  Not so much!

The gym was my back-up plan, and I fit in a good, sweaty 4-miles on the elliptical.  I’m finding that I enjoy the elliptical more when I mix things up.  Today I focused on intervals, with a mix-up of speed, backwards pedaling and arms off the handholds.  Dare I say that it was actually fun?

After my workouts, I have been absolutely craving green monsters lately!  Thank goodness for that big box of organic spinach sitting in my fridge. 😀  Today’s mix: 1 c. milk, 1/2 banana, 3 c. spinach, 4 icecubes, splash of vanilla.

I ended up taking my Green Monster to-go so that I could dash off to Physical Therapy.  It’s hard to tell if my knee is feeling any better, and I’m still afraid to run on it as this point.  Until I feel no pain while walking–especially downhill–I don’t plan on running.  But I still have goals to run a 5k by the end of summer. 😉 

Once home from PT, I was off again to drive mom to work.  I took my sandwich to eat on the way.  I simply mashed together a can of sardines in water with honey mustard and pepper, and sandwiched it between two slices of whole wheat sourdough bread with some lettuce and tomato. 

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again…sardines are such an awesome (and cheap!) source of healthy fats and protein (and calcium! 😀 )  Love them!

On the side, I brought an apple and some carrot sticks for crunch.

Mom treated me to a vanilla soy au lait which was such a creamy treat for the ride home. 😀

My lunch and warm, milky treat kept me full for a good 4 hours.  That’s what I love about whole grains and protein-packed lunches. 😀

I wanted to spend some time in the sun before dinner so I first grabbed an orange and a handful of mixed nuts before heading out for a speedy 2-mile walk.  No knee pain!  It felt good to enjoy a walk without pain.  I thoroughly enjoyed each minute of sunshine.  That’s one thing I miss about spending more time at the gym vs. running outdoors—this girl needs her fresh air! 😀

Dinner was super easy and started with a slice of reheated pizza.

One thing I hate about reheated pizza?  Soggy crust!

Not so with this brilliant technique that I learned from Alison at Mama’s Weeds.  Simply put a non-stick pan to medium heat, throw on the pizza slice…

…and cover with a large pot cover to capture the heat.  The crust comes out super crispy and the cheese gets a chance to melt.  It might even taste better this way than it does when it first comes out of the oven.  Yum!

I also roasted 1/2 a cauliflower, 1 onion, 1 carrot, garlic powder, paprika and a tsp of olive oil in an oven set to 425 for 25 minutes (mixed halfway through.)

This brilliant mix roasted veggies was piled on top of a bed of lettuce with 1/2 c. black beans and a splash of balsamic.  I could not stop mmm’ing.  Sweet veggies with balsamic?  Mouthwateringly scrumptious.  😀

Off to make a snack and catch the rest of Jamie Oliver’s new series on ‘abc’…it looks great! 😀

Question: Is anyone else watching this series?  Thoughts on it?

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

10 thoughts on “Friday Morning

  1. We do that with our pizza too! It is brilliant, isn’t it?! We always tell people do reheat pizza that way but they are too lazy.

    I have not seen that series but have seen lots of blogs talking about it.

  2. I have GOT to try your green monster! Just confessed to the kids tonight that I’ve been putting spinach in their smoothie. Their jaws dropped, but then realizes, well, hey, they love spinach, so whatever. I’m trying to train them good 🙂

  3. I am so jealous of your beautiful Crate & Barrel bowl you used for breakfast:)
    I watched Food Revolution last night–I think it’s a great idea. So many school systems are stuck in the processed food rut.

  4. Pingback: day 101: sardines - SamanthaMenzies.com SamanthaMenzies.com

Leave a Reply

