Easter Sunday

Happy, HAPPY Easter!  I am officially full to the brim with spring. :mrgreen:

Nicole and I had a pre-church photo-shoot out on the deck…

Nicole from Loving Simple Moments. 😀

Best Salad of the Week Goes to…

This big bowl of greens, eaten on the deck in the s-u-n-s-h-i-n-e. 😀

  • mesculin greens
  • 1 carrot,sliced
  • 1/2 tomato
  • 1/4 cucumber
  • red onions
  • gaucamole (1/4 avocado, lemon juice, salt, pepper and heebs of garlic!)
  • Newmans Own Fresh Garden Salsa (dad picked this up the other week and I love it!  The bell peppers add a nice touch of sweetness to balance the hot.)
  • 1/2 c. white beans

I also had some kashis and some kalamata olives, along with making a pom spritzer on the side.  It’s about time I used up some of my pom juice, and this is such a fun way to hydrate! 😀  I simply used a 1:3 ratio for pom to tonic water.  This is going to make a great summer drink. 😀

Best Dinner of the Week…

I adore Easter dinners.  Especially when they involve being surrounded by family, outdoor sunshine and yummy food!  Here are some snaps from the evening:

Nicole made this awesome broccoli casserole (bottom left.)  I could have gone back for seconds if I wasn’t full by the end of my plate. :mrgreen:

I contributed to the meal with some honey glazed carrots.  I didn’t really follow a recipe this time.  I just steamed some carrots (probably about 2 pounds,) added in 2 T. honey and sprinkled on some sea salt, pepper and parsley.  The green beans, turnips and mashed garlic potatoes were delicious.  And even though I’m not really a “ham kind of person,” this one was really good.  Especially when topped with a bit of homemade cranberry sauce. 😀

Finale!

Favorite.  Dessert.  Ever.  My mom makes a cheesecake at least once a year and I look forward to it every time.  This one was light and lemony with a graham cracker crust and cherries on top.  I savored each and every delicious bite. 😀

Sorry for such a quickie post!  I am feeling the effects of getting up early each morning of this past week, along with some late nights.  Tomorrow I need to really crack down on some homework, plus I’m driving my mom to work.  In other words, I could use an early night to bed. 😉

Hope you all had a lovely Easter Sunday! 😀

Question: Best part of today?  Chatting with the family and going for a walk with Nicole in the afternoon! 😀

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

17 thoughts on “Easter Sunday

  1. Your dinner & dessert looks FABULOUS!! Also, you & Nicole look super cute & springy. I love how close you both are & how much time you spend together. My identical twin sis & I are the same way. 🙂 Happy Easter!

  2. You are gorgeous! We had a photo shoot this morning too! It’s one of the only times I get dressed up, might as well mark the occasion! LOL.

    Your Easter dessert looks fabulous!

  3. Aww, love the photoshoot – you girls are gorgeous! It’s really been so pretty outside lately, hasn’t it? I’m glad you had a good Easter – I’m going to have to add your honey glazed carrots to my recipe list.

    My favorite part of Easter was spending time with family 🙂 Have a wonderful day!

  4. Everything looks so good!! And Newmans makes the best salsa 😀

    I didn’t go home to see family so the best part of the day was the chocolate…for sure 😉

  5. you and your sister are so cute! and i love that scarf you are wearing.

    your family wins the award for best food…yet again. that cheesecake looks amazing! would your mom mind sharing that recipe? it seriously just looks too good!

  6. Loving the cute Easter table setup! And the glazed carrots you contributed, I’m such a glazed carrot fan. The cheesecake totally takes the… cake though. Homemade cherry cheesecake is INCREDIBLE. I’m SO craving right now.

Leave a Reply

