Finally Slowing Down

Today marks the end of a very. long. week. for me.

And nothing beats coming home to a warm bowl of homemade Vegetarian Gypsy Soup (click for recipe) with a melty grilled cheese on the side.  Can I just say how much leftovers saved me this past week?  Prepping soups and such on the weekend or at a time when life is a little less busy, makes such a world of difference for the upcoming week.  I’d hate to resort to cereal every night for dinner (not that I’m above having cereal for dinner occasionally, when life gets crazy 😉 ) and it’s a great way to get some veggies in without too much prep work.

Soups are super easy to freeze and reheat in single serving tupperware dishes too.  This Gypsy soup is one of my personal faves! 

And I  actually had the time to slow. down. and eat like normal human being. 😉  Followed by a gloriously sunny walk to stretch out my legs after a long day of classes.  It was–in a word–blissful.

Can’t wait to unwind tonight with a bubble bath, my journal and a few magazines that I have yet to look through.  Tomorrow I promise to return to a level of normalcy.  I think a good night sleep will do the trick. 😀

Tomorrow afternoon, I have a phone-meeting with the internship director to figure out where I’ll be spending my three rotations for the upcoming internship in August.  There will be a separate rotation site for clinical, food service and community work.  So excited to see where I end up! :mrgreen:

Question: Do you ever pre-plan meals on the weekend to make life easier during the week?  Any tips on getting a healthy meal together in a flash?  I love making meals and snacks on the weekend when I know that there’s an especially busy week coming up.  I used to also make batches of granola bars as a quick grab-and-go snack for the school week. 😀

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

9 thoughts on “Finally Slowing Down

  1. I could use some slowing down, but I think this weekend’s going to be one of the busiest 😦
    My secret to a quick, healthy meal is a can of chickpeas. If you start with that, you won’t go wrong

  2. Congrats on making it through such a tough week! Your food looks delicious, especially the grilled cheese. Those never get old. 🙂

  3. Don’t you just love leftovers? I can’t live without my freezer, really! If I’m busy, I try to plan some things in advance, but trying to me flexible with them too:)
    Have a great weekend!

    x Julia (Taste of Living)

  4. I always pre-plan my meals, because after work, I’m not feeling very creative. 🙂 So it helps to already know what the meal is going to be. And this has been a week of leftovers for me too!! 🙂 Sooo busy!!

  5. I don’t necessarily plan my meals in advance, but sometimes I will prep food in advance. Especially greens. I need to make them as quick and easy as possible to eat to make sure that I actually eat them.

    I usually chop up my kale, beet greens, collards, etc… as soon as I get home from the store. I wash them and put them in ziploc bags with a piece of paper towel to absorb moisture.

  6. I preplan for my week but let the chips fall where they may during the weekends. I do plan however, if I think I will be somewhere that won’t cater to my food needs.

  7. I love those days when you feel like you can slow down!

    We do not pre-plan meals, but make try to make sure we have enough leftovers that we can heat things up on various nights throughout the week when we are busy. We have a lot of quick, good recipes.

  8. YES, I usually (95% of the time) plan meals ahead and also prepare them in advance!!! If I don’t I get “really stuck” like last week, hense why I just printed off your Gypsy Soup recipe (as I have 4 sweet potatoes in my pantry waiting to be used) and plan to make this weekend as it looks super easy…..thank you for sharing!

    P.S. I like your new blog layout! =)

Leave a Reply

