Spring Lovin’

Oh sunny spring, how I love thee… :mrgreen:

I love your warm, “sweatshirt weather” temperatures…

Mon                          Tues                      Wed
 

Mostly Sunny                  Sunny                      Partly Cloudy
57°                             59                                61°

I love your bold beautiful colors…

I love the gentle heat of your sun on my face when I’m dining Al Fresco…

I love sipping on an iced soy misto with sugar free vanilla, while sitting outside of Target, wearing flip-flops and a sweatshirt and feeling perfectly, 100% content…

I even love a sharp spring wind…even when it involves wind-blown hair. :mrgreen:

I love this girl (but that’s not exclusive to

spring 😉 ).

Spring, Spring…spring is here and I am

L-O-V-I-N it! 😀

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This is my favorite homemade granola bar recipe ever!  I found it through Martha Stewart and lovingly tweaked it just a bit.  The original recipe called for spelt, but that’s not a kitchen staple in my house!  So I subbed oats for their chewy, delightful texture. 😀  This recipe is very, very personable in that you can add or take away whichever ingredients to make it your own.  Sometimes I’ll throw in dark chocolate chips or coconut for a special treat. 😀

  • 1 T. olive oil + pam for spraying pan
  • 1-1/4 c. old fashioned rolled oats
  • 1/2 c. raisins
  • 1/4 c. ground flaxseeds
  • 1/4 c. chopped walnuts
  • 1/4 c. honey
  • 1/4 c. natural, chunky, salted peanut butter
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees Spray an 8-by-8-inch baking dish with cooking spray (or a round cake pan if you need to improvise 😉 .) Line bottom and two sides with parchment paper, leaving a 2-inch overhang on each side. Spray with cooking spray.

2. In a bowl, combine oats, raisins, flaxseeds and walnuts.  Set aside.

3. In a small saucepan, combine honey, peanut butter, oil, and vanilla. Cook over medium until melted.

3. Add to dry ingredients and stir to combine. Transfer mixture to prepared pan; smooth top.

4. Bake until golden and edges pull away from sides of pan, 20 to 25 minutes. Cool completely in pan. Using paper overhang, lift bars out of pan. On a cutting board, cut into 8 pieces using a serrated knife. Store in an airtight container, separating pieces with wax or parchment paper, for one week.

I like to wrap them up individually in plasic saran wrap for a quick snack-to-go.  It hits the sweet tooth at the same time which is an extra bonus. 😀

Question: What do you *love* about spring?

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

18 thoughts on “Spring Lovin’

  1. The granola bars look awesome! I love that they don’t have a ton of added sugar 😀

    My favorite part of spring is the overall positivity in the air

  2. I love weather that is warm enough to soak up the sun but it’s still comfy to wear a sweater. I am cold blooded, so I love the heat of the warmer weather+outerwear! And I love huge magnolia trees with big blossoms! A blossoming magnolia tree is actually my current desktop picture.

  3. I love how new everything feels in the spring! I also love the warmer weather & being able to wear a cute outfit with only a lightweight jacket. 🙂
    I love how close you & your sister are. My twin & I are the same way. I just think it’s so refreshing to hear how much time you both spend together.
    Oh & I love Starbucks but I’ve had to cut way back on how much I go there because it’s so expensive. lol
    I hope you have an awesome week!

  4. You are so adorable! I love you in your flippy floppies. My favorite thing about Spring is MORE DAYLIGHT. I love coming out of work at 6pm, and still being able to squeeze in a run in the daylight.

  5. I made the granola bars! With a few changes…used maple syrup instead of honey, coconut oil instead of olive oil, added in some mixed dried fruit instead of just raisins and added shredded coconut. They were just a little too crumbly so I think next time I need to up the liquid side a bit. Very tasty. Actually, just like a cookie!

  6. I live in Chicago, so the number one reason I’m loving spring is be able to run outside in the FRESH AIR! Spring also smells amazing – new flowers and plants sprouting everywhere… it’s just invigorating!

  7. The third and fourth photos from the top seem to be of the same person. She looks lovely and has such a lovely face and smile.

  8. Pingback: Granola-palooza - Chelsea's Healthy Kitchen

Leave a Reply

