Back to Normal

The weekend was totally fun.

Not only did I start it off with the Beal Dinner in celebration of nutrition and health (which, by the way, included some awesome salmon, broccoli soup, fresh garden salads and yummy chocolate cake,) but it continued on with birthday parties, day-long trips to the mall, cookouts, and dinner at the Cheesecake Factory.  So yes…in two words: totally fun.

p.s. note the pinkies extended.  We’re such ladies. 😉  Also note that I’m at Teavana, one of my absolute favorite places.  I’m sippin’ on slightly sweetened chai.  Love!

Anyways, a totally fun weekend usually leaves me feeling a little on the tired, sluggish side.  That’s when I like to detox…hold on, rewind.  I’ll explain.

I’ve had a detox post before, but just to summarize a little about what I mean:

  • have a normal sleeping schedule again—no more late nights/early mornings or mixed up patterns.  Having a routine makes me feel my absolute best!
  • drink lots of water and focus on lots of fruits, veggies, whole grains and lean proteins
  • work out on a normal schedule again! 

Detoxing the right way (i.e., just getting back to normal 😉 ) 

My morning started with a chocolate pumpkin breakfast cookie, a glass of milk, and a soon-to-be 3-mile walk.  Delicious!

  • 1/2 c. oatmeal
  • 2 T. cocoa (unsweetened)
  • 1 T. crushed flax
  • cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves
  • 1/3 c. canned pumpkin
  • 3/4 mashed banana (1/4 saved for top)

The pumpkin makes this cookie way more soft then normal, but I kind of like it that way.  Sort of like a mix between overnight oats and the breakfast cookie. 😀 

I’m off to get my walkin’ shoes on!  I have a meeting with my Cancer Presentation Group later on this morning, so I need to get a move on.

Question: Favorite thing about this weekend? For me, it was just spending so much time with the family!  I had a blast! 😀

This entry was posted in 1 by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

11 thoughts on “Back to Normal

  1. Glad you had a great weekend! It always feels good to get back into your normal routine. I am all about my routine and it is hard to deviate from it.

    My parents came to visit this weekend so that was probably my favorite part, along with being stocked up on delicious groceries from Whole Foods 😉

  2. Hi… I just found your blog :). Your weekend does sound wonderful though! I’ve realized that no matter where I am, it’s always the people that make the experiences worthwhile and family is definitely a few of my favorites. By the way, breakfast looks so decadent that I am literally drooling. Is that too much, too soon? 😉

  3. That does sound totally fun! I love the extended pinkie, too. 🙂

    Fun always includes family time for me too. Also, lot’s of relaxing, not to much housework. Those things always add up to total fun! Happy Monday.

  4. I think the Cheesecake Factory is one of my top 5 fav. places. I always indulge in a few bites (after eating a lot of protein first!). I always go for the Godiva something or other.

Leave a Reply

