Mindful Eating

Mindful Eating: Paying attention to the actual eating process—-Evelyn Tribole

What would it be like if food didn’t have any colors?  No smells?  No textures?  No flavors? 

I’ve always wondered why God allowed us to have tastebuds.  I mean, really, all we really need are two tastebuds to tell us whether something is safe to eat or not.  Easy.  But no, we were given the pleasure and ability to be able to sense so many different, wonderful flavors. 

Not to mention colors and fragrances!

I’m re-inspiring myself to be a mindful eater.  To slow down and really enjoy food for what it is: energy and fuel, along with being one of the many simple pleasures of life. 

It’s not always easy to slow down and leisurely enjoy a meal.  I’ve been known to wolf down my lunch while writing notes at an incredibly rapid speed in my management class. 😉  And I also sometimes mindlessly eat my way through my morning meal so that I can start the day. 

But I think we can all take the time to slow down and appreciate at least one snack or meal out of the day.  Being a mindful eater is a lifetime goal and requires just one step at a time. 😀

Question: Do you try to be a mindful eater?  What are some ways you practice mindful eating?  What are some issues you face when trying to be a mindful eater?  I try to be a mindful eater for the most part, but definitely run into roadblocks when I just need to grab something to eat…ASAP!…before getting back to work. 😉  One. Step. At. A. Time.  I’m getting there. 😀

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Sarah. Bookmark the permalink.

About Sarah

Hi and Welcome!!! I'm a chocolate & coffee loving Registered Dietitian with a passion for helping people reach their goals. When I'm not busy working, I enjoy photography, cooking, and spending quality time with my family (and pets!) Thanks for stopping by!

9 thoughts on “Mindful Eating

  1. Sometimes mindful eating is hard. Sometimes I just need to feed myself and move on to the next thing. And that’s when I have to remind myself what an amazing gift I have in food. Both in the flavours and textures but also in that I have enough to feed myself which many people don’t.

    When I did my yoga teacher training we did an exercise in mindful eating where we had an orange which we had to hold and smell, then slowly peel, experiencing it wiht all our senses before being allowed to slowly eat it. It certainly made me think differently about eating.

    Thank you for visiting my blog 🙂

  2. I love this post! I think it’s so true that we have to stop and appreciate what we’re eating. i’ve honestly taken 2 hours eating something, and I don’t mind that because I was enjoying it thoroughly

  3. oh mindful eating and intuitive eating-i get it-i think about it-i do it most of the time-but sometimes it is wonderful to just shove food in your mouth! should i have not said that?

  4. I try to be mindful with eating, without forgetting that food sometimes just can be fuel. It doesn’t always have to be ‘wow’ or eaten with concentration. I try to find a balance…and that’s a lifetime try I think;)

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  5. That’s such a good question – why DID he grace us with taste and smell? Well we better put it to good use then! 😉 I’m trying so hard to be a mindful eater as well. But it’s SO hard when you’re a student and on the go. And really hard when you make dinners for one person. Because you have to estimate before you cook, and might make too little, or might make a tad too much. And then it’s really hard to stop eating when there’s only a teeny bit left!!

    One thing I learned a long time ago (when I was doing weight watchers actually), was to pay attention to your breathing. That your body naturally does a deep breath – “the sigh” they called it, when your body is satisfied. I paid attention – and you do it! You just have to make sure you’re not rushing through your meal of course. But it works!

Leave a Reply

